Rent - a Maulvi

It’s not surprising to hear that an Indian actor has married his muslim girlfriend, because this is the 21st century and these things happen. What I don’t understand is these maulvis who perform the nikah ceremonies. Surely they spend so much effort in learning their business and then they negate it all by validating something that quite obviously goes against their beliefs.

In the UK it is a well known joke that for £10 you can get a fatwa from a maulvi to bless the opening of an off-licence. For an extra fiver you could probably get his blessing to sell bacon sandwiches as well.

You can hardly blame the ordinairy layman for selling sharab when the maulvis are selling themselves. I think these maulvis in most cases should get a decent job like driving buses instead.

The problem with these maulvis is, that most of them are not very educated. They lack knowledge not only in general, but they don't have much relgious knowledge as well.

And when they're asked something, they just give you any answer, because if they would say, "I don't know.", people go like: "Ye kaunsa Maulvi he, is ko to kuch pata hi nahi he." And if a Maulvi tells them complete bull, they'll believe it. "Achir Maulvi sahab ne kaha tha."

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

Umer,

If a maulvi doesn't have much religious knowledge, then what business does he have being a maulvi?

Even a bus driver needs to know his routes.

A very common issue in the US as well.
First of all, is there any proof that the person who performed the Indian actors nikah was a maulvi? We need to bear in mind that being a maulvi is not a prerequisite for performing a nikah. All you need to know is which dua to read, where to get the signatures, and which pocket to put the money in.

Same goes for the maulvis who distribute fatwas at the rate of a dime a dozen. Sadly enough, there is no stopping them in this 'land of the free', where freedom of expression affords you the ability to cook up anything and pass it off as Islam. And a lot of pseudo muslims who cant be bothered with following Islam completely, but dont dont wanna be caught not following it, are hooked onto these maulvis.

Such level of ignorance can only be controlled in a country ruled under Islamic laws. We cannot realistically expect India or USA or UK to ensure that a 'real' maulvi conducts the nikah of sandeep patel and mariam shah, because no 'real' maulvi would do that.

This topic reminds me a statement from IG Punjab Police. Many years ago when he was asked about standard of police in Pakistan he replied *" WE CANNOT GET DECENT YOUNG MAN IN POLICE BECAUSE WHEN SOMEONE CANNOT FIND A JOB ANYWHERE ELSE HE EITHER BECOME POLICE CONSTABLE OR MAULVI" *

I think this is true for India and pack and other third world countries.

I know from fact that poor people in Pakistan who have not enough to feed and educate their children either send their children to work as labour in houses or car workshops etc or send them to madras to become maulvi.

This means that people who become maulvi are more interested in earning their money rather then teach true Islam. As one poet in Urdu said;

Neem Hakim Khatra Jaan
Neem Mulah Khatra Imaan

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme:
** I think these maulvis in most cases should get a decent job like driving buses instead.**

Why should they when they are getting freebies from the community all the time? Just enough for them to live above the poverty line, and for some, visit the occasional strip joint also.

This is absolutely insane. You cannot blame it on any so-called maulvi. the type you all are referring to do not flourish just like that. It is because idoits like us believe in any bull they preeach.

It is you and i who are responsible for the stage that we have reached. The learning of religion is incumbent on us all. Our problem is than we try to excel in everything other than matters of religion cause we have 'maulvies' to do the job.

May we all be forgiven for our sins, intentional or otherwise. Ameen

**Umer,

If a maulvi doesn't have much religious knowledge, then what business does he have being a maulvi?

Even a bus driver needs to know his routes.**

You gave the answer for your question yourself. The bus driver needs to know his routes, otherwise he couldn't do his job.

The maulvi should know his rules as well, but as long as people believe what he says, it's enough to pretend, that he knows a lot about religion, without knowing anything at all.

Alhamdulillah, there are many decent maulvis as well, but the majority is still of the type I described above.

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

Papa Smurf,

Being a maulvi carries certain responsibilities above those of you and me. You don't tell a doctor how to operate do you? A maulvi is responsible for setting an example to the whole community, you and I are responsible only for ourselves.

Mariah,

I don't object to them getting freebies as long as they are doing their job, they can even visit strip joints if they want. I think the problem would be if they came up with a fatwa for strip joints.

Papa Smurf - spot on man!
No harm at trying to excel at worldly affairs but need to concentrate on the hereafter as well, both in terms of Huquq-Allah and Huququl-Ibad.

Papa Smurf, its a two way street. But Xtreme is right, the maulvis have a responsibility to the community, not only to themselves, however we are all accountable for our actions and our words, and we should not follow blindly, we should use the sense of intelligence Allah swt have given us to reason to follow our deen the way Allah swt has commanded.....but keep in mind also that maulvis--islamic scholars have the trust of the ummah, and therein lies the their responsibility to the people...deliberately misguiding people, making haram halal and halal haram, allowing deviance is Wrong. There are no ifs about that.

this thread is reminding me of the song, Muslim scholars for hire....

**Papa Smurf,

Being a maulvi carries certain responsibilities above those of you and me. You don't tell a doctor how to operate do you? A maulvi is responsible for setting an example to the whole community, you and I are responsible only for ourselves.

