Recipe needed for Misr Daal

Hi All

I am really bad with Misr daal ( the black one ) .. anyone’s got a really good recipe?

Everytime I make it, it tastes ok but nothing like what I have eaten at restaurants or friends places.. I have concluded that I am just not cooking it the right way.

This is what I do :
Bhoon onions, add in ginger / garlic and then tomatos .. bhoon until all gets blended well nicely. Spices. Finally the daal, loads of water and I put it on pressure cooker until daal is done.
Finally tarka it with onion, green chilli and corriander

So what am I doing wrong here?

re: Recipe needed for Misr Daal

I make the same way. Difference is that I don’t put it on pressure cooker. I let it cook on low flame after adding some water.

I add half a cup of milk to it in the end and cook on dum for additional 5-10 minutes

Is it orange masar daal or brown sabat masar?

brown one Afayiz..

Guys, the one where we bhoon the masala first, kills the proper misr daal taste .. someone told me to add onion, daal, water, ginger, garlic, spices, tomatoes, green chilli , corriander in a pressure cooker and and let it cook all together and when its soft and mushy, give it a tarka of butter and zeera ..

i havnt tried that yet .. has someone tried that method? I am not happy with the taste that we get with bhooning masala first and letting the daal cook in it .. so I am looking for the alternative ways to cook it ..

Proto. Milk in daal? I never heard before.

Re: Recipe needed for Misr Daal

We always cook like that but not in a p cooker.

Daal Makhani-Whole Masoor

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup Kali Daal / Black Lentils (soaked overnite)
1 tsp salt
Directions..
Wash the daal and boil it till tender for many hours or use pressure

Masala:
2 tsps corn oil
2 tbsps unsalted Butter (Lurpak) - u can use more butter if you like
1 small onion
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tbsp ginger garlic paste
3-4 medium sized tomatoes (diced)
1 tsp or more Salt (according to taste)
1 tsp or more Red chilli powder (according to taste)
1/4 cup Cream
1/2 tsp garam masala

Directions..
Heat oil, add butter, onion, cumin seeds, gg paste, tomatoes, salt and red chilli powder…fry for a couple of mins…add cream..
now in a puree mixer…pour all this and grind till smooth paste/puree..
Add this Masala to your Cooked Daal…and bring to boil..add Garam Masala
taste the daal adjust salt and red chilli powder..if u want more or just leave it ..

Garnish with some cream or a small cube of butter on Daal..
serve with a nice hot garlic naan or tandoori roti..

sorry if you can’t read urdu

Facebook

thanks Fizza ..

Right , so I have popped the daal in the pressure cooker along with tonns of water, red chilli powder, salt, turmeric, garam masala, green chilli, fresh corriander, tomato paste and ginger and garlic … Its gonna get cooked for half hour and then I will do a tarka of butter, onion and zeera ..

I dunno if I have done it the right way :bummer: I guess we will know shortly after husband’s had his dinner :hinna:

yes kinzz. and I dont make masala for daal first. I do it like fizza4u told but without butter (unless I have to make makhni daal)

Misr [Egypt] Daal? :hmmm: u mean Masoor kii daal? as in, “yeh muNh aur masoor kii daal”? :smiley:

What daal are you talking about…??
Sabat masar (the dark brown one)…??this one…

Food, In The Main…: Tangy sabut masoor dal

If so,I make that a lot.It is my way to go when I cannot think of anything else.
Just cook the daal with plenty of water and the usual spices (salt,red chillies,haldi,zeera),either in a pressure cooker or without it.When cooked and reached the desired consistency,I do the tarka with garlic and oil and also add a quarter cup of milk (for 1 cup of daal) and let it cook for 10/15 mins.
Done.

Acha, I wonder amd heard first time that Masar main bhi onion and tomatoes daaltey hain :hmmm:.
For me cooking masar and masoor sabat are the most easy ones. What we I do is
Just put daal in pressure cooker with more water, putting salt, red chilli powder, turmeric and coriander powdrr and give it 20 mins in cooker and when its done just I tarka it with Garlic and zeera, Thats it. No pyaaz no tamatar

^^Yup.
No tomato or onions etc in masar daal.

My ammi has a ‘policy’ regarding daals.She thinks the lesser stuff you put in them,the more tasty they turn out to be.I have found it to be true.A simple onion and garlic tarka or even a plain garlic tarka to most daals after they have been boiled with spices,yields yummy results…!

i make in same way as afayiz n chips n it tastes yummy
for tarka i put green chillies n zeera in butter or oil

Yes, I keep my daals simple and tgey turn out amazing. CB try cookibg it once by bajiascooking on YouTube. My ammi makes it tge same way and we could eat this daal for weeks non stop.

Right, so I saw the last few comments in this thread, just now, daal has already been cooked and eaten so in shaa Allah will try the recipe in a few days, that Chips mentioned ..

so the results of the daal cooked in the above mentioned manner, tasted alot better then my previous Masr daal.. but it still very slightly fell short of perfection .. So next time I am gonna do what Chips said, wont add tomatoes or onions to it and will only tarka it with garlic and zeera and see if thats the taste that adds perfection to it ..

Thanks everyone , I have been in a fix with this black daal since ages , just cant get it right ! but it tasted so much better today ..

Yes thats what I mentioned, I seriously heard first time someone putting onions and tomatoes in the masar. Here my Malaysian and Bangla friends got very amazed by such simple making of daal and still great taste.

Thanks Afayiz for all your help as well .. you are right, I think in the restaurants they make daal with alot of simplicity.. So I am gonna try that next time In sha Allah ..