well lets not listen to Pakistanis as we are emotional right now…how about listening to Dobell who has been praised by majority of Pakistanis as a levelheaded columnist… here is what he said in his column:
"It is true, too, that Misbah must take some responsibility for the result. He batted for 12-and-a-half overs, only found the boundary twice (once through a misfield) and must accept that he misjudged the pace of Pakistan’s chase. **
His side are fast gaining a reputation as ‘chokers’; it is not completely unwarranted. **
**But he was far from alone in failing with the bat. **
**Umar Akmal betrayed his inexperience with a reckless heave **(umar started the problem but wasting 3 balls in broad’s over and then losing his wicket in the mean time);
Afridi simply did not look fit enough for a quick two (36 saal ka bhudha..why the hell he did not dive? just think of mike hussey who is also 36 and imagine his dive…commitment bhai commitment) and
Mohammad Hafeez, for all the excellent influence he clearly has on this team and his usefulness as a bowler, has barely contributed with the bat for some time.
Pakistan won the Test series as a team; they failed in the limited-overs series as a team. It would not be constructive for all the failings of the Pakistan team to be heaped upon Misbah’s shoulders"
line lagiee howie ha incompetent players kee Pakistan batting line may… and dobell did not point out GUL sahib’s bowling!!!
and let me make my point clear… as i said in many other other posts today, misbah shd not play T20s as there is no need for him to play T20s anymore…but lets not make him a scapegoat either…
Re: really.... was misbah alone in failing with the bat?
I think we just have to accept that Pakistan is a mediocre batting and fielding side. Seam bowling is not that special either. Gul is not consistent even in the limited overs format
One expects an international side to be able to chase down 30 odd runs in 5 overs with 7 wickets in hand with ease 99% of the time. That should have been a stroll really and our abject failure to do so deserves criticism
But then we are also debating such narrow margins. Two of the T20s were really close and could have gone the other way. The only game we weren't competitive was the second one.
The test series whitewash of England was totally unexpected but given our weak and inconsistent batting the limited overs results are not so shocking. There is not a single player in the current team who can be considered a legend of the game. England have KP
And to be fair PD, England's batting is not that special either. Were it not for KP batting thru the innings today, they probably would not have made more than 110. I believe Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa and India (even though they are struggling big time right now) are better batting sides
Different symptoms same medicine:
The same captain that is grilled right now, was praised like anything just couple of weeks back. Its not him, its our team selection and players power that is the real issue. Pak can't think of making Umar Akmal or Gul captain, as England did with Broad. Our selectors are old school, they think since Misbah has good success rate as test captain, he has the guts to handle illiterate Paki team and therefore must be made captain in all three formats. Doesn't matter weather he has playing and tactical skills or not.
They need to inject new blood in T20 that only plays just that. Don't even let them enter when a test is underway. They fear of loosing and are reluctant to experiment with all specialist team for this format.
The other players atleast showed intent. Akmal's RR was above run a ball, he started heaving when it was appropriate, there were four overs left with three wickets down. Afridi was pinching an extra run in the last over of the match, hardly enough role in the play to call it a failure. The fact that there were atleast three people who could swing at the ball, who didnt get a chance to play, and you ran out of balls, is a failure of captaincy and planning leave aside Misbah's actual ability to play t20.
Re: really… was misbah alone in failing with the bat?
Misbah is a nice player and captain of Test & ODI but i believe that he should get retirement T20.
Umar Akmal as Shoaib Akhtar said "He is a great player but does not know what he is & now its time to site him outside for 6 months. We ve other talented player and they can perform as well.
Gul I’ve already said some where that he is simply pathetic. If we give this must chance to any ordinary bowler he become Nice Strike bowler.
Awais Zia , Hamad Azam they ve bright future.
Asad Shafiq played nicely but he should not go for suicide.
Afridi being a very senior player he didn’t show his character in ODIs or T20. But being an all rounder we need him.
Pak desperately needs some nice pace attack and they should give chance to youngsters.
Hafeez performed nicely with ball but we need a good opener.
Pak team should go for specialist as we have seen our All rounders performance in ODI and T20
The main three batting failures were Hafeez,Umar Akmal and Misbah beccause they were the one who had faced so many balls and it was their duty to take the team home
How in the hell u can expect a batsman to come in 18.5 overs and score u 15 odd runs HOW ?
