Reema Khan 'Love Mein Ghum'

Re: Reema Khan 'Love Mein Ghum'

I can say that ek do people chose to watch Bhai log after Bodyguard but no one wanted to watch Love mein Ghum. People who don't like Indian films and had seen all the english ones went for Bhai log even on Eid etc...abbi ka pata nahi*

What "nonsense excuses"? IDK if it's the best film in the whole world i am not going to buy a plane ticket to see a film...where's the logic in that? I will support the film industry as much as is possible e.g. Bol is showing in a nearby town and I'm going to watch it. There is nothing wrong in supporting a film before it's release, people on this thread didn't force others to watch it so stop the accusations. If LMG was released in the UK I would definitely give it a try, others may not and that's their choice. It's a free world.

Lastly it is you that's ranting and demanding that people "scan their tickets" as evidence...stupidity has its boundaries.

*These same nonsense excuses that you just gave. If you knew you wouldn't be able to watch the film you should have kept your big trap shut rather then ranting about people should first go watch the film and then judge and not judge before watching it. If people can support a film and say it looks like a good film before its release then others have the right to say that it doesn't seem impressive to them. What kind of psycho logic do you have? Go read previous threads if your still unaware...there were so many people saying that one should watch it first...first of all make some sense...did you agree with me when i said I don't like the film because of its trailers that you would listen to me when I ask you to come to Pakistan just to watch this film that you're already giving me these lame excuses again!

Supporting our industry doesn't mean to just go and watch every other stupid film thats made and released! Everyone went to watched KKL, and now Bol because they looked appealing even if they're depressing and preachy. If you and others who claim to support the industry by just watching this film then go ahead and watch gujjar films as well who the hell is stopping you? if people have an opinion about gujjar films and people are okay with that then they should have accepted that to some people this film wasn't appealing either. And the verdict is in front of everyone. Not many people went. they could have after watching the Indian films but they didn't because they didn't want to. This film had nothing new to offer...all this we've seen in Indian films who wants to watch similar dance sequences etc made with a lower budget and less experience.

It is because all of a sudden people like you claiming to watch the film and support died! Isn't this stupid that the people who knew they wont be able to watch the film because they live abroad claimed to watch the film before giving any negative opinions... criticize people for giving their opinions without being bias after watching the film. I haven't seen Body Guard nor have I seen the other Indian film so i didn't avoid watching this film for some Indian film so there's no question about me not wanting to support the industry or being a die hard Bollywood fan but i refuse to waist my halal ki money over ruddi films like this one masla hai toh jakay tarpo! *

Excuse me! You shut your own rude trap first. I have never stopped people from giving their opinions whether positive or negative. Understood? Capiche?

Have you even followed this thread??? I have and all you seem to talk about is 'om shanti om'.

Well done for not watching an Indian film what do you want a medal for that? Your so-called patriotism is misplaced so go release your frustrations in life on something else and quit being a keyboard warrior. We're obviously going round in circles here and I am sick of repeating myself so I don't want to discuss this matter further thanks.

Calm down people. Sheesh!

Let's take a minute and mourn the demise of the movie that we had been hearing about for the last 3 years or so.

Haven't seen Reema since Eid when she was on all morning shows.

Re: Reema Khan ‘Love Mein Ghum’

Here is a review from today making fun of LMG.

Here is another bad review with mixed reader comments at the bottom:

http://www.dawn.com/2011/09/11/premiere-of-love-life-and-taffeta-gowns.html

Aside from the regular jibes there is some constructive criticism in this review. I hope Reema takes note.

*Well excuse me, whatever you said has been lame so far so no one is going to even listen to you! so keep the khushfehmiyas to yourself.

When an Indian filmmaker rips Pakistani songs, one sees people like you ranting about them not giving credits to the original. Now when this guy whose always made the actresses to do the shimmy in all the gujjer film songs all of a sudden comes up with so many stars coming together and entering and acting exactly the way they do in Om Shanti Om then i don’t think i would give some other movies reference its you who keeps on saying things that make no sense at all not me.

Still don’t get why i keep on talking about Om shanti Om. well people with a little honesty and sense can easily understand that the title song is easily copied from that film:
**And while on the subject, Reema sure sets the screen on fire with the item number, Love Mein Gumm. Though a blatant rip-off of Deewangi Deewangi from Farah Khan’s Om Shanti Om,
**http://www.dawn.com/2011/09/11/premiere-of-love-life-and-taffeta-gowns.html

People should learn to accept things both ways. If they copy no one who knows denies. So if she took that concept then there’s nothing wrong with accepting it either. She shouldn’t have. Why would people not compare or notice if the film is still there in their memories..copy karni he thi to less popular, puranay ganay ki karti recent ka kyun kiya, jo we get to see playing on T.v. every other day.

Medal from someone who is not even worth anything, I don’t think so. Why don’t you keep that medal to yourself for saying the most nonsense things with so much confidence. You obviously don’t understand a thing thats said so yeah i can understand if you say stupid things out of context again and again. Where did you even get this idea from that I am being patriot? Its people like you and all the others who wanted everyone to support this film if they’re Pakistanis and not be die hard bollywood fans. The ones who accused others of judging the film even when its only obvious that everyone judges all kinds of movies regardless of where they were made looking at the trailers but here they just wanted us to give good opinions and not say what we wanted so this patriot line that you used suits you better. Hah! dekha end mein you just helped me…maybe because I am right. You feel that way because of your lack of understanding…sure I’ll wait and see if you can avoid replying. Ciao.*

