Why are Muslims so intolerant against religion. If you look at our prophet Hazrat Mohammad SAW life, he was so tolerant. Even when Taif people threw rocks at him, he didn’t say anything. We should be more intellectual and deal people humbly rather than protesting.
Re: Religious intolerance in Muslims
We’re a very jazbati qaum.
I have never been able to understand our fear of other faiths. If you believe in Allah swt and really believe Islam is the best religion then how can you feel threatened by any other faith?
jazbaatii qaum and don’t use our brain…
josh hai magar hosh nahiiN! ![]()
Muslims are not a qaum.
Group of people - feel better?
Because we didn’t understand the gist of Islam. Our actions are not for God like Prophet’s actions were. Our actions are for getting fame and boost our ego.
You will find many people rejoicing that this number of people accepted Islam in Europe and America not because it it strengthened Islam, but because we scored such number of Muslims added to good for nothing category.
I think it is an uneducated minority but often they are the one that make noise and gets listened to. The majority becomes silent. There are countries like Turkey or Albania (58% Muslim) and there haven’t been many incidents there.
It’s just when religious is used to win power and gain votes it goes wrong way. The image people have of Pakistan/Pakistanis from incidents like Rimsha Masih, Asia Bibi, Salman Taseer and Shahzad Bhatti does not match reality of most Pakistanis being friendly, hospitable and warm. Sourav Ganguly went to Pakistan for the series in 2004 and he only spoke highly of how people treated him and the other players.
Unfortunately all minorities face some social discrimination in all countries but when the law approves of it it gives intolerant people right to do as they please while good minded people become silent and unable to change things.
Pakistani minorities are quite patriotic and if given fair chance and treatment by law and society they could be great ambassadors for Pakistan for the world especially in the West. People like Deepak Perwani and Giyan Chand speak of their love of Pakistan and how patriotic they are when they do exhibition/talks in India or the West.
Here is the story of Premchand. A sad story but it is inspiring how his friends have tried to correct his image. He was a social worker, part of youth parliament, a patriotic Pakistani Hindu and wanted to make his country a better place. He would talk against India when it was in Pakistan’s interest. He died on a plane crash. The label that was placed for his coffin was “kafir.” All the good he had previously done was erased in memory.
This is what his friends said about him. “He greeted muslims with a warm Assalamo alaikum…he sent msgs of congratulations on shab barat and other holy days…..He used “Allah” hafiz to bid farewell…and he swore by this name…I hv been with him….He was more of a sufi who believed in all religions and the good things in them.”
Prem Chand We Are Ashamed! | Syed Ali Abbas Zaidi’s Blog
Even a little love and tolerance for minorities and their heritage will come 20 fold and make Pakistan an even greater, vibrant and diverse nation. So protecting them and the many heritage sites of minorities to become tourist sites will benefit the economy. Doing so doesn’t make anyone less Muslim. Many of these patriotic minorities, like Abdul Salam, and others of different professions, are fleeing to other countries when they could make a contribution to their motherland.
Do the people in this video above look really different from any other Pakistani in appearance, in dress (with shalwar kameez and dupatta), in language and in values. When they go overseas and people see their appearance and Pakistani passport they are treated the same. They are not foreign they are your own people and they deserve basic rights and protection under law to be enforced. Including the right to have their marriages registered which occurred in 2012.
I think progress is being made. Last year the Pakistani government finally registered Hindu marriages in Pakistan. Previous to that there was no legal registration for hindu marriages so a Hindu woman could not register a complaint against domestic violence because she could not prove perpetrator was her husband. I think most Pakistanis would be supporting registration but i don’t think this is well known.
Back in 2011 when the law had not changed. ‘Jinnah’s Pakistan’ has no room for Hindus – The Express Tribune Blog](Blogs & Commentary | The Express Tribune)
interesting topic thanks for posting UZ.
We are not the only religiously intolerance group. We have examples of Hindu extremist in Mumbai and Gujrat, we have KKK, we have orthodox Jews in Tel Aviv who would curse and kick you out of there area if you are not a Jew.
Problem is this that most of the intolerant Muslims live in the countries where law and order implementation is very poor so they take advantage of that and practice their hatred openly.
Because it’s easier for politicians and govt to cash on the emotionality of general public than to impose law properly, they also take advantage of the religious intolerance.
True TLK bhai extremists are everywhere and it is no fault of religion as there are many tolerant Muslim, Christian and Hindu communities where it does not occur in subcontinent (i.e. Sindh in Pakistan, many Indian states where there is Hindu-Muslim harmony eg. Kerala and US, UK) where mob violence does not rule.
I don’t think Pakistani society is intolerant in general but just some elements which make their voice known. It is so easy to invoke mob violence in subcontinent compared to West. You just talk about past injustices, stir up a crowd and people will be boiling for blood. Law enforcement is weak but law should be just and treat everyone equally.
Events in other countries shouldn’t influence how minorities are treated in Pakistan. What does a stupid idiotic film by an Arab Christian in the US have to do with Pakistani Christians who are patriotic but targeted? What does some stupid idiotic mob violence by Indian Hindus have to do with Pakistani Hindus who are then targeted? What if someone as patriotic as Premchand was targeted in retaliation?
The governments, and most people, of the West, India and other asian countries do not care about Pakistan’s minorities. As secular countries they have no affiliation with them. Some in the West may think it is Pakistani Christian’s fault for living in Pakistan and some in India may think it is the Pakistani Hindu’s fault for staying behind and believing in Pakistan. They are only useful fodder for speeches made about Pakistan and unfair treatment. If no one abroad and few inside Pakistan care nothing will change. As a minority on their own they cannot do much nor can the few high profile examples of these minorities. If the Pakistani majority do not offer support for their issues no one will care and nothing will change. The good thing is there are some ngos which are taking on these issues.
