Relations with non-Muslims

“Believers, remain steadfast for Allah bearing witness of justice. Do not allow your hatred for another nation to turn you away from justice. Deal justly, that is closer to true piety.”
(Al-Maaidah 5: 8)

This is a response from a scholar on the question on the type of relations a muslim can have with non-muslims. I hope you find it interesting. For your convenience the article is given below the link.

http://www.understanding-islam.com/rs/s-028.htm

Relations With non-Muslims

I am residing in Dubai in an apartment complex where all my neighbours are either Hindus or christians. Islam emphasises a lot on the rights of neighbours but due to our deep rooted hatered against Hindus specially, we do not understand how to keep any type of a contact with them.

If we totally cut them off then how can they ever know about Islam. Can we go to their place and eat with them etc.

I am sure that you understand my question.

There is nothing in the directives of Islam that stops us from making friends with people of other religions. We must show respect and kindness towards all mankind. I do agree with you that a friendly contact with people of other religions, whether they be Christians, Jews, Hindus or of any other faith can play a significant role in their understanding of Islam and vice versa. And there is absolutely no doubting the fact that it is primarily the understanding of the other person’s beliefs that makes one interested in considering its strong (as well as weak) points.

The Qur’an has very specifically directed us to act very kindly and nobly with our parents and relatives, with the orphans in the society, with the needy, with our neighbours, with our companions in a journey and with the way-farers (travelers), irrespective of their faith and belief. The Qur’an says:

“And worship Allah and do not associate any thing [as partner] with Him. And act righteously with parents, and also with your relatives and the orphans and the needy and the neighbours who are related to you and [also] the neighbours who are not related to you, and the companions by your side and the travelers…”
(Al-Nisa’ 4: 36)

It must be noted that the Qur’an has directed us to act righteously with all those that have been mentioned in the verse without any qualification of their religion or beliefs.

A number of Muslim scholars hold that the Qur’an has prohibited Muslims from developing friendly relations with the peoples of other religions and therefore we must not have a friendly relationship with Jews, Christians, Hindus or the people of any other religion. The relevant verses of the Qur’an from which this point of view has been derived are:

A’l `imra’n 3: 118; 
 Al-Nisa’ 4: 144; 
 Al-Ma’idah 5: 51; 
 Al-Ma’idah 5: 57; and 
 Al-Mumtahinah 60: 1 

In these verses, the Muslims have been stopped from developing a relationship of trust and reliance with the Jews, Christians and all others who rejected the call of Islam - the Kuffar – or the infidels.

As I see it, the opinion of the Muslim scholars who, on the basis of these verses, prohibit the Muslims from developing friendly relations with peoples of other religions is highly questionable. If you look at all the above verses in their proper context, you shall see that all these verses pertain to those people, whether Jews, Christians or the Polytheists of Arabia, who had come into direct or hidden confrontation with Islam and the Muslims. The Qur’an, in effect, has directed the Muslims that in these circumstances (of confrontation and war), they must not give away their secrets (Bitanah) to these people and must not make them friends, preferring them over the Muslims (min duni’l-mumini’n). Obviously, the directive given in these circumstances cannot be generalized.

In my opinion, therefore, under normal circumstances, there is nothing wrong with making friends and having a comfortable relationship with people of other religions. It is only when this relationship can be harmful for the Muslims, in general, that it has been prohibited.

There is nothing wrong with eating at your friends’ places, provided that whatever is being eaten does not fall under the category of har’am (prohibited) food.

I hope this helps.

Regards.

The Learner

They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?

“And worship Allah and do not associate any thing [as partner] with Him. And act righteously with parents, and also with your relatives and the orphans and the needy and the neighbours who are related to you and [also] the neighbours who are not related to you, and the companions by your side and the travelers…”(Al-Nisa’ 4: 36)

SubhanAllah

Thanks for posting this.

Yet guys,
with regard to this Ayah, why do some of us muslims still 'look down' at the non-muslims round then...? We totally label them as sleeze bags...
So some of us basically contradict our own teachings. Right?

with regard to this Ayah, why do some of us muslims still 'look down' at the non-muslims round then...? We totally label them as sleeze bags

Wow !! i didn't know that "sleeze bags" thanks for being honest.... in future i will try not to bother any muslim....

i second dat…we have to open our minds and treat non muslims equally…

A bend in da road is not da end of da road:)
chk out ma website
http://ammars.4t.com

Right.

