I tried to make this daal many time but not cannot get the taste…
Which recipes do you people use ?
Kindly share with me I have going to make this daal today
I tried to make this daal many time but not cannot get the taste…
Which recipes do you people use ?
Kindly share with me I have going to make this daal today
Re: Recipe of Masar Daal
What recipe do you normally follow?
kali masoor ki daal
-daal ko kafi time kay lye soak karna hay.
-phir daal ko boil kijiyega lal mirch powder daal kay, just pani kam reh jaye or dal galney lagy tu namak daliye or sath mein ilmi daliye thodi si, phir ghot lein daal ko achey se thoda sa pani dal kay usey boil kijiye or phir uper se lehsan aur podinay ka baghar laga lijiye.
this is the way we cook.
kali masoor ki daal
-daal ko kafi time kay lye soak karna hay.
-phir daal ko boil kijiyega lal mirch powder daal kay, just pani kam reh jaye or dal galney lagy tu namak daliye or sath mein ilmi daliye thodi si, phir ghot lein daal ko achey se thoda sa pani dal kay usey boil kijiye or phir uper se lehsan aur podinay ka baghar laga lijiye.
this is the way we cook.
-
Thank you this is something new I will try it now
Bro Pressure cooker zinda baad.
Mix daal/water/salt/mirch/sukha dhaniya/ginger&garlic paste in pressure cooker.
When you open the cooker daal should be slightly hard, let it cook on stove with lid off to thicken as desire. I usually test to makes sure namak mirch are good at this point. Aur kuch kaami peshi ho tho pori kar lo.
Tarka with Garlic onions and done.
Pressure cooker nahi hai :(
I use a pressure cooker to make this one and I make this daal a lot,my 4 year old LOVES it...:D
Boil 1 cup daal with salt,red chilli,zeera,haldi,sookha dhania powder (I pressure cook for about 5 mins),but you can certainly make it without it too.Once daal is done,add about 1/4th cup of milk and cook till desired consistency is reached.TArka with fresh chopped garlic.That is it.
Don't ask why I add milk to it.I have never been able to answer that.It just makes the daal very creamy and smooth and that is how my mom told me to do it!!
Buy a cooker, saves you so much mehnat on daals and ghost.
I have a friend who even makes her yakhni in it. I haven't tried that but still.
I use a pressure cooker to make this one and I make this daal a lot,my 4 year old LOVES it...:D Boil 1 cup daal with salt,red chilli,zeera,haldi,sookha dhania powder (I pressure cook for about 5 mins),but you can certainly make it without it too.Once daal is done,add about 1/4th cup of milk and cook till desired consistency is reached.TArka with fresh chopped garlic.That is it. Don't ask why I add milk to it.I have never been able to answer that.It just makes the daal very creamy and smooth and that is how my mom told me to do it!!
Thats daal makhni ... yumm!
You can make shahi daal using qorma masala
Achari daal by mixing some achar while cooking it or add achar masala .
daal karahi , use karahi masala and daal instead of chicken.
When it comes to daal sky is the limit to add , flavor , aroma and taste to it.
It does not have to be blend.
I do not know when and how it was decided that daal has to be blend.
I tried making it in a pot last month but it turned out watery. Like the water and the masar were separate even though I made it just as my mom told me. The only difference was that my mom makes it in pressure cooker whereas I still haven't used pressure cooker for anything so tried in a pot. My mom said mine was "undercooked". What I did was just boil the masar by adding salt, powdered coriander and spice. Then on the top, added garlic paste fried brown in oil seperately. My mom made the same stuff in pressure cooker few days later and it had a perfect texture and tasted heavenly as always. Mine I had to eat as soup as it was tasty but watery. I think pressure cooker helps blend it well with water giving it that distinct taste.
Patience is a good virtue when you are making something which needs time to cook. All you needed to do was let it simmer for a while , if water gets dried and daal does not get to right consistency then add more water and keep simmering to desired results.
Okiee teacher! :
:
But I cannot admit that I’m a fool so I’m going to disagree with you (mob not opening smilies for some reason, so sad). And my disagreement is that I cooked it for 60 mins (started at 11.15pm) & thought it was done because of the nice aroma it released. I could see the masar had broken into pieces so removed it quickly from the stove to not only save it from becoming complete kachra but also because by 12.15am, I was too hungry and also sleepy cz I usually sleep early. But something in me wanted to eat masar that day unwilling to wait till the next day. So I had to fin cooking and start eating before falling asleep
So those in my situation must eat it like soup instead of leaving it on stove to cook more, accidently falling asleep and find burnt daal, pot and stove in the morning.
I use a pressure cooker to make this one and I make this daal a lot,my 4 year old LOVES it...:D Boil 1 cup daal with salt,red chilli,zeera,haldi,sookha dhania powder (I pressure cook for about 5 mins),but you can certainly make it without it too.Once daal is done,add about 1/4th cup of milk and cook till desired consistency is reached.TArka with fresh chopped garlic.That is it. Don't ask why I add milk to it.I have never been able to answer that.It just makes the daal very creamy and smooth and that is how my mom told me to do it!!
I make it this way too with milk
In a pot, add previously soaked daal, water, thinly sliced onion, Namak, pissi mirch and haldi.
Jab gul jae, ghoNt well.
Add imbli ka paani (previously soaked with the solid bits taken out)
Add garam masala (optional)
Finally taRhka by adding these in oil in the following order: garlic, zeera, kaRhi patta and finally saabut laal mirch.
I guess its a matter of taste bit this is the only way I like this daal, nice and khatti :)