Obviously a lot of society gives them affection and love or people like Deepak Perwani and Gyan Chand won’t be patriotic Pakistanis and see themselves as Pakistani first, their religions second. Both are doing Pakistan proud. Deepak Perwani has created the longest kurta worldwide and Gyan Chand in his talks mentions that he is a living symbol that minority youth who dream to make it big and serve their country they can.
Again its not just a Pakistani thing but it’s about law and society’s mindset towards it. If it something ignored or low on priority list.
^ Yaar R2D2, Aap bohoot makhkhan lagaati hain
apun ka style hai to use desi makkhan
iss liye itna lamba likhti hoon. Makkhan lagana hai to achi tara lagao.
I will answer your question from Muslim on Muslim violence perspective. Kids are being brainwashed in a lot of madrassahs for the last 3 decades or more and now as young adults/grown ups they are carrying that message out. And unfortunately even in a lot of mainstream society what they are hearing in Khudbas in Mosques has made them very intolerant. And thus they go around killing minorities and think they are doing sawab ka kaam. So shut down those madrassahs and kick out the extreme Imam/Molvis in mosques and educate people on tolerance and then things will get better. But I highly doubt it,because things have only gotten a lot worse as time has gone on.
I need to find these madrassahs
I have one objection. You seem to be generalizing.
A lot of Muslims actually tolerate religions. We hear mostly about those who are intolerant but certainly not in majority.
The problem is due to not knowing complete islam. This is what makes one go to either side of extremisim.
To me islam is tolerant on many issues and intolerant on certain issues, we have to see what issues we are dealing with. terms like (fala tass a alam qoum il kafireen and irhaab ) is also in quran.
i will try not to discuss this further.
This is only one side of the story … Sadly minorities are no lesser evil , when it comes to religious intolerance … It is just that they dont have enough power /resources to out battle religious intolerance shown by the majority extremist group …
You say 3 decades , I say from last 1400 years we have been feeding the demon called as religious intolerance …
Which of us Shia hasnt been into the majaalis where Tabra has been carried out … which one among us hasnt read the version of history where Abu Bakar , Umar , Usman and many others are recorded as tyrants and it goes on and on …
You talk about religious intolerance , we dont even have interfaith harmony among us …
With all the praise to Allah and His Messenger Muhammad PBUH …
How do you take the instruction of not letting any Non muslim into two holy cities of Islam / Muslims … Do you take it as religious intolerance or not ?
I agree with you that in our context we have been brainwashed during the past 40 years in our madrasahs, through our school books and by our media. I am not saying that there was no intolerance before 79. There used to be riots in different places but I am certain not at this scale. Shias and Sunnis have been living together for centuries, but why is it that the hatred has reached these levels now? How have we assumed the role of Allah to decide who is Muslim or not and carry out judgement accordingly?
Some of the topics that we had been reading in our childhoods, dont know if they’d breed extremism or not.
What are we teaching our children? – The Express Tribune
Social studies textbooks teach that India attacked us in 1948 and 1965 (class five); and Kargil (class three, Meri Kitab). Bengali separatism was a result of Hindu teachers and traders; and “after 1965 war India conspired with the Hindus of Bengal and succeeded in spreading hate among the Bengalis about West Pakistan and finally attacked on East Pakistan in December 71, thus causing the breakup of East and West Pakistan.”
“These are not textbooks as much as propaganda brochures which have closed off our children’s minds,” said Irfan Mufti of South Asia Partnership Pakistan, speaking at the conference on ‘Biases in textbooks and education policy’, organised by the National Commission for Justice and Peace (NCJP).
“Discrimination is a national issue and these discriminatory texts are a constant threat to our society,” he said. “I believe that all the primary schools in our country are factories fuelling extremism in our children.” Peter Jacob of the NCJP said that school textbooks painted non-Muslims as the enemy. “We want our teacher to tell our children that minorities or people from other religions or countries are not our enemies,” he said.
**“People here who used to deny that Pakistan was an extremist society no longer deny it after Gojra and the Asia Bibi and Rimsha [blasphemy] cases.”
Other speakers said that the best way to counter the extremism was through good teachers and good schools. “Educationists must play their role in changing minds through education. I believe our generation needs values more than anything else,” said Dr Christy Munir, the principal of FC College.
“The only way we can become a progressive nation is to be an educated nation. We know that the only tool we have against extremism is education and if there is no education, there will be no peace,” said Father Emmanuel Yousaf, a peace activist.
“There is a huge difference between early and current society. Everyone should respect the changes in society and one should not impose his or her beliefs on others,” said Syed Nisar Safdar, a Supreme Court advocate and social activist.
The speakers said that current education and curriculum policy should be reviewed to remove discriminatory teaching materials and practices. Besides imparting knowledge, textbooks and teachers should focus on teaching students universal humanity and responsible citizenship. Religious education should be removed from public schools, or at least minority students should get an equal opportunity to study their own religion. And the role of religious minorities in the creation and development of Pakistan should be incorporated in the syllabus, the speakers said.
Around 100 people attended the event at Ambassador Hotel.
http://www.thefridaytimes.com/beta3/tft/article.php?issue=20130823&page=3
**In spite of the rich and diverse cultural history of Sindh, textbooks in the province promote bigotry and glorify war. The provincial government says it is all set to change that.
**“Our books refer to Hindus as enemies, and that is very embarrassing for me,” said Narender Lakhwani, a Hindu student who has lived and studied in Karachi. “I am a Pakistani Hindu and proud of it, but our books portray me and my religion as the enemy.” -