Baat wohi ajati hai Afridi ko hamesha blame kro
This is how you take the team home when u have 8 wickets in hand and in pressure situation
The main three batting failures were Hafeez,Umar Akmal and Misbah beccause they were the one who had faced so many balls and it was their duty to take the team home
How in the hell u can expect a batsman to come in 18.5 overs and score u 15 odd runs HOW ?
Baat wohi ajati hai Afridi ko hamesha blame kro
This is how you take the team home when u have 8 wickets in hand and in pressure situation
I don't put the blame for this loss on Afridi but that is his specialty to score 10-15 runs in 3-4 balls but like Misbah he has lost his hand-eye coordination to hit the ball now.
When did Misbah had the hand eye co ordination first tell me this ?
according to you Misbah doesnt even know how to hold the bat. Wonder how he became captian but than in your book batting is 10 runs in 3 balls than get out and than resign from captaincy and run.
Factually not true. Umar’s SR of 95.65. (23 runs off 23 balls) was only slightly better than Misbah’s (87.50, 28 runs off 32 balls is not exactly tuk tuk. I accept that Misbah struggles to finish games or to play big shots when it matters. He is getting on a bit (he is 37) and his reflexes may have slowed down with age
Umar’s was not a particularly brisk innings, not by his standards any way. He came to the wicket in the 13th over and departed in the 19th, enough time for both of them really to try and finish the game earlier. Why leave it till the 19th or 20th over esp. when you’re only chasing a modest total? Both equally culpable for the defeat
Very badly paced innings by both Misbah and Umar. Two silly runouts and wrong batting order (do blame Misbah here. Umar Akmal and Hammad should have batted above him) did not help.
Personally I think that Misbah is too old to still be playing T20Is. He is unlikely to play in the next (50-over) world cup in Aus/NZ in 2015. Therfore Post Asia Cup, it makes sense to entrust the captaincy of one-day and T20 teams to Hafeez and Umar Akmal respectively (? Hafeez in both formats)Kamran Abbasi: The limit of Misbah’s miracle](http://blogs.espncricinfo.com/pakspin/archives/2012/02/the_limit_of_misbahs_miracle.php)
Sometimes it is hard to make sense of defeat. On the brink of rescuing some dignity from the limited-overs half of England’s tour, Pakistan threw away any hope of redemption. England bowled and fielded with great heart to underline their determination to remain the pre-eminent side in T20 cricket. But that is no solace for Pakistan fans who are understandably convinced that their team had done enough to win in Abu Dhabi.
A perplexing outcome was made more painful by the familiar sight of Misbah-ul-Haq fluffing another run chase. He wasn’t the only culpable player although he was the most visible. Misbah has worked wonders with Pakistan cricket, particularly in the Test arena. He has brought stability to a capsizing vessel. He has been lauded for a whitewash of England in the Test series but he now faces a battle to save his captaincy in one-day cricket.
Misbah has been upset by criticism of his leadership, questioning the media’s agenda against him. **Misbah’s cautious methods have certainly polarised opinion, although that legitimate debate has barely hindered the deserved acclaim that he has received for his record in Test cricket. But it is in limited-overs cricket that Misbah often strikes the wrong chord, out of tune with the match situation, a virtuoso playing to the wrong beat.
**Some sections of the media might have an agenda against Misbah but that is a captain’s lot. Unfortunately, the evidence of these one-day performances hasn’t left Misbah with much sympathy for his case, especially once he linked his defence with support for Shoaib Malik. Pakistan has a strong tradition in limited-overs cricket; the fans know what to expect and are not easily deceived. Indeed, much of Pakistan’s recovery in one-day cricket, culminating in the World Cup semi-final in Mohali, was during Shahid Afridi’s captaincy.
Leadership is important in cricket, and cricket’s different formats require different leadership styles. As such, the Pakistan Cricket Board does face a genuine dilemma. **Misbah is clearly the right captain for Pakistan’s Test team but he doesn’t seem capable of adapting to cricket’s shorter formats. If the PCB is in any doubt about the captain or any of its players it should ask itself what Australia would do? It might be harsh on Misbah, and everything he has achieved, but the long-term development of the team must come first.
Misbah (in particular) and malik have to learn from Ponting who has few of the best records in history of Cricket, still when he just had just 4-5 bad innings was not only dropped by the selectors but he himself pulled him out of ODIs for good. He is a bad finisher and doesnt have that mentality for limited overs game. Enuff said!