Rishtas from pakistan?

Hello everyone,

First of all, im new to this place, so I’m really sorry if this topic has been done to death.

I was wondering how many poeple here got married to someone from pakistan (while living abroad ), and how the whole rishta thing happened. And also, how did you get to know the person before marriage? I think its getting more common to think that people from there go through with the marriage for a Visa? I know that is generalizing, but you hear a lot about those less fortunate incedents nowadays.

Did you find it easy to find common topics, values etc?

Please share your experiences, views and thoughts on this matter.

Re: Rishtas from pakistan?

yeh i am !!!!

I got married to a guy from Paki, but the only reason I even considered it was because my family/extended family have known them since forever. I myself held similar views as you...ie. i was afraid people from aack home only want a visa/immigaration etc....total fobs..backwards thinking. However when my hubby's rishtha was in the process, my mind changed. He is well educated, very open minded, good looking, and holds views that I agree with. We did get to meet and talk...plus i have hung out with him on occasion with family as I used to visit paki often, so I considered him and left it up to my parents. I trusted them to make a good decision. But it all depends on the individual & the personality and how you click/gel with him/her. There are people in the west that are more paindu in their thinking than the most backward paindu from pakistan and also people there in paki who you would never know were reaised in Pak.

my fiance is pakistani and hes actually really open minded and 'modern' well thats becuase him and his family come to england every year, but hes not backwards nor is his family so im really lucky and his mum is a british pakistani so thats even more better! mine and his family are quite open minded and we talk to each other everyday which is nice. ive heard alot of people just marrying bcoz of visa but you dont always know what the other peoples plans are and unfortunatly there are sick people out there ruining peoples lives by doing this...
have u had a rishta from pakistan Giggsy?

I'm not married at the moment, however, I will definetly not marry someone from Pak. I would prefer a guy who lives here (out west) because I think it would be easier for me to get along with a guy like that. Having said that though I believe it can definetly work out. A friend of mine (19) who has been born and raised here recently got married to a guy (29) back home and MashAllah they are very happy together. Personally I prefer a guy who has been educated here and is stable, however, I think it really comes down to personal choice as well as the two people involved.

im also engaged to a guy from pak for 3 yrs now alhumdulilah
it was arranged by our parents n then i went to meet him in pak n met him once n said yes
i just knew i was making the rite decision n i also made istikhara
n he is in my family(not cuzin though) so alot of ppl knew him n had good things to say about him and we also knew that he had no intention of marrying me for just visa he still doesnt want to come here .....
n he is also from open minded family
they have no problems with the clothes i wear or that i have a job or anything
actually it depends on the person
u could marry a guy born in the US but yet he turns out to be the biggest jerk
its really not about where he was raised but his upbringing itself....

My husband was studying as a Med student in London when we met. Otherwise he lived most of his life in PK and his fam' was also all living there. Yet his sweet, caring, attractive personality stood out from everyone. He was so different and not like the 'typical pakistani guys' I always heard about. My friends were all shocked that he was brought up in PK - as they couldn't tell at all even his accent was similar to London accent. (But that was b/c his Mother was brought up in UK, had UK accent and moved to PK after marriage.) So I never cared where he was from - it didn't make any difference at all.

From my experience it doesn't matter where your spouse is from. It all depends on ones up-bringing, family way of life, their thinking, personality etc. There are such wonderful, educated families in Pakistan.

You will find good and bad guys in every city. Not everyone from PK will be after a visa. :)

thanks for the answers girls.. :)

Well, my mom somehow wants me to meet someone from PK. and after my brother got engaged all eyes are on me. Im only 19 (turning 20 this year), but my mom wants me to get to know him, decide if i like him. But i'm hesitating a bit.

Firstly, wouldnt it be really odd to meet someone in these circumstances?
"hi"
"hello. I have to decide if want to marry you so let the interview start"
it just wouldnt come natural really.

Im just trying to reason with myself i think, there are one too many thoughts in here. and more input or stories from you would be nice ;)

I love men from Pakistan :wub:

Not all, of course.

