Requesting Help from KGS and KHS students in Karachi

Hey All,
Excuse bland typeface and lack of picture, but am in something of a hurry right now. The facts are :
I’m a gr.10 student in Canada
I’m coming to Karachi in July 2004
I need admission info for Karachi Gramamr &
Karachi High School &
St. Patricks
I visited the sites for the first two schools and that didnt help at all…whereas I cant find a site for St. Pat’s! Anyone who may know please tell me all the admission requirements ( admission tests? interview? marks required?) I doubt the marks will be a problem, since I am a world class nerd :wink: but I’d still like to know what is needed. Plus, if there’s admission tests, whats the best way to prepare for them??

Enjoy the KHI heat, all who live there.
Take Cares, Salam
Riya_Siddiqui

You are a girl? If you are, you should also include St Joseph in your list.

Also, Pakistani schools are not exactly known to have great websites, so finidng two is more of a bonus than anything else. Your best bet is someone in Karachi, or get the phone numbers from the websites and call them directly. Yeah, its expensive, but thats about the only way to get reliable first hand information.

never heard of KHS. if its there its not famous. are u talking abt KAS - Karachi American School?

As for KGS, getting in is gonig to be tough because in grade 10th/11th people are in the midde of their O levels, which is a three yr track starting from class nine. I think you will have better luck getting into KAS if you're coming in from North America.

KGS is also very tough to get into, their academic requirements are very high. I think though if you have contacts it might help. No harm in trying. Classes btw start in August each yr.

i'm an ex Grammarian. you can PM me if you want more info.

Saint Pat's is all boys till grade 11.

There are many other schools you could consider though. BTW most schools here do the british O level system, do you want to switch over to that?

KGS :nook: :stuck_out_tongue:

hehe waleed what have u heard abt KGS? do share

i had a really rough time there, was there for my A levels only…was not my type of atmosphere, too burgerish for me, and i was too rigid to blend in i guess … i think i got my culture shock at KGS before even going to amreeka. literally used to cry the first couple of months. hated the place like anything.

i would have quit the school if my best friend from my old school dint join too. after she came it was better, we used to spend every minute glues together and took all the same classes :smiley:

on restrospect though if i had tried to get used to it and make friends it might have been better. i’ll give it that much, the kgs name did help me get into a good college. id never advise anyone to put their kids there tho. mahol of the place sucks and there is no tarbeeyat in that school.

awwww irem baji :flower1: :stuck_out_tongue:

well u know which uni i go right… do the maths :wink: . though i have to say one guy is exceptional i dont know how he turned out how he did. mashallah he is half hafiz e quran.

burgrish is an understatment and it doesnt do harm. arrogance, supriority complexes, lies, lack of manners, back biting, no respect for one’s self, lack of conservtism.

let just say the 2 pounds i spent on the paki society as per ur advice. is somethign i still regret :frowning: :stuck_out_tongue: .

dont wanna go into to too much detail there r kgs ppl around may be once i leave my uni :wink:

Hmm...thanks all....for the informative replies.
For the person who asked what KHS was....I think it Is new...its in Defense or Clifton or Korangi Creek somewhere (my KHI geography is very bad...:$)....
As for all the things you guys are telling me about KGS...sounds absolutely true...i can't say I know anyone from there but cousins and family in KHI all recommend that its great (academically) if I get in but even I feel that I'd get incredibly lonely and ticked off...If it helps u guys to gauge what schools are best for me then here's some info:
Pretty conservative family ( "bahir jana hai? bhai ko le ke chalo")
Like small groups of ppl to socialize with
Superficiality bores me like watching paint dry(Grammarian: Oh no! there's a dent on my BMW" me: "Seems there's one in ur head as well")

As mean as that may sound it is how I am...but social scene aside...i wanted to know what u hav to do to get in...like, a test? or is the transcript enough?

