Relationship Gifts…..

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering what you thought about when a couple break up? What would you do with all the gifts that you were given? All those cuddly toys, perfumes, jewellery, pictures and cards. Especially the pictures as they might have sent you - best ones of themselves so you can keep them. Would you return them? Would you keep them? What about the jewellery that you were given? If you wear it, its always going to bring back memories. This goes especially regarding the perfumes and jewellery. Would you throw these all these away?

If the other person means so much to you – what would you do with the gifts?

Views from both guys and gals would be appreciated. Guys, what would you do? If your girlfriends, fiancés or someone you love break up with you, what would you do with the presents?

sigh

Re: Relationship Gifts…..

Leave no doubt… get rid of the gifts he gave you!

Do you really care about the gifts? :hoonh: Is it less painful to you that you broke up with the one you love so much???

hmmm i dunno.. dont throw them away

put them all in a box and just put them away.... i dunno to me it would be kinda disrespectful to throw the stuff away...

hmm

Send back pictures and other important things. And throw the rest away. If you keep memories in a box in a corner of your room your conscious knows that the box is in your presence....that will give you a reason to look at the stuff given to you and cry. Why cry all your life when you know its over? You should move on with life, doesn't mean in another relationship, but you can't cry all your life. I know kay yaadein tho dil mein ho thi hain lekin jo cheez samnay ho thi hain wo ziada yaad dilla thi hain.
Everyone has their own opinions. And I think it really matters how deep the relationship was. The deeper it is the harder it is to get rid of the stuff because sometimes those items become a part of your life that you don't realize it. But other things you remember were given to you. Really it depends on individuals and how much they can handle.

you see thats the problem. I love him alot. If its not working out and the relationship is coming apart, then why should i keep memories of it. He is going to move on...I am going to move on...

Ofcourse, the pictures are going to be returned but I dont really want to keep the gifts in a box. As Pyaari83 said, it would only steer me towards it and bring back all the memories and I am already a very emotional person. It doesnt take much to make me cry...

Yar, help me out here girls. What do you think I should do? It would also hurt me that he put so much thought into the stuff that he bought me and now i am being so selfish that i am thinking of discarding everything.

How do you know what he's done with the gifts u gave him?

i have no idea. I have given him gifts that are daily use to him - ie ties, cuff links, watch etc. To me he has given me the usual perfumes, jewellery, books, cds etc...

I suppose he would keep mine and would not dispose of them as he can use them whereas mine are not for daily use.

Does that make sense. I duno yar, i dont even know what i am saying half the time - i am just at a break-up stage! Its killing me.

As a guy, I believe it is my duty to try to hock whatever gifts I've gotten. As for her, she'd better keep my gifts displayed all around her place.

Maybe you can keep them in a little box, tucked away somewhere. And when you are totally over him, throw them away, burry them in your backyard or something (i know thats a cheesy idea!). About jewellery, I dont know: can you return it to him if its gold or some other expensive piece? Phir uska sar dard hai woh kia karay uska.

Oh nahey ho sukta is tera. Otherwise, i will always go towards the box and look through the stuff and the memories will keep flooding back.
The jewellery is not gold btw. It silver, as that was our fav colour. well mine anyway!

Why did i get involved in this kind of relationship? Never ever again!!!

have a bonfire outside somewhere and chuck everything in it :-p no seriously, i mean it...i've been with friends in that situation and we've done that and it has really helped them move on...

I would just return the gifts that I still have - pictures, cuddly toys, jewelry, clothes, etc. There is no point in keeping them and having to re-live those memories.

sell em :k:

and burn the pics :k:

Thanks everyone for your words.

But DP, i love him to much to burn his pictures. Id rather return them and let him keep them with himself as it is still his property.

Thank you so much for your suggestions. Kya Kya kerna perta hai upnay pyar kay leeay is duniya mai…

ebay.com - :)

haha

gud idea but nope! im not that harsh!

Send emto his /her new boy/girl friend. :D

With a note, "I wont be needing them. Enjoy"

If you don’t want to be harsh then whatever money you make off his gifts donate it to some charity in Allah’s name and inshaAllah you will get into a better relationship next time :slight_smile: (just a suggestion)

sigh

Are you Munni with another nick? :hoonh:

give em back their pics, the ones without u n burn rest of the stuff