Rasool and Nabi

Salam to all

I would like to initiate an acadamic discussion in a serious mode. Please be patient and gentle in your querries and replies.

Rasool aur Nabi main kia farq hai? Kya donon same meanings ke liye istemaal hote hain, interchangable hain ya dono entirely saperate meanings rakhte hain?

Iltemase dua

the literal meaning of Nabi is one who discloses the unseen after having been informed by Allah. Rasool ul Allah means the one who is sent by Allah.
A Nabi has to be a Rasul, for if he is not a Rasul he cannot be the recipient of knowledge of the unseen, as indicated by the verse: 72:27,28.
So Nabi and Rasool are two sides of the same coin.

Re: Rasool and Nabi

Every messenger is a prophet but every prophet isn't a messenger. There were thousands of Nabi's but 300+ Rasools.

"The people used to be one community when God sent THE PROPHETS as bearers of good news, as well as warners. HE SENT DOWN WITH THEM THE SCRIPTURE, bearing the truth, to judge among the people in their disputes" 2:213.

"God took a covenant from the PROPHETS, saying, "I will give you the SCRIPTURE AND WISDOM. Afterwards, a MESSENGER will come to CONFIRM all existing scriptures. You shall believe in him and support him." He said, "Do you agree with this, and pledge to fulfill this covenant?" They said, "We agree." He said, "You have thus borne witness, and I bear witness along with you." 3:81

Peace kchughtai

I disagree ... Please see brother Jafri's post ... A Rasool has to be a Nabi, but not all Nabi's are Rasool.

Peace and Blessings of Allah (SWT) be on them all.

• Nabi means annointed or chosen

• Rasool comes from R-S-L essentially utterance of a message given to him - more pragmatically the portrayer of God's Word.

It is obvious from the meanings of these two that the Rasool hence is chosen, but not every chosen one is necessarily fulfilling the fucntion of "Uttering God's Word"

Note: that Nabi is a title, or a passive state ... and Rasool is a function or an active state.

One defines what he is the other defines what he does. These two cannot be two sides of the same coin for this reason. Rather one is a specialised form of the other.

ok. so this ayat tells us that Allah sent 'prophets' who were 'mubashir' [bearers] of glad tidings and 'Nazir' [warners]. and scripture came with them.
they (prophets) bore scriptures and were judge for the disputes of the people based on the truth that the scripture carry.

If you read this ayat carefully. this is in stark contrast with your stated definition of nabi and rasool

"God took a covenant from the PROPHETS, saying, "I will give you the SCRIPTURE AND WISDOM. Afterwards, a MESSENGER will come to CONFIRM all existing scriptures. You shall believe in him and support him." He said, "Do you agree with this, and pledge to fulfill this covenant?" They said, "We agree." He said, "You have thus borne witness, and I bear witness along with you." 3:81

Here also. there is indication that Prophets were given books/scripture and messenger will come to confirm the scriptures.

How does these ayat prove your point

How did you conclude that?

Peace and Blessings of Allah (SWT) be on them all.

• Nabi means annointed or chosen

• Rasool comes from R-S-L essentially utterance of a message given to him - more pragmatically the portrayer of God's Word.

It is obvious from the meanings of these two that the Rasool hence is chosen, but not every chosen one is necessarily fulfilling the fucntion of "Uttering God's Word"

would you please elaborate 'uttering' God's word?
Do you think that prophets don't 'utter' God's word and remain mute inspite of being chosen ones?
Another question: Do both messengers and prophets get revelations from Allah?

Note: that Nabi is a title, or a passive state ... and Rasool is a function or an active state.

please explain the above statement.

I think what you guys are trying to tell is that there are two types of Allah's appointed ones
1) Who bring a new message/law from Allah. In other words, they are law givers
2) Those who come to follow the existing scripture and explain it to others and make judgments based on the existing scripture

Peace kchughtai

You asked me a question about how did I conclude that all Rasool are Nabi, but not all Nabi are Rasool. It is fairly simple ... All men are infact human, but not all humans are men. Just as men are a subset of the larger group human in the same way Rasool is a subset of the group Nabi.

A Nabi is the chosen one to mediate the matters of the ghaib from Allah to the people. A Rasool however, does this with a holy text. They both mediate matter to the ghaib from Allah to the people, but they do not both have holy texts.

To prove that all of the mursaleen had texts is to simply look at who in Islamic scriptures is called a prophet and who is called a messenger.

The rest of your post is going to take this conversation in to fallacious intellectualism ... the most pragmatic way to deal with this question is to see who is called a prophet and who it called a messenger and analyse the qualities. Then you will get your answer. Let me see ... I'll get a bit of info for you now inshaAllah ...

A Rasool brought a new shariat ... Nabi if not Rasool would carry the message of previous Rasool ..

