Raza's second coming

By Shahid A. Hashmi
Special correspondent

Hasan Raza is just 20 years old now, but when he made his debut in Fasialabad in 1996-7 he was only 14 - the youngest Test player ever.

Now he is back in the side, and was the one shining light for the Pakistani batsmen in the final Test in Sharjah.

He topscored in both innings, hitting a composed 54 not out in the first innings and by Monday night he was unbeaten on 56 after Pakistan had followed on.

The unassuming lad from Karachi had exactly the sort of successful comeback he was seeking, having had only two Test innings prior to the match.

When I look back I feel dejected that I have lost some crucial years

Hasan Raza
When he made his Test debut, many believed he would serve Pakistan for a long time.

“It was like a dream come true, playing for Pakistan at an age when others merely dream of it,” Raza told BBC Sport Online.

Back then, on a traditionally slow Faisalabad track, Raza impressed with his technique by making 27 in the only innings in which he was required to bat.

However, he subsequently lost his way like many other youngsters in Pakistan cricket.

“Raza may not show his disappointment but being close to him I know how deprived he feels after losing his place,” says his elder brother Mumtaz.

A successful tour to Australia with the Pakistan under-19 side where he scored three hundreds brought him back into the reckoning.

His second chance in Test came against the same opponents he made his debut against, Zimbabwe, in Lahore in the 1998-99 series which Pakistan lost 1-0.

Raza alone showed good technique in Sharjah

Raza made just three, dismissed by the leg-spinner Adam Huckle.

In between he had played 16 one-dayers for Pakistan with modest success, scoring 242 runs with a highest score of 77, but off the field activities halted his career.

Raza, together with childhood friend Shahid Afridi and Atiquz Zaman, invited female guests to their hotel rooms during the 2000 Singapore Challenge tournament.

The trio were suspended by the Pakistan Cricket Board for ICC Trophy in Kenya 2000 and fined 50,000 rupees each.

Dropped down to the Pakistan A side, Raza captained the team to a series win in Sri Lanka last year.

The Pakistan production line
He was the top-scorer in the three unofficial Tests, making centuries in Dambulla and Galle.

But despite this and the 670 runs he made in the Quaid-e-Azam trophy the selectors continued to overlook him for the full Pakistan side.

He was eventually recalled only after a media campaign and more impressive form during the home series against Sri Lanka A last month.

Raza scored a match-winning hundred in the first match at Faisalabad and was duly drafted back into the senior team for the matches against Australia.

“When I look back I feel dejected that I have lost some crucial years but I am confident that I have the capacity to make amends, I will,” he says.

“I want to play for a long time, like Javed Miandad and Zaheer Abbas.”

I hear he captains the U-19 side. It's a shame he's so young otherwise he'd probably do a good job for the senior team as well judging by the way he went about his job today. He'll have to prove himself over a period of time though, he's made a good start that's all.

Bank on it:

Hassan would play much better than Imran Nazir.

PT bhai, I remember just months back when you were defending Imran Nazir while I was against his selection.

Hasan is a good player, he should open for a while, he is alot older than before and plays good cricket.

I personally had a chance to see him in Houston Double Wicket Contest couple months back, he hit Wasim Akram for 3 straight 6s.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
PT bhai, I remember just months back when you were defending Imran Nazir while I was against his selection.

Yeah, I was but Imran has lost his chance. Hassan Raza and Faisal Iqbal should be given chance on the tour of Zimbabve and South Africa.

21.6 Warne to Hasan Raza, FOUR, a lovely cover drive unleased to a
tossed up ball

28.4 Lee to Hasan Raza, FOUR, a full toss middled through the covers

28.5 Lee to Hasan Raza, FOUR, overpitched and square dr
iven behind
point

29.5 Warne to Hasan Raza, FOUR, short and pulled to mid wicket

30.4 Lee to Hasan Raza,
FOUR, nicely timed square drive to third man

36.4 ME Waugh to Hasan Raza, FOUR, full toss and slammed through the
covers

39.3 Ponting to Hasan Raza, FOUR, lovely laid back drive past backward
point

41.5 Warne to Hasan Raza, two runs, lovely cover drive, Lee chases it
down and Raza moved his feet well too

55.6 Warne to Hasan Raza, no run, forward in defence, Raza dealing with
this in good style

62.1 McGrath to Hasan Raza, FOUR, Handsome shot! Down the track and a
cracking cover drive for four to bring up his fifty, played that
inside-out

52.3 Bichel to Hasan Raza, (noball) FOUR, a fortuitios no ball, was
trying to slice it and got an edge to third man

52.3 Bichel to Hasan Raza, FOUR, a good looking square drive past
backward point
52.4 Bichel to Hasan Raza, FOUR, a lovely shot through the covers, came
down the wicket and drove, a second fifty for the rediscovered
Hasan Raza

52.3 Bichel to Hasan Raza, (noball) FOUR, a fortuitios no ball, was
trying to slice it and got an edge to third man

55.5 ME Waugh to Hasan Raza, FOUR, juicy half volley outside the off,
Raza punishes it, cracking cover drive for four

51.4 Warne to Hasan Raza, FOUR, erratic Warne! Full toss outside the
off, slashed down to third-man for four

I have been saying this before Hasan made his come back.................................. I LOVE HASAN's BATTING..........he is the man!

Yup he looked good :k: Maybe he can fill in that consistent middle-order position that we need… and then we still have to find stable openers!

Life is so unfair...Yaar iss Hasan Raza ko dekh kaar dil jaal jata hai...

this kid has done nothing in his life except playing cricket...when i was @his age my mom use to beat the hell out of me 4 staying out late playing cricket..all i did for 25years is rub my ass and complete my education...and this dude who can't even speak english is claiming place in cricket team..not to mention playing for clubs in England...

Now some one tell me...how is Fnuke???...

Yeh Kya baat hoi????.. iss se tu acha tha..main bhee khoob cricket khelta or parents ko golli lagata rehata...

Oye Hasan Kakey...College tu finish kaar lay!..phir Cricket khelna..

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *
Life is so unfair...Yaar iss Hasan Raza ko dekh kaar dil jaal jata hai...

this kid has done nothing in his life except playing cricket...when i was @his age my mom use to beat the hell out of me 4 staying out late playing cricket..all i did for 25years is rub my ass and complete my education...and this dude who can't even speak english is claiming place in cricket team..not to mention playing for clubs in England...

Now some one tell me...how is Fnuke???...

Yeh Kya baat hoi????.. iss se tu acha tha..main bhee khoob cricket khelta or parents ko golli lagata rehata...

Oye Hasan Kakey...College tu finish kaar lay!..phir Cricket khelna..

Beta, putli gulli say nikkal lay.
Aap bann nahee sakkay- aur woh bann gaya.
There is a major difference,

*Originally posted by Nussairee: *

Beta, putli gulli say nikkal lay.
Aap bann nahee sakkay- aur woh bann gaya.
There is a major difference,

Hahaha..Nahee yaar..i never regret what i have got out of my life..Allah Ka shukkar hai..i am quite self actualized...

thanx for your kind words!!!