Re: Favourite Desi Restarants in Bham?
I’m doing physics c/wrk,…who cares about refraction Kazu,.tell me who cares??
Kyun???
I feel short and frumpy in chapal!!!![]()
Mango Lassi…
agar achi mango lassi hoh toh phir khaneh ki bhi zarurat nahi…!!!
Can’t be good for my Weight Watchers…but hey, I am allowing myself a day off…![]()
and u feel tall and model-like in heels!?..![]()
Now did I say that???![]()
I'm going to Spicewoods in Solihull (West Mids) this week as part of a works-do, has anyone tried it out?
After spending some more time around ladypool road I can only recommend 4 (no order):
Al-Faislal on Stoney Lane. It is an attmpt to copy Mumtaz frankly. Spinning met police sign, similar decor, concept and prices. Curry was good in the evenings, nan where very nice but £1.80 a piece. Samosa fresh and well made.
Lahore Kabab House: Had a mixed experience. After my first visit food has been consistently good. I can highly recommend the sheikh kebabs and Lahori Special which is Lamb on the bone like your mum would make. Have a wide selection of grills including rump steaks. Rassmali was some of the best I had too. Samosas, Katlash and other non best sellers not the best IMO. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Prices reasonable too.
Kafe Karachi: More of a quick bite than a restaurant. Informal atmosphere, always reminds me of Pakistan. Sheikh kebabs are good, masala fish, chicken fillet burgers and other grills very good. Currys are above average but nothing special. Free complementary tea if you ask and it tastes sublime. Friendly on your pocket but probably wouldn't bring a guest here.
Shere Khan at Star City. Mon-Sat 12-4PM have the lunch menu. £5 gets you a starter and curry. Starters consists of peri chicken, samosas and a few others I have not tried. Peri chicken not as good as Nandos next doors but samosas are good. Main meal of a curry (Balti, Jalfrazi) with either a nan or rice. Nan's are always well made; good texture. At times the quality of chicken in currys can be a bit disappointing i.e. leg meat mixed in. On my last visit the chicken was good stuff. Have a fresh juice bar here andmake sure you try the Mango Lassi goes great with the food.
Another vote for Al Faisal from me.