This other day, I was sitting in my youngest brother’s room. my mother was standing in the door talking with me. My older brother went to bathroom and as he opened the door, he asked my younger bro casually : ’ Yaar cigarette tu nahi peena shoro kar diya ?’ (have you started smoking ?) 3 sec of silence and then I said
kia hogaya hai, peney do ! ab bara ho gaya hai* (Let him ! he is old enough )
Another 3 sec of silence and burst of laughter … ( yup everyone takes me seriously for 3 sec only)
Worth mentioning here that, no one in my family do smoking. Not because of any restriction but personal choice. And i have no doubts that he has started smoking yet !. But if he has, I don’t have much problems either.
Question : How early will you find out that your sibling has started smoking ?
How will you react ?
I would let my brother smoke, its his choice. He'd run out of money so fast he'd forget what he was smoking. I think its important to let younger siblings to make their own mistakes. If iv tried it, why can't he? Restricting something only makes them want it more.
its not about letting them do whatever they want because trust me one day when you would want them to quit it would be really hard.
i used to smoke and mashallah i now i have quit this habbit because my younger brother would come to me saying that bhai i saw guys from my class smoking outside the school and he is only in 8th grade. So i thought it was the time for me to quit and keep and eye on my brother so that he does not get in to this habbit.
well all i want to say is that have a friendly conversation because it works more than the daant and maar when kids or bro/sis are growing up, specially in the social matters.
You should be vigilant if your siblings are young, but once they are beyond certain age … the only thing which can work is friendly nature of relationship.
irem – smoking is not end of the world, there are more things in life to get sadened.
But, only if they are adult. if they are younger then it is yours
very true Code-R, my mom sometime gets upset thinking what will happen to my younger bro as he is growing up here in the west but i always tell her that being a parent one can only give the right tarbiat and make dua for them all the time, i think thats all kids need. Ofcourse they will have to make their own decisions in life.