I think you should try out the City School since they have switched over to a two year O level system (10 and 11th) so they might give you less trouble. You might have to appear for a lot of subjects in the final year becuz they usually get rid of Islamiyat and Pak Studies in grade 10 (and I doubt if you will be able to do that in one year cuz they have a really lengthy syllabus). There are also other few good schools that are coming up (Jafar Public, Foundation Public, I have seen students from this school and they are pretty cultured) but if you want to go for the name, Beaconhouse can also be an option.

*Originally posted by irem: *

hehe waleed what have u heard abt KGS? do share

i had a really rough time there, was there for my A levels only...was not my type of atmosphere, too burgerish for me, and i was too rigid to blend in i guess ... i think i got my culture shock at KGS before even going to amreeka. literally used to cry the first couple of months. hated the place like anything.

i would have quit the school if my best friend from my old school dint join too. after she came it was better, we used to spend every minute glues together and took all the same classes :D

on restrospect though if i had tried to get used to it and make friends it might have been better. i'll give it that much, the kgs name did help me get into a good college. id never advise anyone to put their kids there tho. mahol of the place sucks and there is no tarbeeyat in that school.

Last sentence is funny.

*Originally posted by bluerubies489: *
Hmm...thanks all....for the informative replies.
For the person who asked what KHS was....I think it Is new...its in Defense or Clifton or Korangi Creek somewhere (my KHI geography is very bad...:$)....
As for all the things you guys are telling me about KGS...sounds absolutely true...i can't say I know anyone from there but cousins and family in KHI all recommend that its great (academically) if I get in but even I feel that I'd get incredibly lonely and ticked off...If it helps u guys to gauge what schools are best for me then here's some info:
Pretty conservative family ( "bahir jana hai? bhai ko le ke chalo")
Like small groups of ppl to socialize with
Superficiality bores me like watching paint dry(Grammarian: Oh no! there's a dent on my BMW" me: "Seems there's one in ur head as well")

As mean as that may sound it is how I am...but social scene aside...i wanted to know what u hav to do to get in...like, a test? or is the transcript enough?

sounds like u will fit in real well at St. Joseph's Convent.
u should consider SJC too , its a very good school , better than KGS and St. Michael's Convent in some aspects.
PM me if ur interested in knowing more bout SJC , i went there for my O Levels.

bluerubies489: will you have to study urdu there in Olevels / Alevels?

^^ and Pak Studies & Islamic Studies on the same note for the O-Levels.

Trust me when I say that the CDN. & the U.S. systems are nothing compared to the O-Levels and A-Levels... the exams might be tough, and you'd need to do some prior research into the kind of things you'd have to catch up with! Grade 10 in Canada translates roughly to the syllabus in Grade 8 in Pak regardless of whether we're talking about O-Levels or Matric.

Salamz and Hello all,

Meea: I'd love to go to St,Josephs...but the thigns is...i dont wanan spend my last 2 years of high school in an all girls school....dont get me wrong, i have no ad intentions, but bieng in an environment where i have to work nest to or maybe even with guys will prepare me for univesity....and pakistani guys require sum preparation to weed out the creme de la creme...(can u weed out the creme de la creme? maybe i shud rephrase) Pick out the creme de la creme...

Umar Talib: I knwo I have a lot of catching up to do, but I was told that if I apply as a foreign student (which i will since ill inshallah have my cnd passport) then i can skip urdu and islamiat wagheira and take sum other courses in their place....

ps...i still dont know what the admission process is for all of these schools (City, Beacon House, St.Josephs, St.Pats)...u guys wanna be a bit mroe specific...oh! and any1 know the official site for above mentioned schools?

take care
byes

PS...umar talib: I noticed ur signature quote...do u know any books with english translations of Khalil Gibrans poetry? I've been wanting to read since my dad recommended itand my urdu is terrible...

sure... I'm a big fan of his works... I haven't heard of any of his Arabic works even being translated into Urdu... but I had read some random chapters from his books in the library at U of T... and last year I got a few "pocket" versions of his books from chapters.ca

Start with The Prophet, and then read Sand & Foam... followed by A tear & a smile.

Ciao.