Red Lipstick

I recently purchased a few lipsticks in the ‘red’ family all from mac such as russian red, ruby woo and diva. I wore ruby woo recently at a family party and got told off for wearing lipstick by some old aunty because apprarently your only supposed to wear red when your married.

Cringeeeeeeeeee

and this wasnt the first time.

But yeah, why is red lipstick SO looked down upon amongst Asians, namely pakistanis. especially in the west. bleurgh.

Re: Red Lipstick

I purposefully wear red and fushias at friend's weddings and parties and bring out the light tones for the family. Apparently unmarried girls who wear red lipstick are very 'fast' and that perception could hamper potential rishtas. Who knew.

Oh god are you serious? Who actually thinks like that now? I see fashionista single girls sporting everything these days. I think the old school thought could be its to "bold" for a single girl. But I did get Aunties telling me I should be wearing more red after I got married, I'm more a neautral girl. People are just silly for saying these things out loud in our culture..

^ i've heard the same too! girls should not wear dark or bright colors until they are married...

What a Jahil aunty :rolleyes: I’d punch her in the face if anyone says it to my daughters…I have never heard of this before, growing up no one ever said to me or my sister, we strutted around with our parents, and no one dared to peep a word to us; my dad is bit of a bad ass, he can’t stand typical Desi mentality and tells people off left right centre :hehe:

Seriously these type of people piss me off who have to ruin other people’s social outings for their own petty beliefs…

Don’t stop because someone else said so…

Now back to the lipsticks…Love Ruby woo, I wore it last summer to a wedding, such a beautiful shade…I have russian red but haven’t gotten around to putting that one on yet

I wanted to wear red lipstick with a golden dress for a shaadi in pakistan. I was wearing a red flower in my hair and holding a red clutch and wanted to complete the look with the same shade of lipstick. But my mom made me mix it with maroon-ish colors so it wasn't a deep red in the end. Her reasoning, people will talk and spread rumours. I guess she knows pakistani culture better than me.

My mom also tells me the makeup you wear shouldn't be too heavy, as it makes you look like a grown up woman and you lose some of that innocence in your face. You know? I don't think anyone cares once you're married. But people in our culture pay extra attention to young/single girls.

I have come across people who gossip about dosron ki betiyon ki dressing, makeup, demeanor etc. But never had anyone come up to the person and point it out. That's so nosy.

ive heard this too! my mums best friend said exactly this to me… i was like lol wut. i dont even wear as much as half of the girls do these days and your telling me off. i wanted to tell her to jog on but obvs didnt lols

p.s. the gold outfit and red lippy/accessories sounds :wub:
ive wanted to wear this attire (seen some on instagram) for ages but noone in my fam is getting married
:frowning:

My father objected once not on the red lip color but on over all dressing which he said was too mature for a college going girl (I used to wear complete make up with red lips ofcourse). Another time he objected was when I wore sharp blue shade on Eid lunch. He said that was "out of the ordinary". I mostly wore dark deep reds, browns, blues & rarely greys too.

Oh yes, my sister was once mad at me for putting my dark red lip shade on her 6 year old daughter's lips. I could never figure why she was so mad until before reading this thread. Hehe... Now I know. She had lived in Pakistan briefly after her marriage so probably had understanding of people's views.

I dont think it means your fast; I think the idea is that when you wear it for the first time when you get married it'll look that much more brilliant.

Seriously - call me aunty but have you seen how MUCH makeup girls wear now? When they do become brides; they look like they do at any other party. I'm all for toning it down pre-shaadi. And at that age, girls are so stress free and young they glow anyway. My mom used to say Jawani mey moo doh lo tho khubsoorat ho jathai ho. Its true; its the tired women like me who need to reply on makeup.

But there is a way to say something.

I've never heard that said particularly about red lipstick in Desi culture. But I have heard it said that makeup in general should be used after marriage...I presume for the same reason stated by Muniya. In western culture I've heard it said (by the more older generation) that make up belongs on working women.

Ruby Woo and Russian Red are rather strong colors. But maybe aunti thinks that they're better suited for functions as weddings as opposed to parties.

On the flip side, I've seen auntis get upset if their bahus wear neutral or soft lip colors because they believe bolder lip colors should be used after marriage. They're entitled to their opinions, but they shouldn't be imposed and if that can't be helped, at least express them tactfully.

I do agree with Muniya that sometimes I wonder if girls and women these days are using much, much more makep than women in the past...or maybe they just seem more into makeup? I don't have anything against it; I just think less is more.

Okay....I have several pictures from my childhood where my sister and I were both under the age of 10 and sporting lipstick. It's a wonder that my mom did not stop us...cuz we look scary in those pics. Makeup, for the most part, looks "off" on very, very young girls. It makes them look like trannies, it gives a sort of trashy look. Have you seen shows like Toddlers in Tiaras....where girls between the ages of 2-5 are dressed like hoochie women and entered into pageants? Despite having such naturally pretty features to begin with, the makeup makes them unnatural; it's unsettling. I went to Pakistan a few months back and I put a bit of makeup on my 2-year-old niece cuz she's crazy about the stuff and won't take her hands off it. But if I have daughters, I will not let them wear lipstick at such a young age as freely as I was allowed to. And it's funny cuz I guess that means I will be a stricter parent than my mom.

