Reading the Quran

lots of people r hopin to finish reading the Quran this Ramadan,
i love reading the English version as its in a language most of us undertand. besides i dnt see mch point in just readin when u dnt understand it
so my question is must we read in arabic or can we read in english/urdu or any other language? and will it count towards finishing a Quran or not?

JazakhAllah in advance

Re: Reading the Quran

sorry i cant give any reference here but as far as i know reading the translation is really a good thing to do and helps us understand Quran better as we're told to understand what we recite but reciting the holy Quran in arabic is recommended and highly beneficial even if you dont understand it..it has it's own merits

While reading the translation in English (or any other language you understand) is a very good thing, it can never replace actually reading the Quran (i.e. in Arabic). Whether you understand it or not, reading the Quran in Arabic has its own virtues. So no, reading the translation will not count toward completing a reading of the Quran as you are asking.

Salaams
“i dnt see mch point in just readin when u dnt understand it”
I guess its a tad bit an off attitude when Describing your respects to the Holy Book.
Anyways, as our friends have pointed out…no. You’ll have to read and complete it in its own Language, Arabic. Its good to understand… but not to abstain from its natural tone and language.
:rose:

Reading in Arabic is useful only if you understand classical arabic, otherwise more beneficial to read translation.

In a Sahih HAdith of the Prophet SAW ....''On the Day of Judgement, Allah will call out peoples names and they will have in their book of deeds sawaab / merits equalling number of qur'aans, one will have 10 some will have 30 some 50 etc etc .. but to the amazement the ppl will ask Allah ..how is this possible .. we are illiterate of the Arabic language, we didnt even touch the Qur'aan ..why because we couldnt read it nor understand it .. so hws it possible to have this many khatams of quraan in our aa'maal naama? Then Allah will reply ..that these are the number of Qur'aan's you have HEARD being read in Taraaveeh behind a Haafiz of the Quraan... ''..

The Prophet SAW said that .. by reading eat word you gain 30 units of Sawaab.. eg. Alif = 10 laam = 10 = meem = 10 .. and if you were to read the whole Quraan ..then try n work out what will be the number of units you will gain ..AND IF YOU ARE READING A TRANSLATION .. HW ARE YOU GONNA WORK OUT THE UNITS .. ?? by reading in arabic it IS possible ..

In Normal Days the sawaab of anything is as its mentioned but when the Month of Ramadhan Comes .. the units not just double. .. tipple or quadrouple but its 70 x ..for example .. in a normal day you read namaz at home and you get a single unit of sawaab, but if you read it in the mosque with Jamaat its 27 times more the sawaab but when ramadhan Shareef arrives . its worth reading 70 ..

Are all five fingers equall ..NO.. similarly ..NOT everyone has to understand the Qur'aan .thas the beauty of it ... its a blessing from Allah ... you may not understand even one word ...but you ll still get the reward ....

Yes reading Translation is benificiall .. but to what extent ... Eg. i know you baji.. and just for your info .. i know you wont be able to tell me much in detail what the translation of any given verse... you ll know the translation but not much further ..cos you lack Islamic Education ..as are many more .. to derive something out of that translation you read ..Translation is for those who know what they are reading .. - to much more to talk on this ..

NOTE; by reading the Arabic .. your guranteed that you arnt reading anything wrong ..and wont bemaking mistakes .. but the translation is done by a Human being .. it can and has possibilities that what if something has been translted wrong ..so to avoid such ..its best to stick to the arabic ...

Now .. Baji ...you knowing all the above what i just said ... come to a conclusion.. and like Many will agree with me .. Stick to the Arabic and you ll get your Khatams.

Good Luck :)

Agreed.

If you are praising the God why would you want to keep tabs hows many time you have said what. I mean on the judgement day are you going to argue if your numbers are different than the God's in the bottom line.

comon FBI yaar you are better than that. Are we talking about praising the God or some bumper sale. I believe only right intentions are required and God knows our hearts more than us.

PLease tell me one thing what was the purpose of the Holy book. To gain sawab or to transmit the message.

And by reading in Arabic how would you be able to get the background details if you don't know the language. Am I the only one little lost at this place?

