Re: Ready made roti
Rabia, I don’t have gas stove top yet ![]()
Readymade roti is a dhabba on real desi roti. Nothing healthier than homemade stuff.
and if u have the atta kneaded (which btw just takes 25 mins), then roti takes maximum 15 mins. If u have practice, then maybe even 10 mins.
I go home after a 10 to 11 hr long day and make fresh roti for dinner. Every day. And wanting fresh roti doesnt mean you’re spoiled. ![]()
I knew when u posted this, people will be on your case that u should make rotis on ur own. Anyway, u can use nan that is in the Indian Pakistani area or the flat out bread. The flat out is healthier than the Pakistani one. There are other tortilla breads that are low cal low sodium and taste like roti. Check ur local grocery store’s Mexican section.
we buy naans from President’s Choice and Dempsters. for nihaarii/paaye, we get the 3 ft long AfGhaanii naan…it goes so well with paaye. ![]()
Ya tortilla bread. yum.
Do you have children and how many roti’s do you make?
this
Who has time to make roti? Anyway I’ll make it once a week, maybe. Other days we’ll eat naan, rice, pasta etc. I’ve tried ready made rotis, the ones you get at the desi story and they’re ok but not as fluffy and soft as homemade ones.
But my husband tells me there’s this new roti maker in production being released soon. All you do is put atta and paani and it kneeds the atta and makes the rotis for you
I need that in my life!!!
^ when I was newly married I got tht atta kneading machine and realized its more work wth tht, uss ko saaf karna dhona, practice is the key, I used to avoid making rotis but once I got hold on it I am done wthin 5 to 10 mins
I’m not talking about the kneading machine. I have that too (and love it). And I don’t make rotis daily cos we don’t eat salan more than once or twice a week.
I’m talking about this ![]()
^ yeah fit ha
I disagree with the last part. Someone who refuses to eat anything but home made roti when other alternatives are available is spoilt.
Some one I know has spoilt her hands making the perfect garam roti for her daughters every single day because they will NOT eat anything else and will make her make the roti no matter how tired there mom is. Thats just not right.
I just get those ready made frozen parhatas from the desi store and fry them in a few drops of oil. Delicious every time.
Ready made roti
I buy fresh, homemade rotis from our local Pakistani grocery store where they make them fresh several times a day…$4.99 for 12 rotis
When I don’t have time to swing by to pick those up, we use either those long afghan bread that have the sesame seeds on top or Deep ke frozen tandoori roti…or we’ll just eat chawal…though he prefers roti, hubby isn’t picky
^ yes if homemade is not available than I prefer the fresh tandoor ki roti, but those ready made available in hypermarket I cant eat those
I don’t mean tandoor ki rotian…the store I buy from has an employee who makes chapatis fresh daily…they have a kitchen set up in the grocery store (there is also a restaraunt on the other side)
I mean to say tandoor ki roti or feshly made on tawa or whtever but ones ready made tht are either freezed or packed ones tht I can never eat
^haan jee maaf karo pata chal gaya hai app ko frozen pasand nahi hai.
i wish someone can make rotis for me and heck willing to pay mentioned price, but abhi tuk koi nahi mila ![]()
Lol same… It’s okay! I am not into making Roti’s. For me it is a huge hassle (I understand it might not be for some). I went through various types of Roti’s/breads to find the one that suites my and my family’s pallet. Just try different Desi and non Desi varieties and see what best meets your needs.
LOLz!
One could always choose the option that suits one’s convenience
I was not talking to you, watch your tone plz