Religion vs Technology

In our daily lives, interactions and everything we do has two major influences.“Religion and technology”. As compared to the life of a person of 100 years ago, our daily lives have been completely influenced by science and technology and religion has much lesser influence. What is your opinion?

Belief is not what mind possesses, it is what possesses the mind!

Regardless of how advanced the future becomes technology will never map up to the spirituality and teachings of Islam which fills the inner void in us. Besides, technology/science is unveiling the mysteries of this world NOW which the Quran proclaimed hundreds of years ago. What does that tell you? So the topic itself Religion vs technology is wrong. It should be Religion & Technology. Because when you put it in the context of “versus” or comparing then technology cannot match Islam. Agreed?

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

[This message has been edited by CocoNut (edited February 18, 2001).]

Analyse it:

You are posting these questions in the wrong forum. Some people here are so brainwashed, that they cannot carry the discussion beyond the supremacy of Islam.

About your question, it is really a thought provoking one (at least for me). I have participated in many discussions on wether technology should be followed or faith, not on the changes in their influence. I have got a lot to say and mostly, I will be disagreeing with you, I will be back tomorrow. (Its kinda late)

Technology is good if you make a good use of it. For instance, on the internet you can spread wast amount of knowledge about Islam and do all other good things but you can also use the internet for your dirty work and fulfil your fantasies.

Another example would be: VCR, you can either watch some good, mind opening video on it or you can rent some Indian movie or anyother inappropriate thing which is not supported or approved by Islam.

The choice is yours, you make the right choices everything works out fine. But if you make the "dirty" choices than the affliction is upon you only.

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

"Nay! We hurl truth against falsehood, so it destroys it: and behold, falsehood is vanquished..."Quran, al-Furqaan 25:33 ]

Originally posted by kumarakn:
**Analyse it:

You are posting these questions in the wrong forum. Some people here are so brainwashed, that they cannot carry the discussion beyond the supremacy of Islam.

About your question, it is really a thought provoking one (at least for me). I have participated in many discussions on wether technology should be followed or faith, not on the changes in their influence. I have got a lot to say and mostly, I will be disagreeing with you, I will be back tomorrow. (Its kinda late)**

==========================================
If this is not the right forum what would be the right forum in your opinion?
I agree with your observation, though it is true for any religious forum, be it Islam, Hinduism, christianity, jewism etc.
It makes me ponder about narrowmindedness of a religious mind. I also understand many people will be exasperated on this statement.

What I wanted to point out was the influence of technology in our daily life which I think is much more pronounced than religion and I am not just talking about Islamic religion. Just consider every ritual you perform in an average is so much dependent upon technology. From brushing your teeth, taking a shower, wearing dress, using watch,making breakfast,driving car, using computer,watching TV, movies to almost everything we daily is dependent on technology not on religion which basically teaches you ethics, philosophy and anthropology.

Belief is not what mind possesses, it is what possesses the mind!

Originally posted by analyze it:
Originally posted by kumarakn:
**Analyse it:

What I wanted to point out was the influence of technology in our daily life which I think is much more pronounced than religion and I am not just talking about Islamic religion. Just consider every ritual you perform in an average is so much dependent upon technology. From brushing your teeth, taking a shower, wearing dress, using watch,making breakfast,driving car, using computer,watching TV, movies to almost everything we daily is dependent on technology not on religion which basically teaches you ethics, philosophy and anthropology.

Acha bhai,,,,chalo agree on ur statement,,,,but think about the consequences of these technologies that we have to deal with in our daily lives... and the right religion, islam, teaches us a very prosperous way of life if we follow it....

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif