religion the best

What is the criteria of a good religion? Tolerance, peace and brotherhood may be.

When Talebans brought down Buddhist statues in Afghanistan and many countries protested, there was not a single violent protest from Buddhist sector. This is tolerance and peace.
Just imagine how some other communities react in similar situation.

Re: religion the best

*Originally posted by bengun: *
there was not a single violent protest from Buddhist sector.

Buddhists did protest, but it wasnt violent.

Re: religion the best

*Originally posted by bengun: *
What is the criteria of a good religion? Tolerance, peace and brotherhood may be.

When Talebans brought down Buddhist statues in Afghanistan and many countries protested, there was not a single violent protest from Buddhist sector. This is tolerance and peace.
Just imagine how some other communities react in similar situation.

Seems like you are talkin about "followers" and not religion? If you are talking about religion, and "peace" is your higher priority then why forget Jesus' teachings "other cheek"? There are many Islamic sayings too, but I don't have handy, Muslims are required to pick weapons in "defense", not "attack", IMO.

kitne achay loge hein. mein in kay munh pay dus sal say khara hoon phir bhi kuch nahi bolte.

acha agar mey dono hath bhi zamin may nail kar doon? oho dekhte to hein na? achay loge hein.

wah. kuch nahi bolay. sab logon ko aisa hona chahiay.

If you are talking about religion, and "peace" is your higher priority then why forget Jesus' teachings "other cheek"?

jesus who????????????????????????????????????????????????????

bengun, equating the practices of taleban to islam would be a bad generalization.

criteria of a good religion? are you tring to pick from a list of religions?
religion isnt a ovie that you can pick from your nearest blockbuster store. Its a matter of faith and beliefs, either you have it or you dont. And there are many critics of each religion, just like you are critiquing a particular religion based on your understanding of it.

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *
bengun, equating the practices of taleban to islam would be a bad generalization.

This should be "Equating the 'depicted' practices of Taliban to Islam would be a bad generalization."

There was a Taliban site called 'Taliban Online', but I searched for it but as usual, because of the the freedoms and liberties of speech and expression which America allows, it's been taken down.

The Taliban were loved by the Afghan people. For the first time in decades a peace had arisen for the people of Afghanistan brought about by the Taliban. The warlords had been disarmed, opium was almost cut down to zero, women who were kidnapped and sold as gifts were actually given a status as citizens and hospitals and houses were being built. All at a very slow rate, but progress nonetheless.

Taliban doing this atrocity and that brutality is all a lie and a mask which has been thrown over the Muslims' eyes to deceive them. Take of the mask and talk to people who lived under the Taliban...They will tell you how the Taliban were...Do not believe the hype.

And what really saddens me is that despite the mountain of lies that the media has created about everything, towering in front of their very eyes, they still believe the media...

The media tells them to jump and they ask, how high? How shameful...The Taliban are hated because the media tells the world to hate them, and Muslims hate the Taliban because the world tells them to hate Taliban...

good religion and bad followers...it is a real time joke for me.

how can a good religion have bad followers?

dunno maybe we can track down the hindu mobs that butchered people in my family after the partition in 1947. They were following religion too.

So were they bad followers, or was it a bad religion?

May be they did it for the sake of 72 apsaras promised in swarg!!

*Originally posted by soul: *
May be they did it for the sake of 72 apsaras promised in swarg!!

or to be reincarnated as a higher cast idiot in their next pathetic life.. who knows,

fact remains that in my view the core message of all faiths is to live a decent life and to leave the world a better place than it was when one was born.

sadly people kinda forgetthat somewhere along the way and then we see the killings in the name of religion, that my family suffered through.

My religion is the best

1) Don't bother anyone
2) Best drink
3) good food, mmmmm mmmmm!!!!
4) Pretty gal
5) Go to sleep and don't snore

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

fact remains that in my view the core message of all faiths is to live a decent life and to leave the world a better place than it was when one was born.

But of course!

All religions are good, and all have the basic points that tell us 'how to be good'. But the hardest to follow is the simple stuff. Take the commandent 'love thy neighbor as thyself'. It's easier to kill the neighbor. Show me a person who is following just 2 of the commandents faithfully, leave alone 10.

If we weren't bad followers we wouldn't need religion in the first place. I am sure there must be a planet on some galaxy that has no official religion/s because the inhabitants don't kill, loot, burn, cheat and what have you.

*Originally posted by karina: *
. Take the commandent 'love thy neighbor as thyself'.

I tried to practise this, but her dad was not to keen on the idea sigh
okay bad pun.

My stance is that people fight over minutia...trying to prove each other wrong. so mired in details and rituals that they forget about the basic essence of the religion itself.

and thats a shame

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

I tried to practise this, but her dad was not to keen on the idea sigh
okay bad pun.

No no, you were breaking the commandent 'thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's daughter'. the love part, unfortunately, extended to the dad. who said it was easy being good.

all religions should come with cliffs notes :(

*Originally posted by Lajawab: *

This should be "Equating the 'depicted' practices of Taliban to Islam would be a bad generalization."

There was a Taliban site called 'Taliban Online', but I searched for it but as usual, because of the the freedoms and liberties of speech and expression which America allows, it's been taken down.

The Taliban were loved by the Afghan people. For the first time in decades a peace had arisen for the people of Afghanistan brought about by the Taliban. The warlords had been disarmed, opium was almost cut down to zero, women who were kidnapped and sold as gifts were actually given a status as citizens and hospitals and houses were being built. All at a very slow rate, but progress nonetheless.

Taliban doing this atrocity and that brutality is all a lie and a mask which has been thrown over the Muslims' eyes to deceive them. Take of the mask and talk to people who lived under the Taliban...They will tell you how the Taliban were...Do not believe the hype.

And what really saddens me is that despite the mountain of lies that the media has created about everything, towering in front of their very eyes, they still believe the media...

The media tells them to jump and they ask, how high? How shameful...The Taliban are hated because the media tells the world to hate them, and Muslims hate the Taliban because the world tells them to hate Taliban...

And ,well, my dear how come you know the TRUTH about the Talibans?