But anyway, I think this decision requires one to be quite mature and open to possibilities. Young girls who are not ready for marriage nor understand the meaning of it should really take their time before rushing into anything. My sister at age 19 was engaged to someone from Pakistan (amazing amazing rishta) and could not appreciate the guy’s value because at that age, it’s hard to think beyond - “I-want -a- guy -who -will- understand- me -and -my -values -and -we -should- be- able- to -share -jokes- and -he- won’t- get- my- jokes- and -I -won’t- understand- his” thing. Anyway, she end up breaking off the engagement and the guy is now a doc, practicing in England (no Pakistan!) and no one can tell he’s raised back home. Very good looking and everything.

Moral of the story, I should have been engaged to him instead of my sister :snooty:

lol, just kidding. :slight_smile:

Real moral of the story, all boils down to a person’s level of maturity and ability to see beyond a few, potentially misleading/distracting attributes. :slight_smile:

Good luck with whatever decision you make but don’t rush into anything.

*PART 1 OF 2

**Introduction
**There are inherent problems when marrying from abroad. I strongly advise against it. My views are at the extreme end of the spectrum, I am sure others will paint a rosier picture. It’s always best to consider opposing arguments before making your final fateful decision.

Appearances
Not important in my humble opinion but we are a superficial bunch.
Pakistanis are darker (relatively), have a customary mustache as a symbol of their nationalism, a peculiar western dress sense and stomach churning accent.

Depression
Away from family, friends and living in a strange society. False perceptions about the West and long toilsome working hours. The solitude and incessant lustful longings/yearnings for home will be insurmountable, leading to depression. Further burdening your fragile relationship which will already be buckling under the stress.

**Financial issues.**

Your spouse will never be able to compete with a western graduate even when their qualifications are equivalent and recognised. Many even those with qualifications will end up in low paid menial jobs e.g. refuse collecting, catering industry, call centre, fish and chip shop.

On this meagre wage they will undoubtedly send remittances home e.g. so their mother can be lavished with golden bangles (sonay kay karay), so their grandfather can purchase a plush rocking chair (equipped with all the latest modern accessories and gadgets) and last but not least, to support their idle brothers which there will be aplenty. You may end up remortgaging your property or even worse (destitute) in a desperate attempt to fund your in-laws spiraling health or housing (or should I say luxurious mansion/penthouse) construction costs.

Furthermore you will have to consider housing and feeding any relatives (close or distant) as your castle will be seen as the golden gate entrance to the elusive Western utopian dream.

Any remaining threadbare finances will be blown away on frequent trips abroad.

Ultimately you will be scraping the bottom of the barrel to get by and this will put a strain on your relationship.

*Reasons for the marriage *
In my opinion those who seek marriage abroad are British or North American flag worshipers and whilst blissfully asleep are drooling about being draped in a Union Jack or Confederate lungi (from thier perspective a mouth watering proposition).

The undeniable evidence is borne out by the fact that most of them elope to the West once married.

Pakistan is teeming with over a 170 million populous, with the vast majority under the age of 30. It is rather perplexing, why they struggle to find a compatible match within their homeland (must be besieged with requests) where their links are concrete, conversely their associations in the West are rather more tenuous.

They frown upon Western immorality and independence so why pluck a future partner from such obscurity when you could have a tailor fashioned submissive obedient Pakistani spouse.

If the basis of marriage is fundamentally flawed then the seeds of destruction will have been sown and the impending doom will be inevitable.

No crumbs of comfort in part 2 either, to be continued....................................................

^ Most of that applies to people from Manchester too :p

Anyway Giggsy, I think most previous posters in this thread have covered what I would've mentioned. Just each person as an individual, and not based on their geographical location. For the most part, gone are the days when people used to want to marry someone in england just for immigration purposes and the ones that are interested in just that you'll be able to suss them out early on anyway.

I think it's a misconception that all guys in pak just want to marry someone here to get to england. If anything, any cause of argument between my husband and I was that he was reluctant to give up his life in pakistan and move to england where he'd have to work to establish himself.

