Religion is a private matter?

I believe this discussion would be a heated one .. or it would be one sided. Just wanted to ask what do you guys say when someone say

• my religion is my private matter. don’t interfere
  • meri namaz hai mera khuda hai .. .. tm ko kya ..
  • I will go to my grave and you will go to yours ..

Make sense .. right?

but this thing come to my mind

[TABLE=“width: 97%”]

Amongst the greatest obligations are amr-bil-Ma’roof (ordering for acknowledged virtues) and nahi anil munkar (forbidding from sin). Allah (SWT) says: “And there should be a group amongst you who invite towards good, order for acknowledged virtues, forbid from sin and these it is that are the successful ones” (Ale Imran: 104).

So what do you guys say .. shall a person should practice “amar bil maroof wa nahi anil munkir” or shall he say and agree with “religion is a private matter” .. .. ??

Re: Religion is a private matter?

On the Day of Judgement we will be held accountable for everything good and bad … If we saw an evil and didn’t stop it, or speak out against it or even dislike it in our hearts then we will have been written down as complicit in that act. If someone insists that they wish to do evil openly then we must insist to not be part of their circle of acquaintances lest we should be judged with them in their acts.

We should remind each other. If religion is a personal matter in the sense of no one should remind us of prayer times, then how would the jammaat prayer ever work? How would we celebrate Eid?

In the last sermon the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) says “take these words who could not be here today” … this is the instruction for us to propagate and give sincere advice to one another.

Surah Al-'asr

**1. **By Al-'Asr (the time).
**2. **Verily! Man is in loss,
**3. **Except those who believe (in Islâmic Monotheism) and do righteous good deeds, **and recommend one another to the truth **(i.e. order one another to perform all kinds of good deeds (*Al-*Ma’rûf)which Allâh has ordained, and abstain from all kinds of sins and evil deeds (Al-Munkar)which Allâh has forbidden), and recommend one another to patience (for the sufferings, harms, and injuries which one may encounter in Allâh’s Cause during preaching His religion of Islâmic Monotheism or Jihâd, etc.).

thanks ... so lets put it this way .. .. a friend of mine wasn't offering prayer properly, doing some BASIC mistakes and i asked him that this is not right and he was like .. thats my personal matter

• most of the people that i have seen here in canada they don't care what is halal/haram .. they say you can eat everything. bismillah parh lo aur sb theek hai .. and i was like when you have the option to eat halal then why not and they brought this personal thingy .. ..

• even if i have seen lots of people here on GS as well .. discussing islam and bla bla and no sooner something go against their norm they say, its my personal matter .. .. !!

I wana ask, are these really personal matters? or being in a friend's circle we should +vely and let them know what is wrong and what is not .. ..
- is it okay if someone tells me that i dun fast properly and instead of listening to him, or being silent if i dun agree i reply to him that this my personal matter.

Have not we hard of "lakum deen-e-kum waliya deen". That is the philosophy I work on when I come across such people.

You must be very careful about what you term as 'munkar'. There are people who use the term to indicate the differences that exist between difference school of thoughts and sects. This type of behaviour can be problematic.

Terms 'al-ma'ruf and 'al-munkar' literally mean "known" and "unknown"The real type of 'munkar' are things that the whole humanity unanimously considers evil and knowledge of which is innate within our nature as Quran says;

[91:7] And the soul and Him Who made it perfect,
[91:8] Then He inspired it to understand what is right and wrong for it;

Example of munkar will include lying, cheating, killing, racism, violence etc. Making a stand against these is a very important part of our faith.

The verse of Aal e Imran you quoted is the source of inspiration for the movement of Tablihgi Jamaat too. However my understanding of this verse is quite different.

Actually both. Religion is a private matter since no one is allowed to shove his religion in other person's throat yet one should tell others about the 'deen' in best possible manner and with hikmah. If he pays heed to what you are saying, well and good and if he doesn't, well and good.

This is job of authorities to prevent haram being committed in society.

as individuals there is 3 levels of stopping haram

1. stop by your hand some haram being done
  2. speak out against it
  3. hate it in your heart (this is lowest level of against the haram if you cannot do the other 2)

i don't think its true...small things are your personal matter but relegion is not.

Peace,

'Mufih', 'aflaha', 'falah': the root idea is attainment of desires; happiness, in this world and the next, success, prosperity, freedom from anxiety, care, or a disturbed state of mind; the opposite of 'azab' in the next verse, which includes: failture, misery, punishment or penality, agony or anguish.

The ideal Muslim community is happy, untroubled by conflicts or doubts, sure of itself, strong, united, and prosperous: because it invitees to all that is good, enjoins the right, and forbids the wrong, a master-stroke of description in three clauses.

(1) Faith,
(2) doing right, being an exmple to others to do right, and having the power to see that the right prevails.
(3) eschewing wrong, being an example to tohers to eschew wrong, and having the power to see that wrong and injustice are defeated.

The logic conclusion to the evolution of religious history is a non-sectarian, non-racial, non-doctorinal, universal, religion, which Islam claims to be. For Islam is just submission to the Will of Allah SWT. Islam therefore lives, not for itself, but for mankind. The People of the Book, if only they had faith, would be Muslims, for they have been prepared for Islam. Unfortunately there is Unfaifth, but it can never harm those who carry the banner of Faith and Right, which must always be victorious.