real women

What do you guys think of the dove ad campaign? I think this is alot better than looking at size 0 models which have layers of makeup on and then their pictures are re-touched. But according to this article, it wont last long n it might become the “fat girl” brand…i think the guys on crack. Do you think it will last?

heres the article:
http://slate.msn.com/id/2123659/?GT1=6772

Re: real women

unfortuantely it might not last long.. i think it's great and so is the msg behind it but u know shallow emptyheaded morons pretty much rule everything , so this will be out. Just look at some of the responses u will get in here :(

i'd hit em

...with a truck

yeah unfotunately i can already see, I think its mostly jerks who dont want these ads up. They would rather look at fake women and live in a fantacy world.

!

the good thing abt thez ads is .. anyone can stare at thos posters around the block and if ur girl ask
** why u drolling over that poster babe **
u can always say
** ohh nothing hunny ! u know i m better than that **

2) desi bachey can also enjoy it with their parents saying
** mama/papa woooo dekho .. kitni mooti haathi jaisi lerki hai **

mazey ka mazaa and shak bhi nai ho :D lol

Its a good ad campaign, while i dont agree with putting half naked women in ad's atleast this campaign puts REAL women in there, and not the annorexic supermodels one seems only on TV.

Yeah this is how real women are and that is real beauty.

Isn't it crazy that it's 'controversial and groundbreaking' for us that an average sized woman is presented in an ad? I think it's fine that these women are doing this. I'm sure it's helping to empower some 14 year old girl who used to think of herself as not pretty or too chubby. If girls don't see these kinds of images in the media then their view of themselves is completely distorted. But I think eventually this campaign will be over and the company will try something different. Unfortunately for most companies the bottom line is money. It's not that I'm completely cynical but Dove may just be trying to get attention and it's working.

So really, what's more shocking an anorexic, 6' tall bi*chy model or a real woman with curves?

It's good marketing. Nothing more, nothing less. There are more fat women than fit women, so why not choose a campaign that targets the larger audience (pun intended)? As an added bonus there is the "feel good" factor where overweight women grab the opportunity to justify their size.

Having a spare tire around your waist or mile wide hips does not make you a "real" woman. It is ugly and unhealthy. Period.

Judging from the female reponses, it seems that Dove's ad campaign has hit right where they wanted it to. More important than any feel good factor is to realize that being overweight (for both men and women), is a serious health issue.

Its been in the UK for ages. Its a beautiful cmpaign. I think some of those women are stunning.

Dove should get credit for having a more accurate representation of women, but isn't the ad campaign for Firming products? It's ironic that while showing 'real women', the company manages to knock down that body image with creams that are meant to firm up skin.

The author of the article writes:

'But Dove takes a wildly different approach: That chick in the ad sort of looks like me, and yet she seems really happy and confident … perhaps if I buy this Dove Firming Cream, I'll stop hating myself!

These Dove ads say it's cool to be round and hefty … so long as your skin is taut and firm and perfect. But what's that, you say? You love your real curves, but you've got a little cellulite? Girl, run out and buy our hocus-pocus cream right now! Those cottage cheese thighs are vile! Dear God, cover them up!'

exactly… mujh jaisi masoom larkian sniff (LOL)

I mean when in my teens, I was growing up but when looking in the mirror, I used to feel that I was getting fat. I wasnt. It used to surprise me when everyone would tell me that I looked sick and without flesh. I wouldnt believe them. I starved myself (ofcourse without my mom’s knowledge like hiding meals and throwing them away later on), asking the health practitioners to tell me ways to reduce my weight. Which used to shock them cz i was actually underweight for my age and height. Not only that but my figure was also “perfect”. They said “an inch” difference was not “abnormal” as I used to think. Low self esteem. Anyway, those were the days. I know if I was staring at these ladies in the link, I wouldnt have done that.

I think it is so refreshing to see average sized women in an ad while working out at the gym :)

the funny thing is most ppl think these women are fat, when they are not, they are average. SOme are even above average, since they have flawless skin which most women dont. But unfortunately anorexic 6 ft models are more pleasant to the eyes these days.

TNWB I soooooooooooooooooo know what you are talking about! These damn "perfect" super models make me feel so bad about myself. Like I have always hated chub in the back errrmm right below u know the straps but apprently skinny girls have that too and I didnt realize that until recently. And I used to be so embrassed of it that I would pin my dupata down in a way that it would cover that part and try to find exercises which work that muscle out.

I always thought that 'real women' are those who don't have an inferiority complex about how they look which is more often than not anything close to the super model? shocked

How many have you met who really have no complexes about how they look? :confused:

These women are realLY not in shape. THat’s the only thing real about them. I’d think it’d be offensive to “real women” to take a bunch of chubby chics and market them as “real women”. “real women” are much better lookin. These women might actually be not so real since they have better skin than most real women. They’re def’n not as fit as “real women” . “real women”

These people are so stpuid, they go from size 0 models to size 20 (i have no concept of sizes) chubbies. WHy don’t we accept that there are good looking real women too and there’s nothing wrong with using them in ads.

i hate it. I want some thing to look at i dont want fat mothers in undies. That is bullcrap.