Mariah,

I don't object to them getting freebies as long as they are doing their job, they can even visit strip joints if they want. I think the problem would be if they came up with a fatwa for strip joints.**

I completely disagree with your assertions.
Islam has no priesthood, hence there is no one with a higher responsibility. Everyone is to strive for the higher goal and he who attains the greatest fear of Allah in his heart, is the best amongst us. A maulvi is not the doctor for religion. His only addtional duty is to lead prayers and have some idea of day to day affairs related to religion.

We might beconfusing two terms here. Maulvi and an Alim. The former is used for one who leads the prayers in a mosque. He is not necessarily an Alim. An Alim is one who has excelled in the sciences of religion. Its like the driver (Maulvi) of a car has a limited knowledge regarding the mechanism of the car. If you have a car problem, you dont refer to your driver but a car manual (Quran, Sunnah...) or a car mechanic(Alim).
A Maulvi here cannot issue a fatwa. You are supposed to be an alim (There is a special course that you do to be able to give fatwas). So you first confirn the authority of the person you are asking.

And even an alim for that matter is not responsible for creating or setting an example for the society. It is YOU and ME that matters. Every individual is equally responsible to the Islamic society. It is as much of your duty to refrain from strip joints as it is theirs. And you and i are equally responsible to take a stand against someone who gives a fatwa allowing the same.

May we all be forgiven for our sins, intentional or otherwise. Ameen

Originally posted by Girl from Quraysh:
**Papa Smurf, its a two way street. But Xtreme is right, the maulvis have a responsibility to the community, not only to themselves, however we are all accountable for our actions and our words, and we should not follow blindly, we should use the sense of intelligence Allah swt have given us to reason to follow our deen the way Allah swt has commanded.....but keep in mind also that maulvis--islamic scholars have the trust of the ummah, and therein lies the their responsibility to the people...deliberately misguiding people, making haram halal and halal haram, allowing deviance is Wrong. There are no ifs about that.

this thread is reminding me of the song, Muslim scholars for hire....**

Asalamoelekum
Thank you for your comments. We are saying the same thing. I have tried to explain the issue in my last message. And Allah knows best.

Originally posted by Girl from Quraysh:
**Papa Smurf, its a two way street. But Xtreme is right, the maulvis have a responsibility to the community, not only to themselves, however we are all accountable for our actions and our words, and we should not follow blindly, we should use the sense of intelligence Allah swt have given us to reason to follow our deen the way Allah swt has commanded.....but keep in mind also that maulvis--islamic scholars have the trust of the ummah, and therein lies the their responsibility to the people...deliberately misguiding people, making haram halal and halal haram, allowing deviance is Wrong. There are no ifs about that.

this thread is reminding me of the song, Muslim scholars for hire....**

Very surprising coming from you GFQ. Allah (swt) did indeed give us aql to choose the right from wrong. You should apply this also when evaluating which companions were righteous and who were munafiqs.

Not knowing this cannot ensure that the path you are following is correct or not.

Easy to say that you follow the Qur'an and sunnah. How well you understand the Qur'an and are you following the correct sunnah is another thing.

These same molvis have taught you all how great yr sham sahabahs were. Yet you choose to believe this blindly.

a1shah....
you are so petty.

A few days ago, we had a discussion about ahle bait, and I asked you a question, in response to which you disappeared. And now, your next post after that revolves around the same old message of hate hate hate.

However, I am glad you are such a perfect Muslim. Too bad the rest of us arent. Maybe we can learn a thing or two from you.

Anyone talks about yr sham sahabahs and you all get so personal.

You can stop yr sarcasm Eastern. I have just seen yr basic questions - nothing new. Go to the site by Amarr and you'll get yr response there.

You sunnis know nothing better than to rut on the same questions again and again.

I was away on a trip so I didn't have a chance to answer.

You will get yr answers soon enuf.

Hope this time u do learn something from them.

a1shah..

You have a habit of destroying every thread with your hatred. The thread about battle of uhud was about the battle itself, yet you brought in shia sunni conflicts. This thread was about fake maulvis...and you again made it a point to bring in shia sunni issues.

I'd hate to think that your scope does not allow you to think of anything other than hatred against those who dont share your beliefs, but regardless, there is a limit to everything.

And by the way, I have not gotten the answer to any of my questions in any of the threads that I have seen on these pages.

I will get my answers soon enough, that I know. I should realize that you need some time to cook up a plausible response.

For once, try and experiment with love and brotherhood, and shed off this cloak of hatred around you. And the excuse of 'he did it' is not a valid one, because charity begins at home. You do your part and others will do their parts.

Eastern;

Your statement that I need time for a plausible response shows how narrow-minded you really are. You have shot down truth before it even appeared.

I do not attack anyone. What I care to differ on is when sunnis / wahabis pose the cloak of righteousness on these threads but opt not to apply it towards the ultimate truth of imamate.

Like I said previously, if one is on the road of falsehood, it is false no matter how hard you work on that path.

What seems to you as my persistence is what is to me as the great importance of getting to the truth.

Perception is in the eyes of the beholder.

I have seen yr questions on the other thread. Pls do indulge me for a while so that I can get you the info. u require.

Originally posted by a1shah:
I do not attack anyone.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Like I said previously, if one is on the road of falsehood, it is false no matter how hard you work on that path.

Yaar! bhai maray! stop working hard in this forum… You are already in the list of my group..

I have seen yr questions on the other thread. Pls do indulge me for a while so that I can get you the info. u require.
or I make it up somehow

Till then, Adios

~Dehnchu Dehnchu~ ¤Representing Group of Gadha§ in Religion Forum¤

A1shah: Grow up.