I think alot of people fail to realize, or overlook these qualities of islam, sometimes even deliberately ignoring them. And there is no excuse for that at all in my opinion. It stems from pride i think, from people believing they are better than everyone else, that they are ‘incomparable’…subhanAllah…and that is totally wrong, i mean who are we to judge? Who are we at all? We don’t know what is the heart of the person next to us, we don’t know what their intentions are, what their convictions are, sure maybe we can gather a little bit from their actions,etc…but thats nothing. I mean alright they aren’t muslims, maybe they aren’t even people of the book, BUT they are people, people Allah swt has blessed with a conscience, with moral sense to distinguish right from wrong, a mind with which to gather knowledge, no different from us…alhamdulillah…even if they aren’t muslim now, how can u say they wont be tomorrow, or next week, or a few years from now?

rueful smile I got lots more i could say, but i gotta run. Remember, Be kind for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle. And only Allah swt knows best.

Fee AmaanAllah

you will be treated same way you treat other
people . this is common sense.

Rani, i don't literally mean name calling non-muslims sleeze bags. I basically winged that term as to how some non muslims are looked down upon by some of muslims in particular. Not literally!
But with some of the things i hear/see from other's......sadly, that's the set image losers set of others.

I dunno, sometimes, some of us muslims who kinda unfortunately have a 1-D understanding of Islam seem to put others down almost due to an ego boost thing -- against ppl who belong to other creeds or whatever. Almost as if....they envy them..in one way or another.
& if you didnt' envy them, like you had no reason to, then you'd totally have nothing against them & basically get along with them. It's when you hold something against someone, you're obviously going to have a problem against them then.

Oh, 1 thing to note though guys, true how practically all of us in this thread will agree to the idea of "getting along with non-muslims" to a certain extent. Though, think about it, exactly it won't be very often someone posting in this thread something like: Non-Muslims aren't worth of the relation to a muslim. No one's gonna want admit to that in a thread like this...

kohal,

You make a valid point. To verbally say something and to believe it in one's heart are two entirely different things.

There are many that will agree to it and then turn around and practice otherwise.

I wouldn't bet on nobody admitting it here though. There are members present that will tell you very plainly that they are not friends with non-Muslims and that they would not extend them any kind of welcome. In my opinion....that is only sad.

Bismillah ir Rahman ir Raheem!
Aslam u Alikum muslimeen wa muslimaat!

Thank you for enlighting us with a beautiful thread! I really do agree on that we should have friendly relationship with our non-muslim peers , co-workers umm neighbours etc etc.. I have been a strong advocate of getting more proactive in inter-faith programs. Recently our Myna (musilm youth of north america) started participating in this interfaith group. Its honestly been one of the most rewarding things. Its really amazing me how ignorant and naive some other kids my age are. One would think a college student would know about Islam. I mean 1.2 billion muslims on this planet. However, I have come to the conclusion that somewhere along the line we have to draw a LINE. Be nice , gentle , honest, caring yada yada yada with non-muslims but keep a nice cushion between yourself and them. From expierence being nice with a neighbor, who is a drug addict is not an easy thing. Well i am sorry i dont respect druggies. I cant do that.
Well my point is that you have to be careful of who you befriend. Its nice to be NICE to "them". But thats how far I would go. By saying this I am not implying that as a human being I am better then non-muslims but as a Muslim I sure am.

Originally posted by kohal:
Yet guys,
with regard to this Ayah, why do some of us muslims still 'look down' at the non-muslims round then...? We totally label them as sleeze bags...
So some of us basically contradict our own teachings. Right?

I think this problem of rascism is not religous,certainly not in islam,&it is not limited to muslim but aethist &non aethists alike.Some ppl. have ego problem,that has somethiong to do with psychology & there for biological science & not theology.
I think the article brings out an information,not appreciated by non muslims in predominantly muslim countries.The indian ppl. atleast 88% of them are aware oftouchables & untouchables,due to casteism,vegeterianism,place of woship,just plain prejudice against other group of ppl.In the mid east there are large number of hindu & christian indian,because of the conditioning back home ,they have trepedition whether or not it will be proper to touch a muslim or his plates etc.It is ignorence & lack of experience dealing with muslims.ONe of the great life experience you get is living in a dorm with multi ethnic cultural group of ppl.You could never get that education at home or living in your part of the world segregated isolated.I have lived with in same dorm with hindu sikh,christian,parsi,shia,almost except native indian

Assalamu alaykum,
Being raised as a non-muslim I think that it is important to keep relations with non-muslims for the important fact that who knows when one day they can become your brother or sister-in-islam through keeping your company? The reason I became a muslim is because I had other muslims always hanging around with me. They participated in all the activities that I participated in when I was not a muslim and they grew closer to me. The closer they got to me, the more I was interested in learning more about Islam.
And now alhamdulillah I have been muslim since 3 years.

