Rebel Attitude

Is it “cool”? Why or why not?

From what I’ve seen on GS, we will easily accuse the unfriendly conservatives as having a holier-than-thou attitude for shoving their beliefs down our throats. But not many disapprove of the dismissive rebels who will ridicule other people’s beliefs in a not-so-friendly manner.

Discuss. :chai:

Re: Rebel Attitude

Well rebelion has an obvious appeal when it’s justified but flagrant rebelion against things without reason is not rebelion it’s anarchy. So it’s an insult to real rebels when we call such people rebels becuase in truth they are anarchists you have to remember most rebels fight for a genuine cause. :salute: :jhanda:

You are holier than thou for saying others are rebellious..:wink:

Seriously…What you consider rebellious might be conservative for some other person…so varies person to person…the reason for ‘not many’ disapproving the rebellious ones is becaue those sort of rebellious ones are greater in number at this place compared to the so called ‘holier than thou’ ones..

sometimes those unfriendly conservatives with the holier than thou attitude, should really look closer to home. as should the complete rebels.

Nomi, I'm not calling anyone anything. These are the categories we use for such people, don't we? The conservative, moderate and liberal? I didn't come up with these labels.

:smack: u missed the smiley..

i am just saying..this totally depends on what kind of crowd you have…the ratio of conservative vs liberal in a particular community… the ones who are less in number (conservatives) will be bashed by those in majority (rebellious)…simple

So much for standing up for the right thing. =/

your right is wrong…u paindu, molvi, typical desi conservative, holier than thou woman!!! :faizy:

Chalo shukar hai unfriendly to nahi kaha :teary1:

And even the friendly ones.

:sheen:…i am not unfriendly either…:smiley:

That depends on your definition of a conservative person. For some, keeping a daarhi is conservative enough. For others, oppressing your women is.

Haha

On a more serious note I dont think many people shove religion down others throats… you have to understand that they may not see it that way and also they will feel a moral and religous duty to guide others to stay on track. Naturally if your intent on following a path then just say so.. but no point walking up to the crossroads of life and then just standing there asking for “Capital City” when your on the road to “Boot Hill” for crying out loud why cant people make thier minds up or at least wear thier hearts like a badge. :salute:

British Muslims would beg to differ with your claim. They are more known at trying to shove religion down others’ throats than other Muslim communities.

Hold on, I never said religious beliefs. Could be anything, religious, cultural, sports, school, whatever.

Notice I made no mention of any particular faith, becuase the following analogy can apply to all faiths and belief systems. :)

I was a rebel..and my rebellious side still pops up depending on the situation. But mine had nothing to do with religion..it had more to do with my freedom and culture.

Like I believe I have the RIGHT to choose who my friends are, where I go, what I wear, what religion I choose to follow..above all who I marry. I give everyone an equal chance to prove themselves..I make my own opinion on people around me..don't need anyone else to tell me what my opinion should be.

It has nothing to do with looking cool...Like Faris said..when rebelling you better have a cause..otherwise it is anarchy.

ah i am in no state to think right now.

Ridiculing without respect is not ok, regardless of the stance. It's hard to say that rebels are not put down, because what you consider to be a rebel attitude, someone else might consider a normal or even conservative attitude.

For some it it being rebellious, for others, that is fight for the right, question the norm, search for new path and rejection of oppression.

A lot of good came to world by being rebellious.