What are desi restaurants you’ve eaten at in the UK or USA that you have good reviews about? What about poor reviews?
Re: Restaurant Reviews
I gotta admit. I’ve never ever eaten at a restaurant.
Actually. I probably have… It depends on your definition of restaurant.
I dunno why this thread is in relationships section.
I really ever read reviews unless I’m ordering online..
LOL, is it in the relationship section? I meant it in general.
#epicfail](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=epicfail)
Someone on GS recommended Bilal Restaurant to me, near LAX airport in USA. Last time we were there, we went, and it was really good.
Oh and that Halal Chinese place near Disneyland in Anaheim is just superb.
There is a Niharai/Paya/Haleem buffet place in Houston that is just awesome. There is another chic Pakistani restaurant in Houston that serves killer steak.
Bismillah restaurant in Orlando is also a good and very less expensive restaurant.
And then Kabab King in Jackson Heights is too oily but good food
You cant fall in love unless you eat together. So you are in the right section
Restaurant Reviews
I have been to Bilal in LA too. Thought it was not too bad. However, I LOVED Ravi Kabob House in Arlington, VA and Shahnawaz in SF.
Mas’s Chinese. Amazing!! OMG.
Names of restaurants please!
umm i’ve never gone to a desi restaurant and wanted to badlllyyy return..
i dunno :S
Uffoh, I gave all the names but Houston ones. Rosedream mentioned the name of Anaheim one. Abhi houston walay names yaad nahi aa rahay
Restaurant Reviews
Al Markaz, Dallas Tx ![]()
It seems none of the desi restaurants here in Toronto know how to make decent biryani. Yet they sell so much of it, I guess most don’t know the difference, or just accept whatever chicken friend rice they get as “biryani” at any indian/pakistani restaurant.
I’ve learned NOT to order any gosht dishes, its always either undercooked or overcooked…and the whole dish is very oily, lots of hastily cooked gravy with only 4-5 small pieces of the meat in it. Yet it costs almost 11-15 bucks.
So I stick with Chicken dishes, alongwith the lamb Seekh kababs. Seems to be the safe way.
Lahore Tikka House, Toronto:
very pricey menu, big space, they have a rikshaw outside the building, trying to look authentic lahori.
I doubt if the owners are Lahori, they look more like from India, probably bought the place out…
Food is expensive, small portions/dishes, and guess what. You have to eat in styrofoam plates, drink from styrofoam cups !!
No proper cutlery at all…you charge 15 bucks per dish yet serve people in styrofoam plates/cups…not my idea of dinner at a sit-in “restaurant”
Shaheen Tikka, Toronto:
Better food taste and portions, but hit-and-miss with meat like lamb or beef…recommend to stay with chicken/fish or the kababs.
Biryani is so-so.
Recently I have eaten at Silverspoon in Tampa. Very good food and the owners are very friendly and caring.
In San Antonio at at San Antonio food was heavenly.
We are exploring all Pakistani restaurants in Houston ares. So far we have been impressed with Bundoo Khan , Khan BBQ and Grill, Saffron, Shahnai, Bismillah. There are so many Pakistani restaurants in Houston area and there is so much competition that nobody can afford to have bad quality food and survive.
This year on desi radio I heard that they arrange Sehri in Ramadan at some restaurants and they got very good reviews. We missed that will try to go next year Inshallah.
Chicago:
Anmol
Hyderabad House
Khan BBQ - only a few items
Ghareeb Nawaz - cheap and good food
Desi CHinese:
Hot Wok - those garlic wontons are just YUMM!
Restaurant Reviews
Adding to my list:
Noodle Wave
Crescent Moon
Kasra
Dean’s
Andalous
Hot 'n Crunchy
BBQ Tonite
Texas King
Eat St Kebab Factory
Bundhu Khan
Adding to my list:
Noodle Wave
Crescent Moon
Kasra
Dean’s
Andalous
Hot 'n Crunchy
BBQ Tonite
Texas King
Eat St Kebab Factory
Bundhu Khan
In Pakistan its very nice!
Someone on GS recommended Bilal Restaurant to me, near LAX airport in USA. Last time we were there, we went, and it was really good.
Oh and that Halal Chinese place near Disneyland in Anaheim is just superb.
There is a Niharai/Paya/Haleem buffet place in Houston that is just awesome. There is another chic Pakistani restaurant in Houston that serves killer steak.
Bismillah restaurant in Orlando is also a good and very less expensive restaurant.
And then Kabab King in Jackson Heights is too oily but good food
There are two other halal chinese in LA area. Jameelah Garden in OC and Beijing Islamic in San Gabriel Valley. Beijing Islamic’s sesame bread is very good.
In Atlanta, I recommend Mughal’s.
hello brits
or londoners to be precise.
i’ll cover my fave halal places, don’t really frequent desi ones as i get enough of that at home.
the meat company
banana tree
guanabana
the chinese place in leicester square, near burger king.. their chinese is just ![]()
maroush/ranoush/basically most of edgware road ![]()
la sophia was recommended, pretty good! especially their halal rabbit
maedah grill
rodizio rico.. it’s a brazilian buffet place which serves all kinds of halal meat.. the food itself is okay, i think it’s good amount for the price though.
tas is pretty good.. anatolian turkish food
novikov
dim t.. food was okay but the view was probably better (across london bridge)
oxo tower, a little bit upscale but food was good.. view in the evening is gorgeous!
theres so many more that i can’t remember the names of right now. will add later ![]()