Salaams Pakiice- which myna are you talking about???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

they have? they never did when i was there, geez. they were like the top promoters of seperatism in my day, so that’s interesting.

about the ignorance- its true- i’ve seen/counselled girls who have gone to islamic schools all their lives, and have no idea about a lot of things. they have no concept of male-female friendships either, and i think that is bad, because it hinders relationships later in life…they become fearful of men!

and, they come to college campuses only befriending muslims, (i mean, i’m at a big university, mashallah there ARE so many muslims, but seriously!). that’s even more upsetting to me.

i’m pretty much done with myna (are you going to the thanxgiving re-treat btw? i doubt i am). still, i’m glad that an organization is moving in this direction. someone needs to.

this is an interesting topic. i like everyone’s replies!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

play on.

I agree with most of people here, everybody responded really well. I hope we can keep bringing up this kinds of topics. This enlightens our Iman and tells us different points of view! and I am sure one day there will be a lot of non muslim reading these sites and I am sure that will allow them to learn about Islam and true Islam. I believe we should have good relationship with non-muslims otherwise how would they know about Islam!!!!!! Hope to see more topics like this.

Zara,

Welcome to Gupshup! Its great to meet new people like yourself here and who can share their experiences with everybody else.

I was somewhat surprised at the positive replies that this thread generated because I was afraid that people were going to think “Oh no! Not another cut&paste job!”

Then again, maybe I shouldn’t speak too soon on that…

You ppl have already said it all… thanks ever so much for your good thoughts.

From experience I really hate it when some people who think they are good muslims constantly interrupt conversations and then keep on talking forever without regard for other person(s), and then when somebody tries to reply, the talker shuts him/her up and tells them off for interrupting! You’ve already seen behaviour like this here in this forum… against both fellow muslims and non-Muslims. As you have already so kindly commented upon, Islam does not at all endorse this behaviour at all.

I won’t go as far as to call them hypocrites but there is some arrogance factor there - they constantly seek attention… sometimes at the expense of others…

Somebody once said to me that good, constructive discussion is like trade. Trade exists because both buyers and sellers mutually benefit… it is not a zero-sum game… People who direct the conversation by interrupting turn the whole thing into a zero-sum game… suddenly others just aren’t interested because it’s not a two way process anymore.

The arrogant talker always sees a discussion as some sort of battle or war - one side can only win when the other side loses. This is not the first time that this has been pointed out in this forum.

Anyway (Sorry, I didn’t mean to bore you), it is heartening to see that the initial post is a topic which is so near and dear to the hearts of many people here at Gupshup especially since I’ve frequently seen many muslims come into contact with non-Muslims and for some unjustifiable reason (at least to me) these non-Muslims are automatically condemned by our lot as kuffars and mushriks and the like.

Which is what I would like us to discuss here… if that is OK with everybody else. I will forward the same scholar’s point of view in the following post…

Thanks again, to everybody for their positive thoughts…

OK… here we go… another cut&paste job!

This is another question and answer problem. The article has been reproduced for your convenience below the link. I should add that this may be a topic on which opinions will differ according to our own backgrounds and I also expect that there may be some members who will be in disagreement with the scholar’s opinion. I should also add that I agree with the opinion itself. I hope you find this interesting because I feel it relates strongly to the initial post of this thread.

http://www.understanding-islam.com/ro/or-011.htm

**Are Christians ‘Mushrik’ (Polytheists) or ‘Kaafirs’ (Rejecters)? **

Should Christians be considered as *Mushrik * because they worship the person of Jesus Christ, and there is no forgiveness for that as Allah told us [in the Qur’an]. Or Kaafir because Allah tells us that everyone who attributes to god a son is a Kaafir.

