Ressurecting Computer History

Okay I’m scared…

My cousin says he can bring back the websites I visited, the files I downloaded, the pics and vids I’ve seen even after I’ve deleted them all.

I have an habit of emptying My Documents, doing a Disk Cleanup, and deleting cookies and clearing history from the Internet Options everytime I’ve had an online session but he says he can still check what I’ve been looking at.

Can he really do that? (Without special softwares?). He knows a little bit about computers, he’s doing a hardware course…

Is there any way I can delete everything permanently? I’m running Windows XP. by the way.

Don’t laught at me for being stupid, I don’t know much about computers and I’m in a very rural part of Pakistan.

Okay another problem.

My Msn Messenger has a badddddd habit of remembering the past email addresses I signed into with.

How do I delete them from the dropdown thigamagiga?

Thanks guys for any help you'll be giving me, really appreciate it.

Re: Ressurecting Computer History

for your first query, if you have cleared everything, and your cousin does not have any recovery softwares etc., I am not sure how he can check all that, really. Why are you afraid :p?

as for messenger, there is an option of "Remember me" at the sign up.. uncheck that and see...

If you want more computer savvy answers, let me know and I can move your thread to Computers Forum...

MSN uses IE as web browser engine. So clear history from there and your drop down list for past used emails will be gone. Btw new MSN IM doesn't have this problem. Go for that one.

Deleting a file only deletes the reference to that file and not actually removes the data from your memory storage. To over come this situation you can do a regular format of your drive and for future always use 'file shredder' instead of a simple delete for sensitive files.

Do defreg your memory more regularly.

Thanks guys, I really appreciate.

AQ It's a relief to know there's no apparent way he can restore my Internet usage. Please do move it to the Computer Forum. By the way there is no 'remember me' option.

NaMaan thanks dude but if you don't mind can you answer a few more questions.

What's a file shredder?

How do I format my drive?

What's "defreg my memory"? Do you mean the Disk Defragmenter from System Tools?

Will this defregging, formatting and shredding permanantly remove sensitive information from my comp? Like even beyond restoring it with special softwares?

By the way clearing history does not clear my MSN Messenger dropdown list? Where exactly do I clear that from?

Sorry if I sound stupid but they don't teach IT/Computing in Paki villages.

:salam:

Yes its recoverable by using various programs.Some of which are easily downloadable from the internet such as |MG| Avira UnErase 1.4](MajorGeeks.Com - MajorGeeks)
Another thing is that you shouldn’t give your PC to be formatted by anyone else.Do it yourself.This way your data stays to you.Simple.

You can use these softwares .that way your won’t be easily traceable.
Sure Delete | Hard Disk Download | PC World
Active@ Kill Disk Hard Drive Eraser. Low Level Format.
Active@ Kill Disk. Hard Drives Eraser. Free Download.
Delete Files Permanently (File Shredder) | File Management Download | PC World

that should do it for now i think.

How do I Format my Hard Disk?
How to Format a Hard Drive With Windows XP | eHow.com

File Shredder

Computer Repair | IObit | Computer Scan | Repair PC Slow Speed | Windows Care
yes.you can use Disk Defragmenter from system tools.

Hope to have helped.
:wsalam:

Thanks dewdrops2, that was wonderful, I'll have a look at those links.

How about this, can he bring back the stuff without those 'unDelete softwares'.

One last question, can he still restore the stuff even after I've used those Harddrive Eraser softwares?

There are 2 kinds of formating HDD (soft and hard), the other one requires remove partitions and take longer time!

Well do not format hard drive any way :smack:

Just clear the history and stuff… also go to internet options, through tools and then click on ‘content’ tab and click on ‘autocomplete’ settings and un check all options!

you should be safe now unless he has installed any hacking tool on your hard disk or any kind of ‘keylogger’ .

Run any powerful antivirus and anti-spyware software to find them … also check the running process through ‘task-manager’ using Ctrl+Alt+delet keys together!

no need to format HDD :smack2:

:hayaa:
Aap nay GS Computer Science main Ph.D karnay kay lee-a join key hay ?

^ :cb: :cb:

:salam:

Well as far as i know he won’t be able to recover the confidential files then.

Hope to have helped.
:wsalam:

a keylogger (running on ur puter) can give him access to anything even after you clean up everything.

how did you learn such good english living in a Paki village? :konfused:

hmmm tu aysai putTHai kaam kartai he kion ho jo cousin blackmail karring.. :vivo:

Simple solution...Stop visiting those porn sites and you will have nothing to hide..: - ) !

MIRCH unkil i was going to say the same thing since kori is asking so many sophisticated questions n says hes from a rural pind in pakistan where they dont teach IT/computing :hehe:

You must have a really wrong image of villages and village people, we’re not that stupid!!

You know.. city people with their filthy streets, overcrowded neighbourhoods, polluted air and dirty stale pipe water make me laugh when they act like ‘creme de la creme’ and look down on us village people.

You guys seem to think you’re living in some 1st world country compared to us but I’ve been to all the big places in Islamabad (where all the big wigs live) and in Lahore and even there you might have pretty khotis or a half decent mall but you’ll have a broken street pavement or road infront littered with crap, never mind the middle class areas even the posh areas are pretty crap…

We might only speak Pashto or Punjabi, and not an imported language from India enforced upon us (i.e. Urdu, like you people who have a complex) but we’re not thick.

This one snooty darky aunty married some guy from our village and she’s like “hamey gaao ki aurte pasand nahee hai”, I’m like go back to the hell hole you came from then, why did you marry a guy from our village?

We have everything we need over here, what’s so good about Paki cities anyway? Fake copies of western items (the crisps, chocholates, corn flakes, soft drinks, fake Armani shirts), everything you guys get here is a fake and you don’t even realise it…

My skin starts to go all sticky in Paki cities with the air, Karachi is the worst and biggest crap hole, followed by Lahore and then somewhat less crappier Isb.

Our rural areas might not be developed but they’re naturally beautiful and clean and we have everything we need here, we have healthy wholesome foods, beautiful scenery, sexalicious friendly people…

I really don’t envy you city people, I love it here, I’ve all my family here, my pet peshow and doggy who love me, good food from our chickenery/duckery, buffaloe/cow (I’m gonna cross one of these someday and get beeflo, I read they have it in America), maize fields, little orchard etc… Most city people can’t even keep a dog their houses are that small…

I’d die of claustraphobia in a Paki city.

Another thing what I find funny is city guys don’t have any fashion sense, my god those ugly moustaches look.. well ugly. and why do they wear tight pants as if it’s cool? Aren’t tight pants a girl thing in the west? City guys are so stupid when they’re trying to be cool… By all means wear jeans n stuff, I know shalwar kameez is a bit out of date and out of line with the rest of the world but wear them with style, watch a Hollywood/Bollywood movie for fashion guidance… City girls are somewhat pretty, at least with all that makeup and fair&lovely caked on.

Now western cities are places worth living, from what I here guys like me would fit perfectly well into a city like Sans Fransisco (sp?) or Manchester. Hey maybe we can recreate them in the cornfield behind my house, anyone interested?.. :wink:

^Kori

you have left me even more impressed than I was before.

o yaar itna simple sa innocent sa question tha, aur itna bara bhashan.
waisay not all SF is castro. sorry to disappoint ya