Reality Check - So Hit or Flop?

Since i am a huge bhangra fan, i decided to do a proper album review.I hope u will enjoy. Its on jassi sidhu`s debu album Reality Check.
After the split, could he still prove himself as one of the top singer? Yes,
we are talking of Jassi Sidhu, former lead singer of the band B21. Jassi Sidhu, after his split from B21, releases his solo album Reality Check - “More Than Just A Postcode”. Surprisingly the man himself did the music for the album. Fans of B21 have been waiting for this album, so does Jassi Sidhu creates the same magic that he created with B21? Or he was just because of B21? And is it really “More Than Just A Postcode”? To get the answers to all the questions raised, lets go over the album… !

The album kicks off with the track Agg, featuring Cheshire Cat. The sound of the track has very much B21 flavour! Its very similar to his B21 song Jaan. Going towards Cheshire Cat, he has done a good job. After listening to this song, one will doubt if this album is going to be anything more, as its just the same sound of his previous songs. However, Jassi Sidhu recently said in an interview that this track has an underlying message, and that is? The origianal sound of B21 is to be found within him, even though the name B21 belongs to someone! Well we can’t comment on that one until we get to listen to the next B21 album.

Veer Da Viah is the next track. A track on brother’s wedding, and describing family feelings. The track have been very well composed according to the lyrics. The music has a wedding touch too. Well what to say? I would rate the track as one of the wedding anthem!

You hear the sweet sound of flute, then kicks in the tumbi, and then the beat drops in! Yes that’s track three, fusion of tumbi and beats, Ama Ni Ama (Aava Ni Aava), Ama don’t means mother here!! LoL. Back to the track, it has a very fresh sound. The track couldn’t be any better, its just at its best the way it is. Another great song!

Track four is Pyar. A slow romantic song though starts off with a short poem in Punjabi. A very different approach, as somebody else would have used the intro of such song in Hindi. This slow track, has those guitar sounds with soft beats. This track wouldn’t catch everybody’s attention though, its just for certain audience, who also appreciates those slow romantic themes. Overall, its a good track but wouldn’t stand as one of the highlight of the album.

Know what’s next? Rishie Rich! Yes, Rishi Rich, Jassi Sidhu, and Mentor all in one in this remix of the track Agg! Track five, is produced by the man Rishie Rich. The remix has very different sound than the original one. Original was more of a desi flavour, while this has a western touch. The competition between both is a tough one. Mentor is the right choice for the track, overall its a killer track!

Metz and Trix on track six, Charhgai Jawani. Mc’ing in this track is limited, it isn’t overflowed, which is good. I would put this track in of those Indo-Pop category.

“Aap Husan Di Mukh Te Naa Aayi Hove, Laali Rang Ke Keeti Tah Kee Keeti, Mulaakat Mashook De Naal Pehli, Oh Vi Sang Ke Keeti Tah Kee Keeti…” And then Dhol beats drops, as you might have got the hint, track seven entitled Nain, has a traditional feel. A good bhangra song, which stands out unique in the whole album.

Track eight, is a remix of the song Pyar. Instead of a very soft relaxed feel, this time we got some heavy beats and bass in. I would prefer this version over the earlier one.

Next we have live version of Charhgai Jawani, no beats this time, but you still have that feel due to the guitar vibes. A different type of track, that doesn’t leaves you dissappointed.

The final track on the album, is Ranjha. It starts with drums fused over vocals, then you have a guy saying to fu*k the drum ‘n’ bass, and put something desi, and that’s it, a desi sound kicks in. What more can we say about the song? Its just another highlight of the album, a very good song!

And that was Reality Check! Does Jassi Sidhu creates the same magic that he created with B21? Yes! Or he was just because of B21? No, he isn’t just because of B21, he could do it all by himself too! And is it really “More Than Just A Postcode”? No comments, as you never know what the postcode B21, has coming up in the line. Jassi Sidhu did a great job as a singer and a producer of this album. He provided the album with variety as it has different types of tunes. But one thing that Jassi Sidhu lacks is proper Punjabi pronunciation. If he had that, this album was a masterpiece! Overall this album should be rated as 7.5/10

from the review, seems like its a boring as hell kinna album :-)

EP plz check ur PM

I can't stand punjabi songs, although i'm a huge fan of Abrar ul haq and shazia mansoor.

