Recitation

Aoa ..

Just wanted to ask something..do we get sawaab for listening to Recitation of the Quran instead of reciting it on our own. I am usually mostly busy with my household chores and don’t get much time to recite Quran. Esp during pregnancy I get tired easily these days. I have been told by alot of people that I should recite Surah Yaseen and Surah Maryam as much as possible in addtion to as many surahs as I can as the hearing of the unborn baby is developed enough to hear everything that is being played around him/her.

So if I don’t get to read Quran pak myself that often on a daily basis..would listening to recitation suffice ?

JazakAllah :slight_smile:

Re: Recitation

Peace Enigmatic,

Baby who drink packed milk instead of mother's milk is more healthy and have extra ability to fight with germs. Isn't it? If your answer is 'No' then i think reading is much better than listening eventually both way you'll get ajar.

Listening have its own sawaab and reading have its own. I heard that during pregnancy, it is beneficial to recite Surah Yaseen.

Allah SWT app ko achi or sehat-mand ulaad se nawazy. Ameen.

“So, when the Quran is recited, listen to it, and be silent that you may receive mercy”
- [Surah I’raaf, Ayah 204]
Hazrat Abu Hurairah (R.A) reports that Prophet Muhammad (Pbuh) said, "Who ever listens to one 'ayat' of the Holy Quran, there is written for him a twofold virtue, and whoever recites it (one ayat),it shall be 'nur' for him on the Day of Judgement".

I always prefer to recite Quranic verses when I am driving or in the kitchen. But I guess listening to it is rewarding too.

Beautiful, because I wanted to quote the same. When someone is reciting, listening becomes ibadat.

If listening was not important (or full of ajar), then when Imam recites an ayat that has Sajda in it, sajda would not become wajib for both namazi and non-namazi listener.

**listening can NOT replace reading...but YES, listening does give you sawaab and if you listen to translations then it may make your iimaan stronger.

one must strive his/her hardest to find time to read Qur'aan e Kareem because we do find time for other chores in our lives...it's just a matter of giving it a priority and knowing that it's our religious duty to read Qur'aan and understand the meanings thru it's translation/tafaaseer, and, finally, incorporate it's teachings into our lives.

May Allah gives us taufeeq and for which we must strive...aameen**

I wonder will this apply to recorded recitation also ? :hmmm:

thank you TLK bhai, Hadeel and LKK. Obviously reading and reciting the Quran ourselves cannot be replaced by just listening to someone else recite it. But I was wondering if am unable to do it daily, at least I should try listen to it more often iA :)

very good question. I want to know the answer too.

I guess it should. I came across this answer when I searched for it.

*Do not put it on when people are not paying attention, because the least that may said about that is that it is like those of whom Allah s.w.t says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And those who disbelieve say: ‘Listen not to this Quran, and make noise in the midst of its (recitation) that you may overcome’” [Fussilat 41:26].

If you see that your brothers do not want to listen, and they are busy talking to one another, then do not put the tape on. If you want to listen to it, then there are small headphones that you can put in your ears, and you can listen to it by yourself.*

Various hadiths proven that our Prophet Muhammad :saw2: listened (live) recitation of Qur’an from His Companions r.a. and virtues of recitation is higher than listening as it is recorded in hadith Sahih Bukhari, Hadith No. 538.
Narrated Abu Musa Al-Ash’ari: The Prophet :saw2: said, "The example of him (a believer) who recites the Qur’an is like that of a citron which tastes good and smells good. And he (a believer) who does not recite the Qur’an is like a date which is good in taste but has no smell. And the example of a dissolute wicked person who recites the Qur’an is like the Raihana (sweet basil) which smells good but tastes bitter. And the example of a dissolute wicked person who does not recite the Qur’an is like the colocynth which tastes bitter and has no smell.
In Sahih Bukhari it is narrated from Uthman bin Affan that the Prophet Muhammad :saw2: said: “The most superior among you (Muslims) are those who learn the Qur’an and teach it.”

Some scholars said if Qur’an is recited, it is compulsory to listen attentively. It is not permissible to play an audio tape of the recitation of the Qur’an while engaged in other activities. That diverts one’s attention from listening to the Qur’an.

I believe there is no harm in listening till we pay fully attention (understand recitation of which verse from surah we are listening) rather than listening it just like a background theme (noise) without paying any attention nor understanding it.

Allah swt knows best.