Recording Angels

This was sort of brought up in another thread.

Question is, can the two recording angels Raqeeb and Ateed, appointed by Allah on our two shoulders, hear and record our thoughts?

When and how?

Re: Recording Angels

But we are not held accountable for our thoughts. Why would they need to record it?

Does that mean that silent zikar of Allah by us is not recorded by these angles? We doing dikhar in our head/heart, not moving our lips or tongue and its not audible even to us.

When the two receivers receive, seated on the right and on the left. **(17)**Man does not utter any word except that with him is an observer prepared [to record]. **(18)

Surah Kaaf

so as per my understanding unless you speak your thoughts or you do what you intend cannot be recorded and the hadith in my knowledge says something like this, but offcourse this is just related to something negative as far as zikr is concerned they are rewarded and offcourse recorded wallahu alam bissawwab**

Hmm. Farz karo that these two angels do not record our qalbi zikar. Angels se barh kar to Allah hai...right? And Allah knows what is in our hearts...even the qalbi zikr...so it's recorded with Him. To use an analogy, if your direct supervising manager does not have a record of your good work ethic, but the boss or whomever is in the most executive position has a record....to kaafi hai.

Praise be to Allah for His Kindness and thanks to Him for His Kindness and Gratitude.

Alhamdulillah, for being a Muslim, having Muslim parents and Alhamdulillah for giving us enough ilm to praise Him well.

We were told to believe in Islam as it is. These 'hows' and 'whys' lead to further irrelevant questions because how do they do it and why do they do it, is not our job and should not be our concern. There are many things and many actions in Sharie'a that r not clear why we were ordered to do, and thats the Tawakkul and the Belief. What we should do, how we should do, why we should do, these questions r more important than why and how angels do their job.
Ye Allah (swt) k kaam hain, wo kb, kese, kis se, kyoun aur kia kaam leta hai, ye sirf Wohi janta hai.
Allah ka farman hai

"And mankind have not been given of knowledge except a little."
Surah Al-Israa....Ayah 85

We were told in Hadeeth that the bad thoughts are from shetan, and are waswasa...So when any bad thought comes to mind, we should ask forgiveness and tawwuz min al shetan al rajeem.
While good thoughts r from Allah (swt), and leave good impact on us and on our soul.

The two angels, mentioned in several Ayaats of Quran...
The one mentioned in first post as Raqeeb and Ateed, it clearly says that:

"Man does not utter any word except that with him is an observer prepared [to record]."
Surah Qaaf....Ayah 18

They record when a word is spoken, so if the word is not spoken and is still in your mind or heart, its only accountable if its a good thought for a good deed...And the reason is v obvious, its only because of Allah's Rehmat and Mercy on mankind.

Further more, following two Hadeeths make it more clear to understand that bad thoughts are not accountable, and good thoughts will get rewarded.

The Prophet (ﷺ) said, "Allah has forgiven my followers the evil thoughts that occur to their minds, as long as such thoughts are not put into action or uttered."

Sahih Al Bukhari, Hadeeth No. 5269

The Prophet (ﷺ) narrating about his Lord I'm and said, "Allah ordered (the appointed angels over you) that the good and the bad deeds be written, and He then showed (the way) how (to write). If somebody intends to do a good deed and he does not do it, then Allah will write for him a full good deed (in his account with Him); and if he intends to do a good deed and actually did it, then Allah will write for him (in his account) with Him (its reward equal) from ten to seven hundred times to many more times: and if somebody intended to do a bad deed and he does not do it, then Allah will write a full good deed (in his account) with Him, and if he intended to do it (a bad deed) and actually did it, then Allah will write one bad deed (in his account) ."

Sahih Al Bukhari, Hadeeth No. 6491

As for the 'when' thing, I remember a hadeeth for that but I m not sure whether its authentic or not. I will confirm and will come back.

Baqi Allah behter janta hai....