Before I answer your specific question, it would be appropriate to first take a close look at the two terms “Mushrik” and “Kaafir”, as only after that can we say whether the Christians, Jews or adherents of any other religion fall in these categories or not.

Let us first take the term “Kaafir”. “Kaafir” in the Arabic language means “rejecter”. The term “Kaafir”, normally taken to be synonymous with “non-Muslim” or “non-believer” is quite different from the two terms. A “non-Muslim”, obviously, is a person who does not adhere to the Muslim faith. Thus, all those who do not ascribe to the Muslim faith are “non-Muslims”. A “non-believer”, generally used for a person who does not believe in God and the Day of Judgment. “Kaafir”, on the other hand, is a person who knowingly rejects the truth. A person may not believe in some ‘truth’ for a number of reasons. For instance, he may not be fully convinced of some aspect of that ‘truth’ or he may have some doubts in his mind regarding that truth. However, if all doubts are removed from his mind and he becomes fully convinced of that truth, yet he persists in not accepting it or persists in ascribing to a wrong belief after becoming certain of its incorrectness, he then becomes a “Kaafir” and is no longer just a “non-Muslim” or a “non-believer”.

In other words, all those people who persist in not accepting Islam after being fully convinced that Islam is the true religion of the Almighty or persist in ascribing to a false belief after being convinced of its incorrectness are “Kaafirs” or rejecters of the truth. All others for our purposes are “non-Muslims” or “non-believers”.

This explanation, if considered closely, should clarify the fact that we cannot call anyone a “Kaafir” unless we have absolute knowledge of the reasons for his rejection of faith (or Islam), which we do not possess. Thus, for the purpose of this world, we should not call anyone a “Kaafir”. It is only God, Who with His absolute knowledge can declare someone a “Kaafir”. No one besides God possesses the knowledge that is essential to declare someone a “Kaafir”.

Thus, we know on the basis of God’s declaration in the Qur’an that the Jews and the Christians (and those ascribing to other faiths) during the time of the Prophet (pbuh) refused to believe in the Prophet (pbuh) even after being fully convinced of his prophethood and were therefore termed “Kaafir” by the Almighty. As far as the Jews and the Christians of later times are concerned, we do not have adequate knowledge of the reasons for their rejection to term them “Kaafir”. God, on the Day of Judgment, shall give the decision regarding these Jews and Christians. Those, among them, who refused to accept Islam and the prophethood of Mohammed (pbuh), although they were fully convinced of it being the truth, shall stand in the category of “Kaafir” on the Day of Judgment.

The term “Mushrik”, like the term “Kaafir” has also been slightly misused. It is not just ascribing to a polytheistic belief that makes a person a “Mushrik”. According to the Qur’an, “Mushrik” is one who ascribes partners to God. Christians, though ascribe to a polytheistic belief, do not ascribe partners to God. They believe that there is only one god and He does not have any partners. Yet they ascribe to a belief, which in the eyes of the Muslims and according to the Qur’an is a polytheistic belief. Christians, according to the Qur’an, would have been called “Mushrik” had they believed that ascribing a son to God is a polytheistic belief and would still have held that belief.

The above should also explain why the Qur’an, even though it has pointed out that the Jews and the Christians of the times of the Prophet (pbuh) ascribe to some polytheistic beliefs has not addressed them as “Mushrik”. The Qur’an has only addressed the Banu-Ishmael and other Arab polytheists who clearly ascribed to polytheism by the term “Mushrik” (as should be clear from Al-Baqarah 2: 105, Aal Imraan 3: 67, Surah Al-Taubah 9: 1 – 33, Al-Bayyinah 98: 1).

In the light of the above explanation, in my opinion, the Christian should not be called “Mushrik” or “Kaafir”. We may say that Christians ascribe to polytheistic beliefs but should not call them polytheists, as the Qur’an has not called them polytheists.

Likewise, we can call them “non-Muslims”, but should not call them “Kaafir”, as we do not know who among them has knowingly rejected Islam and who has not accepted Islam because he was not convinced of it being the final truth from God.

I hope this helps. In case any aspect of my answer remains unclear, please feel free in writing back to me at your own convenience.

May the Almighty guide us all to the path of His liking.

Regards

The Learner

Yet when I tell some of my fellow muslims about this opinion, they refuse to accept it and still remain hard-hearted toward non-Muslims in general. Why?

[This message has been edited by Mr Partypooper (edited October 25, 2000).]