Only arnold likes such trash! haha FLOP

Buddy get out of your Junoon world…there’s other talented artists around in this world too…and ASN…I agree…This album is awesome :k:

it's an excellent album. Jassi is UK's best punjabi singer!

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Only arnold likes such trash! haha FLOP

Speak for ya self spockie.

its a hit :love:

yasir uncle, did I mention Junoon? Such BBCD bands like stereo nation etc dont even stand a chance against Junoon in the first place… Those that attended the recent Chicago concert (Junoon/Stereo Nation) are a clear witness to that…

yasir uncle, did I mention Junoon? Such BBCD bands like stereo nation etc dont even stand a chance against Junoon in the first place... Those that attended the recent Chicago concert (Junoon/Stereo Nation) are a clear witness to that...

Junoon and Stereo Nation have totally different kind of music. You can't even compare them. After Parvaaz, I personally enjoy listening to Stereo Nation's music than Junoon's recent songs excluding garaj baras. But I have never seen either one perform live, so I cant say which one performs better on stage. But getting back to the thread, Jassi Sidhu is a talented artist. For the people who listen to UK Bhangra, this is an excellent album.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

Junoon and Stereo Nation have totally different kind of music. You can't even compare them. After Parvaaz, I personally enjoy listening to Stereo Nation's music than Junoon's recent songs excluding garaj baras. But I have never seen either one perform live, so I cant say which one performs better on stage. But getting back to the thread, Jassi Sidhu is a talented artist. For the people who listen to UK Bhangra, this is an excellent album.

Well, if they are different, why did you bring junoon into this? As for concerts, Well, I went to one... Stereo nation couldnt even sing live.... whereas junoon went and did their sound checks and went live... Everyone booed stereo nation, and junoon's taur was much higher, and oh yes, the bigger, and more anticipated band always goes second!!! kher, if you compare that mediocre indian band with Junoon anywayz... You kinda remind me of a guy who wanted junoon to do a bhangra song LOL!

Dude, not everyone is a Junoonie like you. Everyone has their own respective choice of music and you gotta learn to respect that. You can't force everyone to love Junoon like you do. Yes, they are good, they are talented, but if someone likes Stereo Nation more than Junoon, don't say they are stupid or know nothing about music. There's lots of people in this world who love Junoon and who hate Junoon. You love Junoon, yeah ok I respect that. Did I ever say Junoon sucks?? I personally just don't think they are as good as they used to be. Grow up and learn to respect others who respect you.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

Dude, not everyone is a Junoonie like you. Everyone has their own respective choice of music and you gotta learn to respect that. You can't force everyone to love Junoon like you do. Yes, they are good, they are talented, but if someone likes Stereo Nation more than Junoon, don't say they are stupid or know nothing about music. There's lots of people in this world who love Junoon and who hate Junoon. You love Junoon, yeah ok I respect that. Did I ever say Junoon sucks?? I personally just don't think they are as good as they used to be. Grow up and learn to respect others who respect you.

abey yasir, bacha hai abhi tu... scroll up and see who brought junoon into this... now go back and listen to the bbcd bhangra... Oh and just like you can come to the junoon thread and say junoon sux, I can also come to this thread and say this band (whatever the name is) sux bigtime! So dont dictate anything alright? Im outta here...

Dictate main nahi tu ker raha hai bachay. Anyone who knows a even a little bit about UK Bhangra knows that this album by Jassi Sidhu is a great a album. If you don't know about UK Bhangra then please don't say anything about it. And when did I ever say Junoon Sux?? Go and check all the threads and tell me where I said that. I have always said and I will say, ** I personally** don't think they're as good as they used to be.

Everyone who knows even a bit about Pakistani music knows Junoon rox

If you dont know anything about Junoon, please dont say anything about it. :hehe:

Did you give thumbs up to that argument where that guppie said ‘junoon should quit because i dont like them, and they wear bad clothes’ :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Chill out, and enjoy the UK album

Did you give thumbs up to that argument where that guppie said 'junoon should quit because i dont like them, and they wear bad clothes' :D :D :D Chill out, and enjoy the UK album

If I ever did...show me the thread and my post where I said that. And you don't need to worry about me enjoying my music :D:D:D:D

hmmmmm

Arnold Shalwar Nicker yaar I listened to the album on depm. Didnt enjoy much cos the real player screws up the audio quality. I havent been able to find the album yet from any of my 1337 connexions :/

hes a great singer n gud looking too:)