Re using clothes.

My mum buys a lot of clothes. She wears about 60% of them and then wants to throw the rest out. She has great taste so what I do is get the ones she doesn’t want/has worn once or twice altered to my size. I think this is a really good way to recycle clothes so they don’t go to waste.

I was wearing one of these altered dresses over the weekend and someone noticed. They asked and I told them because I don’t think it’s something to hide? I got a :bummer: look.

Do people think it’s weird?

Re: Re using clothes.

:no: its not weird.

Nope it's not weird :)

thatz cute...:)

I think it's cute, resourceful and not weird at all!!!

Not at all!
People who think it's wierd have low self-esteem and fear that they'd be looked down upon if God forbid someone thinks they are trying to save money!!!

KP it’s not awkward at all.I wanted to get my mum’s pink and blue suit altered which she’s never worn. My khala sent it about 3 years ago. It’s still with me and it hasn’t been altered. I will get it sorted out when I go to Pak InshAllah and i’m not not giving it to anyone :snooty: ( this is what my mum had originally suggested).

Yay, I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks its a great idea! I'd rather I wore them than someone else?!

I was cleaning out my closet and forget about the fancy clothes, even casual cotton/lawn suits that were worn a handful of times (what with shrinkage and all), I put aside so my mum or sisters can make them smaller for my nieces. I have three nieces who are 7 to 10 years old and because they're growing girls - they only get one or two years of use out of clothes. Rather than spending a fortune on a new wardrobe of desi clothes every year, my sisters buy/sew them a few brand new outfits and the rest are our clothes re-sized to fit them.

I used my khala’s clothes too once upon a time :blush:

It's not weird at all KP..

I wish my mum would give me a few of her sarees, apart from wearing them as they are some of the chiffon ones would make lovely maxi dresses :(

Not wierd. just by alteration and adding accesories you have a brand new outfit.

Say “it’s vintage” :snooty:

There was time when my mom, my sister and I were the same size. We use to borrow each other clothes esp desi clothes.

Nope, not weird at all. Me, my mum and my sister are all similar in size so we always borrow each others clothes. My mum has amazing taste in clothes so I always steal them from her wardrobe! :@:

My mum has amazing taste and had lots of outfits from before married and in the early years of marriage that were/are gorgeous. Fabrics that you just wouldn't be able to find these days. She used to make a lot of her own clothes as well (from shalwar kameez's to trousers, jackets, her registration dress), with finishing and fitting that I still haven't found a tailor that can match them.

She was the same size as I am, so I have worn a lot of her shalwar kameez's and sari's as is and got lots of loads of comments. Other stuff I have adapted; like she had a shalwar kameez in silk chiffon (not from paksitan), so my sister took the original kameez and I had another kameez made out of the duputta.

I don't care what people think about it. My mum used to save up to buy really expensive fabrics from boutique shops in London; I know what I'm wearing is completely original and of quality you just can't find these days.

it's not weird...but perhaps dont tell them it's you moms?? just be like it's new...cuz it is :D

Nothing wrong at all.. Great idea and like stoppit said some of my mums clothes from long ago look brand new as the quality is so so good

its not weird at all!!! i have an aunty who always has beautifully sown suits which she never wears, so she always passes them onto me. My mum alters them to fit me..and hey presto...i have a new suit :) theres nothing wrong with it at all..ur just making use of something that would otherwise be in a bin somewhere :$

It is not wiered but I know what KP is saying here.
I personally know so many ppl who DONOT repeat clothes, and most of them wear expensive clothes, most of them go to pakistan 1-2 times a year load up suitcases after suitcases of latest expensive kapre and wear it just once, unbelieveable. Such a waste of time and energy and money off corse. I know someone who got bunch of dresses from yasir waheed, shehla chitoor, and bunto, like few dozen of them for her shadi, and have only worn those once, and keeps getting more, because she does not repeat, my jaw drops in an awe, honestly.
I don't mind getting my moms and kahalas kapre, esp old ones they are so rare. But when I was in grade 9,10, 11, since my khala is very petitenad I could fit in her clothes with minor alterations, (she used to make tons of very nice and stylish clothes, she was college principle) I used to wear like half of her nice ones that she would wear 1-2 times.

Not wierd at all .. you know , religiously speaking , we will be held answerable for everything that Allah blesses us with, on the day of judgement .. so I think mashallah you are being resourceful and this will bring you great results in the afterlife ...

My mother never wastes anything ... I take my sisters worn clothes sometimes and give them mine occasionally ... its natural to be bored of stuff ... so instead of wasting it just share it with someone close ... no harm in it at all ..

KP..its not weired at all...but i can understand how you would had feel...someone send my khala a dress from pakistan but it was too tight so she just wear it once (just too try if it fits) and gave it to me....it was really lovely dress, and then one of my cousin notice it and she told me why are you wearing used clothes, ewww...

i was so upset...anyway if in future anything happen like this say you and your mom had same dress