Real Indian Weddings

Hi guys,

I am new to gupshup. Like most of you i too love indian / pakistani weddings. I wanted to make a new post to portray some real magnificent weddings that i have come across on so many wonderful websites. Besides wedding pics, i would also be adding pics of jewellery, accessories , decor etc etc

Pictures will be limited to indian/ pakistani/bangladeshi brides, basically south asian brides.

I would like to avoid comparisons so that no sentiments are hurt. All brides are beautiful. Constructive criticism is always welcome.

I would be delighted if you could contribute pictures as well.

Also i would be grateful if the senior members would point out any mistakes. This is my first time on any forum.

Thank you all.

Love

Payal

re: Real Indian Weddings

It is some time before i am alloved by Gs to post pics, so in the meantime i thought why not list some of my favourties sites.

I visit these sites religiously. Some of the content just make me go ga ga !!!

Bolly instyle www.bollyinstyle.com/
Style me pretty http://www.stylemepretty.com/
Marigolds and Mithai http://www.marigoldsandmithai.blogspot.com/
Inspirational laddu inspirationalladdu.wordpress.com/
Aaina Bridal http://www.aainabridal.com/
Indian Summer anindiansummer-design.blogspot.com/
My Dulhan Diaries mydulhandiaries.tumblr.com/
Couture rani http://couturerani.com/
My Shaadi Obsession http://myshaadiobsession.tumblr.com/
Maharani Weddings http://www.maharaniweddings.com/
Miss Indian Bride http://www.missindianbride.com/
Marigold Events http://www.marigoldevents.com/
The big fat indian wedding http://thebigfatindianwedding.blogspot.com/
South asian bride magazine http://www.southasianbridemagazine.com/
Weddingsutra blog www.weddingsutra.com/blog/

welcome payal :wave:
have fun

hi farhasha... i seem to be having a problem displaying the pics..... could you help ???? thanks

payal i hav neva uploaded any pic but hope it helps

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gs-support-help/465983-help-with-upload.html

My favorite jewelers to name among a few. There are so many family jewelers in India that have been there from generation, it would be impossible to list them . Some of the elite from Bombay and Delhi are as below.

Tanishq
Amrapali
Mirari
Ganjam
Amrtia singh
Anmol Jewellers
Sri Karni Jewelers
Tribhovandas Bhimji Jewelers
Hazoorilal
Areena Jewelers

I personally love uncut diamonds the most. There is something regal about them. I have personally bought a lot of jewelery from Areena in Bombay for my wedding some time in the far away future. Their gold jewelry is really different. Its not lile your typical designs. What make it more special that they give it an oxidized look that make it look antique.

However my all time favs are Tanishq and Amrapali. Their collection is simply amazing !!!!!!

My family was into jewelery as well, till my father changed his business a decade ago. Although all our relatives are still in the business. Infact everyone i know is into jewelery. We are from a Gujarati community called Soni or Sonar. So every wedding i have been too is of a fellow jeweler's and needless to say everyone is always decked up in specialty one off pieces.

Maybe this could be the reason why i am completely obsessed with jewelery. Its all i think about. All my earnings have been going in jewelery. And with the gold price being so high nowadays its just mad.

A few of my fav designers are below. Most of the designers are going way way OTT these days. The ones that really excel in their craft are

Ritu Kumar
Tarun Tahiliani
Abu and Sandeep
Sabyasachi
Pallavi Jaikishen
Anamika Khanna

Bombay is a shoppers paradise for a desi. But my oh my is it expensive these days. Even though I am from the gulf and thankfully the exchange rates gives me an advantage but spending a 200 USD minimum on a single saree is just too much !!!!! We usually do bulk shopping every two years for whihc we need to start saving way way in advance.

Places like Kala Niketan stock wedding ghagara cholis that do not hold any designer name for above 2000 USD. So you can only imagine how much a designer is going to cost you. Out of all the designer the only one that is reasonable is Ritu Kumar without having compromised on the style and design and quality.

You really need to have your pockets full for Bombay.

But on the other hand , you will find million and millions for stuff for as less as $ 2 . These are your regular day to day wear clothes.

The Big fat Indian wedding is just getting bigger these days. Here is an interesting article i read on Times of India. Thought I'd share.

The big, fat Punjabi wedding has just got fatter, and if you are not one of the close relatives, then be assured of a heartburn!

Eleven solitaire rings costing Rs 1.5 lakh each, 7 BMW cars, 11 Tag Heuer watches, Raymonds' woollen suit lengths worth Rs 2 lakh each — this is not the inventory of any upscale store in a posh neighbourhood! These super-expensive status symbols are being lapped up by the rich and opulence-crazy Punjabi parents to be given as gifts to close relatives of the families of their daughters' inlaws.

Punjabi weddings, which are alternately described as 'opulent', 'extravagant' to 'vulgarly rich' are touching new scales where spending ability of parents is concerned. Jewellers and luxury stores across Punjab are reporting how purse strings are getting loose more than ever before this wedding season, as parents go out of their way to indulge the in-laws of their daughters. And, as expected, Ludhiana, the abode of rich people of the state, is leading in this trend.

Last year, the city witnessed another first, when a bride's family gifted seven BMWs to close relatives of the groom at the time of 'milni' — a traditional ceremony when upon arrival of the wedding procession, the groom's extended family is introduced to the bride's relatives and presented gifts.

This year, a prominent industrialist, who is marrying off his daughter next month, has ordered 11 solitaires worth Rs 1.5 lakh each for the nanas, dadas, mamas, chachas, tayas and their spouses, besides the parents and siblings of the groom. "When this gentleman can book a special necklace for his daughter worth Rs 2.5 crore, then these rings are just 'small change' for him," said the jeweller of a landmark shop in Fountain Chowk in Ludhiana. "Diamond rings are very common for 'milnis'. But, for a change, this indulgent father has booked solitaires," he said.
Ludhiana is also cultivating another 'rich' trend of return gifts for friends and acquaintances who attend the weddings. Four hundred watches have reportedly been bought by an industrialist, from an internationally recognised watch brand in the city, with a collective price tag of over Rs 14 lakh, to be given as return gifts. "Silver plates, silver vase and other such items are also in vogue. Gold coins with chains is another trendy return gift.

So these are the first pics I am putting up. I would really appreciate your feedback.

post pics of indian jewellary

sure , i will open another thread for that

The below is a Rajasthani bride !!! I love her white anarkali and the her jewelery. The bride’s mother is sooo pretty as well.

This is a South Indian Bride. Her name is Veronica, she is from a big political family and this was her wedding to Andhra actor Vishu Manchu.
Some Indian Rupees 70 crores dowry was exchanged during this wedding. Phew !!!

Her wedding was in Hyderabad in Andhra Pradesh and all her jewelery was bought from there as well.

A Delhi wedding of Roshni Nadar, the owner is HCL, India’s leading IT company with revenue of USD 5.5 Billion.
Modern Day princesses I guess.

This is Roshni Nadar

This is a famous Delhi Socialite Payal Sen