Good luck :)

ur story reminds me of mine but i never did istikhara nd mom doesnt see a necessary of doing even though i think she shud!

newa like eveyone sed its depends on the individual.. how the person is nd how open minded he is, wats his future plan nd wud he be able to adjust//

Spot on iggle!

Mujh say ub kon shadi karay ga is umr main.

Koi rishta na aaay
Na Karachi
Na Pakistaan say Aay

Yes I'm looking for sort term commitment. Few months shadi then tata bye bye. Anyone interested.

Yahan say bhi chalay ga.

thanks for the replies guys. :)

Well, right now im just interested in hearing peoples opinions and experiences, im in no way in any hurry to accept anything.

And, if you look at things from the other side, the boys here arent really gods gift to girls either.(im from norway).. Most of them are only after one thing from girls here, and will happily move on and marry whover their parents chose from pakistan when they are ready to settle down, and done with the "fun".. well, there are exceptions to the rule, but they would either marry whoever their mom wants them to marry or are taken. lol (generally speaking)

Part 2 of 3

Introduction
Marriage proposals from Pakistan, be wary of their false affection, all you need to do is strip away their superficial luminescence to reveal the darkness emanating from within. But it’s impossible to reveal the true extent of their intentions because you live so far away.

Health
Dangerous contagious diseases such as Hepatitis are rampantly flourishing in Pakistan and reaching epidemic proportions. Ensure you perform a comprehensive health check ideally before you even contemplate a marriage proposal and certainly before any intimacy. Leave nothing to chance.

Repression
Pakistanis are suppressed, once they elope to the West they may find the temptations on offer too difficult to resist. It’s customary to stare and pinch posteriors but in the West it’s harassment.

Cultural differences
This is a major stumbling block. Language barriers, your personality will be lost in translation. Your views will clash on many issues. The resulting conflicts and epic battles will mushroom out of control. Your right to work, to chose your clothing, select your friends and nights out will be compromised. Pakistan is a patriarchal society therefore your spouse will steam roll and ignore your views and in return expect you to be enamoured by their generosity. Rest assured they won’t allow you to leave your home without an entourage of vigilant chaperones/guardians.

Insecurity
Due to your greater status (independence, earning power, circle of friends and close relatives) they will feel insecure. They will exhibit controlling behaviour and metaphorically speaking place shackles around your ankles and a leash around your neck in an attempt to subdue you into submission.

Independence
Since his Norwegian will be nonexistent, he will be a heavy burden on your shoulders. The basics will be impossible, answering a phone call, writing a letter, opening a bank account, shopping, driving, using public transport, employment matters need I say more. He will be like an infant, you will have to spoon feed him, change his diapers and show him the impeccable etiquettes of potty training.

Brian drain
The Pakistanis who are most likely to integrate successfully in the West are from the educated elite. Pakistan has invested heavily in these individuals, as a developing nation they are desperately needed (irreplaceable). Repatriating themselves abroad illustrates their selfishness. Would you like to spend the remaining years of your life with someone who is disloyal and self centred?

Final words
Marriage is the most momentous decision you will have to make in your lifetime, don’t disregard its’ paramount importance likely. Otherwise you will be suffering the consequences for the rest of your miserable existence. Do the research and reap the rewards, don’t gamble your life away.

Part 3 to follow, to be continued...............................................

its not just a question of being in the west or pakistan.
For someone from a professional and educated family in UK or US it is probably better to find someone from a professional and educated family in pak that some of the desi ghetto grease monkeys that we see.

If i had a sister who had a rishta from some LUMS/IBA MBA or doc from pak living in defence or clifton vs some poly dropout on the dole. I would def encourage her to go for the former.

its not just about east vs west cultural issues but also family views on married life, education, respect etc etc.

sorry to say, but there are enough desis in UK, and now oncreasingly more i Canada and US who may have been brought up here but are total jackasses.

all things being equal though, its probably easier to go for someone who has been brought up in the same country, because there may be similar experiences and sense of roots and what nots that could help.

some of my abcd pals who imported wives from Pak are geographical bachelors over summers because begums run to pak every summer as a break and to see family.

Well said.