Ok little children wearing makeup is whole another ball game, But yes I say but I have seen kids wear lipstick ONLY in Pakistan on ‘Eid’ bair or choti, which seemed awd to me (even though me being young-ish myself) same goes for the toddler & tiaras show, total dofus parents.

We are talking about older girls 15/16 wearing makeup in their (parents) own supervision, I mean what parents/aunties should be saying instead is ‘Beta, don’t follow kylie Jenner on Instagram, because when you come to my party, I am VERY uncommfurtayble’

It’s the telling others kids what do I am MOST disturbed by…Like shut your mouth lady :rolleyes:

^Oh I know the thread is geared toward older girls, but since Sady brought up little girls wearing lipstick...I shared my 2 cents...cuz kids that young look scary with makeup. I feel like you can see a loss of innocence on the faces of toddlers with tiaras. It's usually their moms who are fiercely competitive and the dads are whipped...I can't understand how the dad can allow their little girls to be objectified like that? I know it's harsh but it's kinda like pimping.

Aunties have an opinion on everything. I know someone who is several years older than me...but when she was single...a couple of the auntis would tell her to wear makeup. She has enviable gorgeous clear skin, MashaAllah that can go without foundation. So, maybe it's a good thing that she laid off the chemicals. I guess the auntis advised her thus as a way to up her chances of getting hitched. Well, she did get married and is happy. What is disturbing is to hear the teenaged son of the aunti similar comments about the girl. So it's like....um okay...does this mean you auntis gossip to your sons about someone else's daughter? Or do you gossip on the phone with a fellow aunti and you kid just happens to be around and hears you gossiping. Heck some auntis will chide others' daughters a d be totally clueless about what their daughters are doing.

@redvelvet

I whole heartedly agree with what you are saying :slight_smile:

Believe me I am struggling right now with my husband’s niece (who is 12, turning 13 in a few months) She’s been on me with non-stop questions about makeup brands whatnot, and also been hounding me to go to Sephora with her since she feels her mom doesn’t know anything at all (her own words) I have been stalling the kid for a year now, I too feel she’s too young to know how to do a perfect stroke of an eyeliner, I feel like she’s my own kid, and I want to protect her ‘innocence’ but also want her to feel like she can try anything or pursue her interests WITH parental supervision

With her mother’s consent, her mamoo was also there (my husband) Aunty did her makeup (that is me) when they come over to stay a few nights over the last summer, She was so happy, took pictures whatever, Now she didn’t look like a bride, far from it even with a purple smokey eye/gloss, no red lipstick though :hehe:

I think at that age the adults should step in and guiding/explaining ‘less is more’ concept instead of attacking them with ‘hawwww hayeee, you are not married yet’ comments

^I guess times have changed. When I was your niece’s age…I remember eyeliner and lip gloss were more popular…and a couple years later…colored contact lens and the matte lipsticks (esp from Body Shop) were all the rage in Saudi, lol. But it seems that now the younger lot wants to experiment with more. I’ve come across youtube videos of middle-school aged girls teaching the world how to do makeup…or how they get ready for a party…and it kinda cute and funny…and kinda weird too. I guess this is a sign I’m old now. :hehe:

One of my cousins is very pretty and she had an older sister who got her interested in makeup. She started getting rishtas at 14-15 (girls marry in mid 20s in my family) and people were starting to get annoyed why her family was refusing everyone. Someone asked my mother why and she was horrified and told them she was only a year older than me. Apparently wearing makeup even in a non tacky way was advertising that she was way older. Apparently my unkempt self was a barometer for too young and people backed off. :cool:

Really? This is the first time I am hearing this. That is the dumbest thing, don't listen to that aunty and wear whatever shade you want, whenever you want.

whats wrong with red lipstick? My niece - she is like seven, she likes to wear red lipstick and nail polish. I even did her nails couple of times. While the other one loves screw drivers and drill bits and tools.

Redvalvet,

Yes same thing. My niece won't back off because she was always searching my bags for my lips sticks or other stuff she was attracted to. I put on her only the lipstick not complete make up. She used to take away lipsticks from my bags so I put it on her without thinking much, not at all expecting how my sis reacted. It wasn't a party or anything. I was just visiting them.

She still likes glamor stuff. I remember my days (love for perfumes, make up, high heels and usual glamor / stylish stuff) so keep sending her little girly glamour stuff as gifts. She used to love my blue and black nail paint too so I got both colors for her too. Don't know if her mother let her wear them, hehe. I must be a bad bad khala.

Never heard of such a thing, in fact my 19 year old cousin from Pakistan expressly asked us to get a solid red color for her. :-/