Yeh toh hona he tha. If people can go watch depressing movies like Bol and KKL to show their support and also tell the film makers that we don't want to see anything that we've seen being produced by bollywood before. We have access to their movies for that kind of entertainment; So we expect our film makers to make something original and say that this is the difference between our Pakistani movies and Bollywood films...but people like Javed Sheikh and Reema have to put in the Indian film touch to it again and again. They think that the formula of making a hit film is to make it like the Indian films, put some flop indian actor, either call Indian dance teachers for their songs or just copy their dance steps and put them here and there in their own...add a sikh/indian character and you will get people to watch this...guess what that aint happening! No one wants to watch cheap versions of bollywood films made in Pakistan just for the sake of showing their support. We want something new like what Shoaib Mansoor has to offer but it can be light and entertaining unlike his films. Thats all I am trying to say over here which people never understood but they did misunderstand.
If i say things like this without even watching the film then I am a bollywood chamcha and everyone is ready with their daggers pointing at me but if someone else says the same stuff just because they went to waste their money to watch this film and then got the opportunity to say it on such forums then they're right. Meinay kiya kaha tha yehi na that this film has a lot of Indian thing going in it which we can easily watch by going for bollywood flicks so Reema should have made something different that had Pakistani feel to it phir lakh galtio kay baad bhi people would have gone to watch this film just like they did to watch khuda kay liyeh.*

Bollywood imitation has been in Pakistani films for a long time and we all agree it is unacceptable - this point has been made countless times on Showbiz Pak. However people must understand that the industry is very small so at this point you are not going to get a variety of films yet. If Bol was too hard-hitting and LMG too similar to Bolly then you have got limited choice already. Patience is needed, things will only improve with time.

Those comparing Saqib Malik’s promo song for LMG to other recent films I have given my explanation in post #117

Saqib Malik in a recent interview spoke on this matter:

***“You can’t ignore Om Shanti Om because in Pakistan, everyone’s cinematic sensibility comes from Bollywood. So their point of reference is Indian cinema,” says Saqib and explains, “But the point is that this idea of putting a lot of celebrities together for one song is a very old idea. It’s been done in many, many Hollywood films back in the ‘30s and ‘40s in a lot of black and white films. It was done in a Pakistani film, Haseeno Ki Baraat and there was a big song in this film where the entire film industry of that era was present and this was 10 years before Om Shanti Om. Shah Rukh Khan didn’t come up with this idea.”

http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/sep2011-weekly/nos-11-09-2011/instep/mainarticle.asp***

*I never said that a film should be totally original. But then again, if its a Pakistani film it shouldn’t have Indian-ish touch to it…thats all. This film looked to me as if it was a low buget bollywood film. Even Bollywood people rip hollywood movies etc but they have their touch to it…they even copy scenes and translate word to word dialogs but still they have an Indian/bollywood touch to it. This film disappointed me and all the people who had this same opinion because of that reason only. No one wants them to make intense films like Bol just to be different. But my point is that is this all these people can come up with in the name of revival of cinema. One guy who has made shows like fifty fifty only makes depressing films and now if Reema decided to make films to save the industry then she should do it by making it original but still keep it commercial. No one was against her making a commercial film. But this film and story of love found love lost and so forth has been done a lot of times in bollywood and even in Pakistani films…even bollywood tries to make changes to these same old stale stories and plots.

Look at it this way. You have Indian dramas that got really popular and had vamps wearing heavy cheap saris and jewelry. But Pakistani dramas before and even now have class. But there were some dramas who took the Indian route and didn’t succeed why because people would rather watch the originals that have all that shown in a better way then the low budget dramas that were copied. And now people who want to watch the Indian dramas watch them but others love Pakistani dramas because they get a variety that way. Pakistani dramas have Pakistani touch its not about vamps and conspiracies, they have different material every time. Even though its the same language, same brown people but they make it look different and the dramas show our society. The kind of environment we live in, be it paposh nagar or defense area…be it the difference between the two classes, their life styles etc..its all what we see… I am sure if Reema would have thought about it and done something like that this film would have done so much better. For now this film looks like a slightly upgraded yet down market wannabe film. Only if the film looked Pakistani enough…something people could say low budget hai magar at least its different from Indian films and its our product I am sure it would have done good regardless of the flaws. Now it has come to this point that they’ve started copying our Pakistani CLASSIC dramas like Dhoop Kinaray…yeh hota hai kamal but even when they copy the whole thing they put their Indian look/feel to it and stretch it like always…nakal mein bhi akal ki zaroorat hoti hai.

And coming to Om Shanti Om, its not only the idea of bringing all the stars together but also the steps are kind of similar - the feel of the whole song is similar… Look at when they say Om Shanti Om that step and the Love mein Ghum step…because of the wordings the actual step has been copied but still the steps are very very similar. In that song SRK goes to all the stars and dances with them then they come together and dance and same is done in this song as well, Reema goes to everyone and dances with them etc. Bringing stars together has been done in music videos to. Even Amitab Bachans movie dont know what the name was but the song was John Johnny Janardhan… http://youtu.be/PJjMtDxGPMo but it still looks different because it has been choreographed differently.*

My advice to Reema for the future if there is a future for her ever making a film again ( she claimed she sold her jewelry and property to finance this project, which in itself is a bad move - people should just watch the movie out of kindness of heart ? ):

1. Just be the producer.
  2. Pay Saqib Malik to direct the movie. He is dying to do that for years.
  3. Get some other good, younger actress to play the central character and show herself in a more appropriate role or a special appearance. There are several upcoming youger and pretty actresses on TV these days who should be on the big screen.

The movie has done well at the multiplexes, it is still running I don't know you guys are writing it off.

What did you expect ?

You have been MIA with your review. (Plus its only getting what 2 shows a day on one screen ?)