hmm, so you actually had some Relationship with god. definitely wierd. :eek:

Re: Relationship

^ :smack:

ignore that lol

weird is that you cannot realise the importance of the topic

:) Salaam,
I think you're talking about Qurbat (closeness to Allah)... SubhanAllah, indeed, it's the most beautiful and important feeling anyone can ever experience... to be gloriously overwhelmed by His attributes, to see Him everywhere and feel Him in everything that you do... You can live off those feelings for your entire life... I think Jalaluddin Rumi expresses it perfectly :) Find his works in Persian and English translations. Definitely a beautiful topic...
Is this what you were referring to?

Sometimes I feel Him but mostly it is one sided affair. I am looking for him and He is eluding me, but guess what I am never gonna give up on Him. I am sure one day He will give me a strong sign of His presense that I will believe in Him 100%.
Some people tell me that first I have to turn religious then I will find Him. Sorry not my cup of tea, I don't work on promisory notes, show me the money and I will work. If we don't meet then it wasn't supposed to be "Inshallah".

It seems kind of arrogant to call it a one-sided affair :) I may very well be wrong because I don't know you at all... But looking at the bigger picture... If you have something to be thankful for, then ask yourself where it came from? I think the only time it is one-sided, is when Allah tries to get our attention, to draw closer to Him (through hardships, forgeting to be thankful etc etc), but we will have none of it.

I had a question I asked Amina Asimili ( a muslim scholar) how to become a devout muslim...basically with myself I have these phases when at times I feel very intensely about trying to learn more about our great religion and practicing on it, and other times its very low...any way her answer was To Fall in Love with Allah...this was about a year and a half ago...I thought the answer was weird as I thought .".I want to know HOW?" but a couple of days ago...it finally dawned on me....Just my own epiphany, but really instead of looking outwards for support and wat not from mere humans...Feeling the Mighty Existance of Allah..its all around us..it was really eye opening rather heart opening!! :)
Really a quality thread there:)

Sorry to give you a wrong idea, I was not trying to be arrogant maybe wrong selection of words. I do thank that "Somebody" for all the blessings in my life (and believe me there are many many).
The thing that frustates me is my inability to believe in the unseen/unproven. How easy it is for most of the people. Maybe it's just the way my mind is wired up; to see, touch, physically feel things. Or maybe it's just my education as an engineer I am taught to balance the equations, if the equation is not balanced something is wrong somewhere.

My relationship with God has been quie different at different times. Now i am trying to re-deifine it.

Thats interesting :) So what doesn't balance/add up in your opinion? Or maybe you just need to let go of the frustration :) it could be a vicious circle :)

JinhaiN maiN dhoondta tha AasmanooN maiN zameenooN maiN
Wo nikley mere zulmat khana-e-dil key makeenooN maiN

Wah Wah Icon, apna hai ya kissi aur ka?

Chacha Iqbal

There is a saying " Allah samajh main to nahin ata par dil main aajata hai"

Our relationship with Allah (swt) should be such that we must think of Allah's liking and dislikings before taking any action in our life.

Reminds me of a saying. " If you want to know what status you have infront of Allah, than first try to know what status you have given to Allah in your life" <--because they both are related to each other.

same here . everytime i felt that it was different from before or from what it must have been . some times i feel it was NOT that strong as it must have been .

i often felt that it was one sided relationship where He played his part and i was all very far away from Him.maybe it was my littlenes where i never felt the need to turn towards Him