Relationship with siblings

Do you think our relationship with siblings changes as we grow older?

My parents are very formal with their siblings and I find it so weird. :S My mum, for example, didn’t like something that her brother said recently and she analysed everything for days n days before actually talking to him about it. And I’m like pffttt if my brother did that, I’d tell him straight away he was being a khota! =D

Has your relationship with your siblings changed over time - let’s say after they got married n stuff?

Re: Relationship with siblings

yes a LOT…

sisters are away…so no much interaction
brothers…well…they have wife… and that means…basically its over :cb:

That's not truuuueee :(

an example is…you meet ur bro after long time…and u two are chating n stuff…and then his wife comes around…gives him the ‘look’…and he’s gone…:omg:

No matter how close you are with your siblings, once they are married there is a lehaaz in the relationship because it's not just about the two of you, it may include or impact the spouse (yours or theirs).

I am super close with my sisters, but I definitely self-censor with them. We're not formal with each other or anything, but before I start screaming like banshee, I keep in mind, she's not merely my sister anymore, she is someone's wife or someone's mother or someone's DIL.

That’s true Sehrysh, jubse aapi ki shaadi hui hai I feel like giving her some izzat! :hmmm:

As an example, a few days after her wedding, she asked me to get her a glass of water. Previously, I would’ve said “go get it yerself :barbie:” but that day I just couldn’t refuse!

We’re still not formal though. I just never want the relationship to change between us. =(

Get real pleaase!!!

:vivo:

I am being real and InshaAllah we’ll always be this close.

Allah karay aisa hi ho…good luck with that

My dad's side is like that...bizarre!

I still call my sister moto and retard after her shadi and now my BIL helps out too :p

Quite opposite is happening with me.

After my marriage, nearly a month ago - my wife has great relationship with my parents & siblings. Actually she didn't even wanted to leave Pakistan even for 2 weeks just to meet her family in Italia.

I received calls from my mom & sister, to send her back like a month later when she lands in NY. I am not like living with both brothers from more then 5 years now, just over the phone or internet - but whenever we meet we are just like before. People come and go, but the most important are those who are part of your life - Parents & siblings are one of them.

But hey maybe it's depend on everybody home environment, i was hoping for some star plus kind a episodes with mom/wife - but my dreams :(

You're misunderstanding what I said. I get along great with my sisters and there is by no means a "formal" "proper" relationship between us. Much like you described, alhamdolillah, I get along great with my BILs and their families (parents, siblings). Even so far as my BILs will argue with my sisters and take my side over theirs - we're all friends as well as family.

BUT despite all of that, I will not interfere/comment on their lives that are private as I may have done when my sisters were single. And even if it's a matter that is just between the two of us, I will consider the matter as being one that her husband also has a say in because they're a unit and as a couple, they do not hide things from one another. Again, it's not about formality or takaluf, it's about lehaaz.

firenze, this is bizarre… how come i agree with most of your posts these days? Bhabi ne daanta tha? :silly:

This is the way it should be. Even my parents don’t interfere in my sister’s life as much now.

oh irish eyes.. .oh irish eyes .. :gadha:

So i wont be able to curse my sister like crazy when she gets married? Thats so unfair :naak:

My little sister is a punk.

i think for me it got stronger? Although iam careful for when i say something because i dont want to hurt her when i speak of her inlaws etc. i love her baby more than her:snooty:

Mine has not changed at all, when we are togther we act all mature for about 5 minutes then we all regress to our teens and start behave in a very immature manner. I'm the youngest at 27 the oldest is 42, yet last time I arrived at my moms I had a water bomb thrown at me and my coffee spiked with salt.

My brother and I are more civil to each other, he no longer makes snarky mean comments at me and I no longer cry when he does. :naak: