Review on the cards: Pakistan summons envoys from world capitals

I say keep the momentum up, Pakistan have diplomatic relations with more then 120 nations around the world - it’s time to use the resources to present our point of view.

Review on the cards: Pakistan summons envoys from world capitals
http://tribune.com.pk/story/302870/review-on-the-cards-pakistan-summons-envoys-from-world-capitals/**ISLAMABAD: **Pakistan appears to be shaping for a paradigm shift in its foreign policy, with a flurry of directives making their way from Islamabad to its missions in world capitals. The move comes in the wake of the Nato airstrikes on Pakistan forward posts along the Afghan border on November 26.

On one hand, the government has summoned ambassadors serving in key world capitals for an emergency meeting to review Pakistan’s strategy in the war on terror in general as well as cooperation with the US in particular. The Nato strikes have had a major effect in Islamabad, and has hit an already uneasy alliance between Islamabad and Washington.
Envoys posted in Europe, Afghanistan, India and the US, among others, have been asked to furnish their recommendations for forming a strategy in view of the situation arising out of the Nato attacks, a foreign office official told The Express Tribune on Monday.

The meeting is expected to take place next week, the official added.

The pre-dawn raid at Pakistani check posts near the Afghan border, which left 24 Pakistani soldiers dead, has prompted the country’s top civil and military leadership to review political, diplomatic and military ties with the US.

Pakistan has already shut down the Nato supply route and has asked the US to vacate a remote, but key, airbase in Balochistan.

Pakistan insists that the incident was a ‘deliberate’ attack and as a result,“business as usual” is not possible](http://tribune.com.pk/story/298931/nov-26-attack--cannot-be-business-as-usual/) with the US.

Despite world appeals and a last minute call by US President Barack Obama, Islamabad stayed away from the Bonn conference on Afghanistan, which began on Monday.
The foreign office has called back its ambassadors serving in different countries to get feedback on Pakistan’s response to the Nato airstrikes, said the official.

The consultations with ambassadors correspond with the announcement of a joint session of the parliament this month, where lawmakers are expected to evolve a consensus on ties with the US.
Meanwhile, in a major reshuffle, the government has decided to replace 14 ambassadors currently serving in Germany, Russia, Iran, India, Nepal, Kenya, Brazil, Egypt, Serbia, Tunisia and Chile.
Official sources have confirmed that Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani has already approved the reshuffle and an announcement, in this regard, is expected later this week.

It is also learnt that Foreign Secretary Salman Bashir is likely to be appointed Pakistan’s new High Commissioner to India, while the names of current Ambassador to Belgium Jalil Abbas Jilani and Zamir Akram are being considered as Bashir’s successor.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 6[SUP]th[/SUP], 2011.

Re: Review on the cards: Pakistan summons envoys from world capitals

That's good. If that attack opened the eyes and brains of our morally dead politicians and generals to review or rethink about total foreign policies than I could say Der aed dusrust aed!! Currenlty it's imposibles to finish corruption thou keep busy eating inside Pakistan but please please bring back our honor and dignity atleast not make us to beg in the name of donations please make Pakistan more financially strong so we less consider to go abroad.
Just a quarter of total gross income spend on us and remain keep in your accounts.
Please hamare Andatou thodi si shram karo uss se ziyada na ham kahen ge aur na hi
App ke pas hai.

lets wait and see and i don't think we have to wait for long...

Waite for what janab!! To come back on realities?could u explain pls.

wait for the price quotation from Washington.

The review or new strategy/stance of govt on the current issue is very important the more the delay the more they loose, i agree no time to wait!!! but all we can do at moment is see what govt is upto

All this is to calm down the masses and to make sure they do not take the streets. Pretty soon it will be business as usual.
Can Pakistan afford to make someone angry who has locked you in a choke hold ?
What international brotherhood is going to come for Pakistan's help if US decides to cut ties with Pakistan and move for sanctions ? They will all be rallying around US.
Don't go emotional , look at the ground realities. Pakistan was taking care of a domestic issue in East Pakistan when India decided to help the separatists openly . No one condemned India's aggression and no one helped Pakistan save half of its country from being cut off.
Who on earth can and will help Pakistan in its aggressive moves against US ?

thats same i am afraid to be happen.

I don’t think this reshuffle has anything to do with Pakistan’s reaction to Nato raid. :hmmm:

how long could we I mean NATION feed that white elephant? didnt we observed that how many time our leaders get closed to them in all meanings and what we got back? We dont need enemies but we dont either FRIENDS like them. and how we survie with out them the answer of this depend how intelgently we could change our ways. The time are changing now after end of the cold war between USA/USSR a long time they paid their duty of world inspector but not very long now. Get more close relationship with China is the solution of our problems.

China is a good friend of Pakistan but they have their business interest tied to USA too. So they can go along with Pakistan so far, but not very far.
USSR has never been a very good friend of Pakistan either. Pakistan needs to resolve all regional issues on its own. For now Pakistan is a lonely and will remain so for a long time to come.
So Pakistan needs to play its own card safely and intelligently.