… or recycled gifts perhaps? You choose your friends but relatives are just there for u…there! enjoy!
Nowadays, it seems like people either don’t get along with their relatives or they just don’t have time for them. Believe it or not…I have a few cousins who don’t even know I exist. Some cousins I call on occasions like Eid and sometimes I skip the call altogether…Apparently no one ‘minds’ it…people ‘understand’..Is this weird or is it normal…its like a ‘polite whatever’ attitude.
Life in the west is notorious for isolated families…Thanks Giving and Christmas are more like an obligation to meet uncles and aunts.
Is this a growing trend in Pakistan too… have people stopped going to each other’s places?
i dunno… but ive grown up without the presense of aunts, cousins, grandparents, uncles.. 2nd-3rd aunty ke bete ke biwi ke bhai… but regardless of that, im still close to my cousins.. well one family mostly (that could be cause my they’re my bros inlaws )
i think its to do with the way your brought up.. my dad couldnt careless cus he never knew any of his cousins and his cousins dont know him
wherewas my mum wouldnt dream of not knowing her cousins. My siblings and I are more like mum, cus she's always been in touch with her side of the family and dad's
I'm not sure, when I visited Pakistan last time I did feel the same, people had stopped meeting each other like they used to before. Many in my family went abroad actually and most of the family members are now in different countries, so I wounldn't know for sure. But having our cousins here is just great. Its so much fun being with them, especially cuz all of us are of the same age :D
Hmmm......................hotay hongay......................lekin mere sab kareebi (dads side wale) rishtadaar bahot 'ignorant' hain..................they hardly contact us.................and we haven't done anything to hurt them..................
But i agree, my moms side/inlaws r really like a gift from God....but we r prevented to seeing them regularly - only in secret times..............unfortunatly cuz in our house only DAADI jan ka hukm chalta hai....not my mom/dads! ..........dunno why...........but its sick!
Yeah! to me relatives are precious gift of God .Because blood relations does matter .we can't ignore them as we are part of it . This is fact that we don't have enough time to give and to spent with them . But still there is a feeling that there is someone who loves you , there is someone who is waiting for you(which i do have n i do care ) and in this materialistic world to have such feeling is much more important for me .Shuker Allhamdullilah my cosuins do wait for me they love me and care about my thoughts n feelings.
Sometimes we are expecting more and start blaming others that they are selfish ... But what we are ? are we giving time ? are we visiting them often ? and when we placed our self in their place then everything seems to be okay.
relatives are a pain..to say the least. If only they cud stop meddling in each others and my family's business.. I wudn't mind them visiting us like once in a decade.
Agreed..relatives are a pain..typically in large families, people always have and always will fight. Its usually over petty things and everyone is quite nosy, however everyone seems more happy now, that everyone lives apart and sees one another once in a while.
My mothers side of the family is the most scrumptous. And I love them. And its a huge family. And everyone chips in to help everyone else and its the most amazing experiance.
maybe some of us didnt get a chance to grow up with any relos therefore we're like close to em (in a wierd way) but i understand the problems of those who have grown up with them..
my cousins back in pak dont get along very well.. but they still meet cus we're such a small khandan, we cant disown one another hehe
I'm not very close to my cousins and don't like their company either coz I have never lived with them...and the main problem is we have a language barrier..:o I can speak Urdu and English but I don't know how to speak Gujrati(their first language)....So it's really difficult to talk to them and to be honest I'm more close to my friends than my cousins...
*Originally posted by 50-B: *
Agreed..relatives are a pain..typically in large families, people always have and always will fight. Its usually over petty things and everyone is quite nosy, however everyone seems more happy now, that everyone lives apart and sees one another once in a while.
well.. we have never lived with the relatives..it has always been only the 4 of us( parents, me and my bro)..but I somehow don;t appreciate them visiting us even once a year..I mean, the meddling is too darn frustrating. People should learn to stay away from other's family affairs..if they want others to welcome em with an open heart.
I think cousins are just like friends. initially we and our cousins used to live together but then both had to move. we still miss those days...today we just have to meet once a week and the part I like besst is you can tell them anything you feel, like I tell them to shut up whenever I'm not in the mood or something and they understand. They are like a part of our family, you can just tell them when you don't want them involved or anything.
yep gifts indeed, without the gift receipt inside :-P
As much as I hate to admit it, I'm grateful for the ones that I'm stuck with, absolutely. Wouldn't exchange them for the world.. well.. except for maybe a couple :D
i wasnt close wid my relatives until i met them :halo:… have always been away frm em but than i was in pak for 10 months , spent those 10 months wid my papa’s family n now we r very close to each others ..so i guess its depends on how much time u spend wid each other … i love all of my cousisn … they r my best friends …n this feeling that they r a part of my papa n the feeling of that we r same n a family is just wonderfull :)…