Aslam u Alikum Muslimeen was Muslimaat.
Alhamdullilah Hamdaan Khatheeraan..'

Sister Bharysh... hmm what state do you reside in?? Alhamdullilah as far as our Sister's Myna group of Cleveland is concerned, we have been really persistant on interfaith activites as well as serving our communites. By doing habitat for humanity, various soup kitchens and similar things.. Now our biggest goal for Ramadan inshaAllah is to have a hunger drive for our muslim brothers and sisters in immediate help with food and other necessites in Ohio. So we are planning to work from inside out.. But the point is that different myna groups have differnt views depending on who they are run by. you know what i am saying? Alhamdullilah we are blessed with wonderful youth group advisors and sisters who are efficient and on the right track as far as deen is concerned. But let me tell you its not an easy thing to run a myna group. I have been the president for our Myna since April and with the help of right kind of people and officers, we have exceled(Alhamdulillah). But you as a 'kindda' Myna group member should work on your group by offering different ideas and basically carving the right path for future youth to follow. WE really do need people to act upon their words instead of just saying things. InshaAllah Allah(swt) blesses everyone with knowledge and you my sister have a responsibility on you shoulders. So Good Luck.

Brother partypooper... I do agree with the Scholar. But before I begin I want to state that my knowledge about Islam is not even a drop of water in an ocean. So if I offend anyone or anything else. May Allah(swt) forgive me.
WE really have no right to declare anyone Kafir or Mushrik. Because only Allah(swt) knows eveything. But one thing that really bothers me is that yeah Christianity is a Monothestic religion but by trinity is'nt it a polythestic religion. By believing in God, Gesus and Holy spirt. Anyways just a Q.. if anyone would care to elaborate?

Yet when I tell some of my fellow muslims about this opinion, they refuse to accept it and still remain hard-hearted toward non-Muslims in general. Why?

Pride, bitterness, to name a few reasons. But they are not excusable...

Pristine, muslims are human afterall, and therefore, susceptible to same emotions, same biases, same predjudices...Guys in no way am i saying that the above it right, i am a hundred percent against it...just trying to explain 'why' i guess wry smile

Rani. I learned from thing from reading many of your posts.

You are always waiting for a chance to literally "catch" something anyone says on here and take it against them, when it's simply a figure of speech. ie; "sleeze bag".

Honestly, Rani. You really think you never considered Muslims "sleeze bags" at one point? In reference, how many times have you heard your fellow Hindu, or even Sikh refer to Muslims as "Sullah's?", or even you using that degradtory word?.
Be realistic, everyone from a different faith tends to feel pity for people of other faiths, it's just natural.

And having respect for the sake that we're on Gupshup on Pak.Org, and us being non-muslims, and really on chat forums, that I've seen in Hindu and Sikh chat forums where even a person saying he's muslim would be immediately banned.
We should have a bit of respect for our Muslim brothers (although they may not consider us brothers), because at least on this chat forum we're allowed to express our views, fully..but either way. We're guests, on pak.org to learn about all our cultural and religious differences, peacefully, and if sleeze bags is what they think of us, they have a right to their opinion, and our to our own.

But, bro. Take it easy, because you're really just reading posts to find something to catch and argue about (that's what I see). You remind me of myself, looking for a reason for a debate.

Arai

Zara, in no offence, and with the utmost respect. I find that when a person converts his beliefs and his/her religion is a lack of character and strength. If you will, being whatever religion you were previously, obviously states that since the day you converted, that maybe hundreds or even thousands of years, your ancestors strived to remain what they were. Your religion isn't what you believe in, but for Indians really, it's who you are!! To convert to any religion for that matter, is to convery your weaknesses and give into external influences. I am not saying what you did is wrong, but from a view of many, even Muslims they can simply say you're a weak minded person (Muslims, if you don't understand what I mean, consider it from the viewpoint of a Muslim converting to any other religion besides Islam, you will most definitely look down on that.)

Alot of people claim to be much happier thinking they have found the truth. But what they really found is their lack of will and maintenance in who they are, and simply they have an identity crisis, or are simply peer pressured into what they did or what they're doing (in your example, heavy influence from muslim friends). This is another reason why it's more common to see people convert to Islam, than Muslims converting elsewhere. Because, Islam has a strategic brotherhood and Muslims stick together closer than any other faith, and you simply fell into that net.

Arai