Recommend Pakistani Classic movies

Re: Recommend Pakistani Classic movies

Are you sure? weak stories and direction were copied frame to frame in extraordinary stuff producing bollywood. :chai:

More recommendation please. :cadet:
Shaheed* / شَہید (Martyr) - Pakistani Urdu Full Movie - 1962 - YouTube](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aVbRexloXU)

well my extra ordinary bollywood movies include mughal-e-azam, pyasa, guide, mother india, junoon, sahab, bibi aur ghulaam, pathar panchali and all old paki movies are garbage infront of these… i don’t consider the movies extraordinary, which were copied from any other movie and mughal-e-azam took 10 years to complete bcoz it was a mega project, people used to sleep in cinema just to buy tickets in next early morning, its all and all a masterpiece…

:khumar:

There is this one smily for all those mega projects :sannan:

We jhonpRi main rehne wale can’t compare with residents of sheesh mahal. Pakistani movies represented what Pakistani society was all about. Instead of lack of resources and living in a society where being related to film industry is still a taboo to great level, I salute to those artists, technicians, directors who produced movies like Ghoonghat, Humraaz, Intezar, Koyal, Zehr e Ishq, Qatil, Neend, Anarkali, Armaan, Jhoomar, and so many to be discussed later :salute:

Zindagi, of Nadeem and Barbra Shareef was also a good movie.

Problem is this that audience are sick and tired of one hero /one heroine/ love story - formula kind of movies. The movies that I enjoyed watching in 80's, I can't even watch ten minutes of them now.

lol :rotfl:these all are ordinary and will always be :chai:

Pakistan’s first color movie. Urdu Rangeen

Santosh Kumar Shamim Ara & Darpan’s ‘‘NAILA’’ HD Full Movie Part 01 - YouTube
Based on Razia Butt’s novel. What a music and great acting by all especially Shamim Ara.

80s was deterioration of Pakistan Cinema. The censor at its worst. PTV was telecasting Ashfaq Ahmed's sermons during that era in the name of drama.

I disagree. Because of the high censorship, ptv writers and directors came up with most innovative ways to cover sensitive topics. PtV and even film industry were at its height during Zia's regime.

I agree to the extent of PTV as educated people there were able to even surpass censorship. They could use poetry of banned Faiz in dramas. But, movies never remain the same. We only had Gandaasa culture in the name of movies in 80s. One can even not name a dozen Urdu hits from this 80s era.

Let me try

Aa’eena
Nahi abhi nahi
Zindagi

Errm, ok I have to search for more Urdu movies. But then in Punjabi movies, nunna and ali ejaz comedy flicks were hit.

I think Aina was in 70s

Aina (1977 film) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aina_(1977_film))

Zia couldn’t afford to let people see a chipkoo Shabnam with Nadeem in ‘roothe ho tum, tumko kaise manaon piya’ :cb:

Nanaa and Ejaz were more popular in 70s. They did have some movies in 80s. But ‘Dubai chalo’ was in 70s. Ejaz was more popular on TV in 80s due to Khwaja & Sons than his movies. Nanha died in 1986 and as with the case of Wahid Murad, his last movies were not that popular.

Chacha bhateeja, maula jatt te noori nath, sahib jee, susral chalo - were all Ali Ejaz and Nunna hits from 80's.

I’m going to watch movie ‘Kartar Singh’.

Kartar Singh (1959 film) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Kartar Singh (Part 01) - 1959 Pakistani Feature Film - YouTube](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw6WtIFtHAg)

From what I understand Pakistani films were comparable to Indian films in quality until the 60s and early 70s.
Indian films have always had an edge in terms of resources and bigger market.

Dopatta was quite successful in both countries and apparently beat Indian films at box office and I read somewhere that Shahida from 1949 did silver jubilee in India.

Comparison is natural because of similar language used in the Urdu/Hindi films but a bit unfair.

The films from the golden age should be regarded on their own merit rather than comparison.
And I am sure that experts will agree that there are plenty of fine films made in that time.
Last 25 years are a different story.

Now where is my copy of Yasin Goreeja’s book “Pakistan ki 100 shaahkaar filmain” ? :hmmm:
Lucky, I found this link about his book and his list:

Article’s on Pakistan Film Magazine - details

Top 100 Film by Yasin Goreja

I don’t want to get involved in the behess of classics but can think of some old good movies.
Some I have seen and some I have read about.
Some have been mentioned before:

Heer Raanjha
Umrao Jaan Ada
Paalki
Armaan
Surayya Bhopaali
Baharo Phool Barsaao
Anjuman
Kartaar Singh
Laakhon Main Aik
Aag ka Darya
Ishq-e-Laila
Anaar Kali
Waa’da
Saat Laakh
Ye Amn
Shaheed
Khaak Aur Khoon

Here are a couple sites with more info:

Old Pakistani Movies | Farzana Naina

Pakistan Film History

I liked all of Khuwaja Khursheed Anwar’s movies. Great music. nice stories and superb acting.

Writer

• Hamraz : Story,Screenplay and Dialogues (1967)
  • Chingari : Story and Screenplay (1964)
  • Ghunghat : Story and Screenplay (1962)
  • Jhoomer : Story and Screenplay (1959)
  • Zehr-E-Ishq : Story and Screenplay (1958)
  • Intezar : Story and Screenplay (1956)

I have read that the first Pakistani colour film was the popular 1964 East Pakistan production Sangam by director Zahir Raihaan who was killed in 71 for treason.

Pakistan Film History

And apparently, Ik Dil Do Deewanay, was the first colour film in West Pak.

So how come, the popular belief is that Naila was the first colour film in Pak ?

Gul Bakauli 1961 was first B/W film with colour songs.

Pakistan Film History

Another interesting tidbit is that Jago Hua Savera (1959) was the first Dhaka based Urdu film and won a gold medal in the Moscow Film Festival even though it was a dead flop in Pakistan.

Screenplay and songs by Faiz Ahmad Faiz and directed by Lahore based director A.J. Kaardaar and assisted by the aforementioned Zahir Raihaan.

Would like to see such movies. :bummer:

Pakistan Film History

Pakistan Film Database

Very interesting story here:

http://mazhar.dk/film/posters/JagoHuaSavera.pdf

Wahid Murad ki 'Heera aur Pathar'.

Habib ki 'Devdaas'.

If I can remember correctly from Aik din Geo ke saath, Habib got shabaash from a veteran Indian actor on his work in this film. Will have to check.

May be Naila is mentioned as first color movie, because it was a huge hit at box office and it truly deserved to be a hit.