Yes defnately a person will not be reading wrong but he will be reading what? Nothing.

What do we call the prophet - "The Messenger" - The whole idea is to get the message across not to gain extra point like a video game with super duper deals. The message can only get across properly either a person learns Arabic which cannot be correct because then Islam was never meant for non Arabs. Or the correct translation - where you actualy understand what is being asked of you.

Good day.

well said, br. Fbi.

This is my view on it, and Allah knows best:

It is better to read Arabic, along with transation to get a better understanding of what is being said. Practice makes perfect. Ideally, you'd want to learn arabic (if at all possible), otherwise read arabic w/eng. translation because the beauty and symmetry of the very high caliber arabic used in Quran is unmatched by any other text. That alone says alot.

InshaAllah, i hope we all one day learn to understand Quran as it is meant to be understood. Ameen.

Reciting Quran is considered worship and every worship has rewards, to understand Quran you have to study with the teachers who are expert in Classical Arabic, Tafsir, Islamic History and Hadith.

Understanding or no understanding, reading in any language cannot replace Quran's Arabic recitation. Period.

If understanding was more important than original recitation that during Salat, it would be allowed to do Qirat in English or Urdu so we can understand what we are saying.

my sincere apologies if u took offence to my way of writin
i wanted to say it as in general, theres no point in reading something if u cant understand it i ddnt mean it specially towards the Quran
thnks for ur input tho

JazakAllah khair
thts all i needed to know

JazakAllah

JazakAllah

i realise that but i was just wondering that if one is to read the Quran in any other language would it still count, now i have my answer n im satisfied
JazakAllah khair to all who helped

In that case Islam is designed only for Arabs. God does not want me to be an Arab or even learn the foreign language. He has the power if he wanted I would have born as Arab. Thank you God that I am not.

Maybe this is the whole idea - people dont know what they are saying but they believe in it.

BTW where in Quran or Hadees it says that everything should be in Arabic?

Peace just to add my input ...

The Qur'an is the very Word of Allah (SWT) ... revealed in Arabic ... and we get the blessings to recite it, yet if we choose to forsake that and read the translation only then we are missing a major opportunity.

Remember Allah (SWT) belongs to us all those who can read and not read Arabic also those who can understand and not understand the words, be they translated or otherwise.

I can tell you where but how would you understand it? its in Arabic.

Do both. Read it in Arabic, but also read it in the language your understand so you know what you are reading. Dont focus so much on finishing, focus on reciting correctly, understanding what you are reading, reflecting on the Words of Allah and applying it in your life

I can always find the translation, just point me in the right direction, thank you.

On the other hand maybe I am exempted as I dont understand the language. From now on I will not claim that Islam is universal religion.

Bhai merai ... every Muslim in the whole word is obligated to do all Salats in Arabic. Does that violate the unversilaty of Islam?

You can read Quran in any language to understand it. It has its own rewards and blessings. But still it cannot replace the Arabic version.

Each word of Quran in Arabic has 10 Naikiyaan asscoiated with that. That includes the words of whose meaning no one knows (like Alif Laam Meem, Ha meem ...) .. that shows that those naikyan has nothing to do with translation.

..so saying that reading Quran without understanding is useless means that we should stop reading those huroof-e-muqataat cause no one knows the translation

Point is, understanding Quran is not required to gain the rewards of reciting it in Arabic. Understanding Quran has its own merits and rewards ...

Its fine really :rose:

Jazak Allah. :slight_smile:

Agree to the whole post.

However one question has just occured to me - I will start a separate thread for it. TLK you are more than welcome. STP is he still around, same goes for SOA.

Salaam

Actually, we do know what the Alif Laam Meem, and Ha Meem mean in the initialed verses in the Quran. You will find often in the same verses or in the proceeding verse with the Arabic initials, that they are the proofs/signs of the Quran. Thus, they are responsible for proving the Quran is from GOD. And if it is a proof from GOD, it would have to be a miracle. Otherwise, humans would dispute and say a human could replicate whatever it was. But, how can letters be a miraculous proof from GOD of the Quran? Good question. Watch this.

http://vimeo.com/4541598

peace