reviving an old thread

as-salamualikum!

so i was doing a search for some homemade face treatments, my skin is so bad its lost its youthful glowing look due to final year stress and basically becoz i dont really take care of my self (becoz i had no time) but now coz im free from university life, and im having my rukhsati in two months inshAllah! ive decided to put some time and effort into taking care of myself becoz i desperately need it!

anyway going back to my earlier point whilst searching i found this thread by pyarigudia and they were my thoughts exactly :slight_smile: , no-one really paid attention too this thread and i thought we should revive the thread so i can get sum tips from you guys!

hope you dont mind pyari :bukbuk:, here is your original post:

so, I’m looking at my face in the mirror the other day, and I’m thinking “what the hell has happened to my skin?”. With stress related to finals, pulling all niters, etc…skin is victimized.
What do you do to maintain the health of your skin…any homemade recipes for skin treatments and moisturizers are very much welcome!

“Application to the skin of fresh, natural products helps maintain a youthful, glowing complexion. Essential oils and plant waters (or “hydrosols”) are fragrant liquids distilled from different plant parts, such as flower petals, herbs leaves and tree barks, and are fundamental components of any solid, natural skin care. Cold-pressed unscented oils are extracted from various fruits, nuts and seeds, and include olive, sweet almond, avocado and jojoba oils. Used in tandem, essential oils, hydrosols and cold-pressed unscented oils work together to soothe and nourish the skin, encouraging a healthful, radiant complexion.”

Excerpt taken from pakwatan

Re: reviving an old thread

Hmm question for you, is your skin clear or do you have break outs?

funny you revived this. I was just at the mall today looking at a milk-thistle lotion by bath and body works. :o

They have a whole line of natural-based skin care products...not just fragranced stuff...

do you know they have a tomato scrub :o

But damn these people - they know people will go for that stuff, so the prices of those items are so much more higher.

I do these things and they do work. You have to be patient before you see some results though, but of course, they are well worth it.

• live on fruits, vegetables, no salt, lots of honey in place of sugar, no animal fats, if necessary only grilled chicken and fish. It's a pain in the ass, I am hungry ALL the time but it's actually good because I end up eating all the fruits and vegetables in my fridge

• unfragranced pure aloe vera gel after cleansing. Slather on face, neck, and decolletage and keep it on overnight. Wash off with cold water in the morning.

• ditch makeup. I haven't used any for years

• stick with one cleanser or make your own. Potatoes "bleach" your skin, so rubbing them raw on your face and undereyes will reduce bags and dark shadows and improve complexion. Tomato tightens pores and is good for oily skin. Always use something with a slightly acidic pH. Don't use anything with fragrances or needless chemicals because they can irritate your skin. Wash milk with face and honey once in a while, or use plain raw honey as a mask.

• eat honey, high fibre cereals. I barely eat any sugar so I find myself eating a lot of this to get my sugar fix

• Oils. Grapeseed oil is an antioxidant I think, so that would work. I haven't used it though, I mostly just use olive oil or black seed oil and keep it on

• a rich night cream. I like Burt's bees evening primrose overnight cream. It's very heavy and oily but strangely it's never blocked my pores, only improved my skin

• use stuff made at home. Experiment. Make scrubs out of powdered milk and add oils or honey to it. I guess you can use it as a mask as well, but I've only used it as a scrub. Use carrots, apples, coconut milk is slightly oily but I like using it, etc

• Burt's bees carrot complexion soap is good for sallow skin, I like using it. I follow up with their carrot nutritive day moisturizer. Slightly heavy and it may block your pores. If you use a lot it will make you orange. It's kinda pricey but you only use so little at a time that it lasts

• eye creams. It doesn't really matter what, I think they are all the same

That's what I do. And am still doing it and it has worked for me.

how do you know if your pores are blocked or unblocked?

Whiteheads, blackheads, dilated pores.

belle: i sometimes get breakouts, small white spots, turning red with time. i also have small mark like blesmishes on my skin, some on my cheeks and some on my chin......left due to acne that i used to have and also i think threading my face made it worse. but i dont do the threading anymore.

Sarah- i have some aloe vera gel at home, is it any good for blemishes? should i use it everynight?

what about cocoa butter i heard that was good for scarring and marks.

when should you do this potato bleaching thing on your face? should i leave it on my face once i rubbed the potato on? or wash it off straight away?

when do you do this oil thing...olive and black seed?

also a note i have very sensitive skin!

jazakAllah for you replies.:)

I have really sensitive skin too :) Yeah aloe vera gel is good for blemishes. You can leave it on overnight or you can use it during the day too. It makes your skin tight so it's better to use it overnight and wash off with cool water in the morning. Keep it away from the eye area because it stings.

The oils I use as moisturizers when I am staying home during the day. Dab some on and massage it in, it takes some time to sink in but it makes your skin really soft and it's good for preventing future wrinkles. Black seed oil is especially good. Evening primrose oil and borage oil are used often in beauty products because they contain gamma linolenic acid and some other stuff, but black seed oil contains them in higher amounts. It shouldn't block your pores. If it does, you are using too much or you haven't cleansed properly. Use cold water after cleansing to close your pores.

The potato, I think Russian women have been using it for ages to reduce undereye circles. Just cut a thin piece and rub it around on your face. I don't think you need to wash it off.

Stay away from coco butter, I think it is comodogenic. Don't try those miracle creams either, just stick to a good night cream, day lotion or cream that nourishes skin instead of just moisturizing it, etc.

may be i should think i’m very lucky coz i have had no problems related to skin at all!!!

i don’t know a thing about beauty teatments or products …never had facial or masks or whatever …not even for my wedding…yes the only thing i’ve tried a few times is manicure …

but this good story isn’t continuing …:frowning:
usually i don’t get enough time to look in the mirror so until few weeks ago i never noticed whats going on on my face…
now i can see a few black spots …well not spots its like extra thin pins just around my nose …a few …not too many …but i’m too dumb to know if its blackheads or simply some very short hair appearing on these sides …:confused:

i’ve dry skin …not too dry though … but i don’t know if this new thing is something related to skin type or what …how do you know if its black heads …n wat do you do if these really are black heads …help please …!!!

Devoted if you’re still getting breakouts than I would go for a acne treatment. The ones that I know work for sure are Proactive , Dr. Murad products, and Nature’s Cure. Since your wedding is just 2 months away you should get started now so you can see good results. Use these products to get your skin clear and than use homemade stuff.

My mom has mashAllah the most amazing skin and all she uses is a combo of yogurt and honey to make a facial, she does this 2 times a day, and her skin just glows and is so amazingly soft.

Watch your diet as well, keep hydrated. Wear SPF when your out in the sun. Use Aloe Vera as your Moisturizer because it does work wonders, like Sarah mentioned.

Afia Baji, blackheads are tiny black dots, they can appear anywhere from your body to your face but mostly there around the nose area. You can use Biore Strips for the blackheads or what works for me is witch hazel astringent.

Belle: yes somebody else told me about this yoghurt and honey mix....do u just apply it like a mask leave to dry and wash off?

Afia- u can get nose strips to remove them spots around your nose they are brill, get the tea tree ones they are so effective or the bore ones are just as good.

thanks sara will definitely be using my aloe vera gell now and the oil. ive also started taking some evning primose oil capsules, they are good to take when im about to start coz i get really bad period pains and they really help, and also good to promote healthy skin.

I was searching for skin care topics and came across this one.
Has anyone heard from Devoted since this thread???
I was just wondering whether this stuff worked for her or not?? :)