Religion and common sense

Do you think religious guidelines are common sense? If so, why didn’t the people of daur-e-jahiliyat have this sense?

Re: Religion and common sense

The religion I follow is all about common sense and common people - in a way it actually starts from the rights other people have over you and it ends exactly at same point.

Do you mean moral guidelines? What horrible things do you think people did in daur-e-jahiliyat that they don't do now? Muslims and non muslims included.

religious guidelines are not common sense.

Things like burying your daughter alive were common practice back then. It was Islam that put an end to it. But by the looks of it we’re moving towards another daur-e-jahiliyat because some of those practices have re-emerged in some parts of the world and we’re now killing our own people that too in the name of God. :rolleyes:

Now we kill them in name of family honor - Karo-Kari , Vani and Deet .

and often our women get burned while fixing the stoves ..

it hasnt changed much kid .. it hasnt !

So point being, religious guidelines aren't common sense.

Well they are but thing is unfortunately we are at the stage from where we cant see them being common sense ..

Every society / religion has three stages of evolution .

1) Revelation
2) Revolution
3) Superstition

Sadly at this point of time we are stuck with Superstition - the common sense guidelines are turned into rituals and religion is run like an institution .

now we want to go back to revelation or revolution - it is tough call to make !

Common sense is not so common.

Says who?

The meaning of common sense is variable too. What constitutes common sense for one may not be common sense for other.

One can say religious dogmas are not mathematical equations like 2+2= 4.

Not really correct.

Hummm.. Makes some 'sense'. Have an idea what you are saying but but not sure what you meant by the stages, and their order. :)

How is it common sense if it is so variable? Consider a definition:

Lets try to prove what you’re saying. If religious guidelines are common sense then there ought to be many people who appear to be Muslims but are actually just following common sense. But whenever I see someone keeping a roza or praying namaz or performing hajj they have invariably been Muslims.

Pffft!

good point!

eggjactly :k:

Mere thread tey pffttt nai kareya karo :emmy:

if religion is common sense, why do religious people have such great disagreements going back hundreds, if not thousands, of years? more dogma than commonsense..

Religion and common sense?

Naaah truly dedicated followers are burned, flayed, hanged, beheaded, buried alive, torn to pieces, beaten to death.... those are the lucky ones... I mean you might end up alive but with a spleen missing or worse.

Common sense is important but true power is always in the hands of the crazy.

as the saying goes.....

"God must love crazy people!"

Why

"Cos he made so many of them"

Common sense is a product of specific mind set. What is common sense to me may not be a common sense to you.

Nope...not common sense at all...I don't find any of the barbaric punishments being rolled out common sense...I don't think as humans we should be given the right to take someone's life..that also in the name of Allah!!! He created us and he should be the one to end us too not some human!!

Religious constipation is spreading fast among South Asian Muslims. Many of us are trying to duplicate these akhrot headed constipated wahabi Saudis.

astagfarullah.

Aaliya ko chotay chotay pathaar maaring

hmmm…maaro maaro..aur kar bhi kya sakhthe hai aap :cb:

Common sense is not taught but is basic to human nature.