Hazrat Moosa was a Rasool but Hazrat Haroon was a Nabi ...

^ thats what we have learnt thru the established schools of Islamic education over the centuries....

but there r those who come out and say "hey u know all the people over 1400 years got it wrong and now we have the right answer"....

Salams
It is mentioned in Surae Shura verse 13 that "He hath ordained for you that religion (Shara`a) which He commended unto Noah, and that which We inspire in thee (Muhammad), and that which We commended unto Abraham and Moses and Jesus, saying: Establish the religion, and be not divided therein. Dreadful for the idolaters is that unto which thou callest them. Allah chooseth for Himself whom He will, and guideth unto Himself him who turneth (toward Him)."

According to above ayat all the relegious scholars unanimously accepted that 'sahiban-e-Shariat" prophets/Messengers are only five named above. so as per TLK there can just be five Rasools.
Further TLK do you really mean that Hazrat moosa was a Rasool and not Nabi and Hazrat Haroon was a Nabi and not the rasool? have you ever read the Quraan?

nahi sorry, quran nahi parhaa aaj tuk. Aaj se parh loon gaa.

Bhai jan, please re read what I said. I agreed with everyone’s statement that “A Rasool has to be a Nabi, but not all Nabi’s are Rasool”

I do not know authenticity of numbers you mentioned but as far as I know, concept you mentioned is right. Here is what I know:

Nabi = Prophet ... Rasul = Messenger ... All Rasul are Nabi but all Nabi are not Rasul.

Both Nabi and Rasul are chosen people (by birth) and they are sent to this world with mission that is to guide masses around them in following Shariah. Anyhow, if they are Nabi and not Rasul than they would not bring new message but would guide people in following existing Shariah. If they are Rasul than along with guiding people, they would bring new message from Allah or bring message from Allah that is renewal of old message or addition to old message (It is not necessary that a Rasul will bring new Shariah).

Rasul/Nabi can come for their own family members, for extended family members, for their community (that includes extended family members plus people living around them). Anyhow, Prophet (SAW) was only Nabi/Rasul who came for whole humanity.

For Instance:
Ibrahim (AS) was Rasul and his message was not for community but for his own family members (him and his descendents).

Musa (AS) and Prophet (SAW) were Rasul who brought message and new Shariah with them. Difference is that, Musa (AS) brought message for his extended family members, that is, children of Yaqub (AS), grandson of Ibrahim (AS). As for Prophet (SAW), he was only Rasul (Messenger) who brought message for whole humanity.

Dawood (AS) and Isa (AS) were Rasul and brought message with them, but it was not new Shariah. Both Rasul were renewing Shariah [modifying existing Shariah of Musa (AS)] but widely were following Shariah of Musa (AS). Their messages were also for children of Yaqub (AS). It is possible that Suliaman (AS) was also Rasul as Jews claim that they have a book from him.

As for Nabi, all above were Nabi. Anyhow, apart from them above, Haroon (AS), Yahya (AS), Yaqub (AS), Yusuf (AS). Zakariya (AS), Salih (AS), Lut (AS), etc ... were Nabi as they guided people but did not bring any message from Allah.

Allah has sent many Rasuls and Nabis all over the world in every community. Unfortunately, their messages got corrupted over time by their followers hence it is very difficult to determine any particular name to be Rasul/Nabi with certainty other than names of Rasul/Nabi mentioned in Quran.

Salams
Atleast your point is that Hazrat Haroon A.S is Nabi and not Razool as you mentioned that avery Nabi is not necessarily be a Rasool. Please consider following Ayat just for instance and re-formulate your beleive:
Sura Ta~Ha
47. Fa`tiyahu faqoola inna rasoola rabbika faarsil maAAana banee isra-eela wala tuAAaththibhum qad ji/naka bi-ayatin min rabbika waalssalamu AAala mani ittabaAAa alhuda

1. "So go ye both to him, and say, 'Verily we are apostles sent by thy Lord: Send forth, therefore, the Children of Israel with us, and afflict them not: with a Sign, indeed, have we come from thy Lord! and peace to all who follow guidance!

Secondly I would like to ask a question from all those whith whom’s statement you are agreed upon that It is unanimously agreed upon by all muslim schollars and clerics that to be a Nabi one has to be a 'Human being". Do you think the same rule is applied for Rasools also?

Iltemase dua

Actually, it is reversed. Prophets are scripture-bearing messengers, while messengers confirm scripture as clearly stated above in 3:81. To reinforce that prophets come with scripture, see Sura 2:213. Here are many translations to show you they all say the same thing. It is Quranically proven that prophets come with scripture and messengers confirm scripture. Thus, every prophet is a messenger, but not every messenger is a prophet.

Pickthall[2:213] Mankind were one community, and Allah sent (unto them) prophets as bearers of good tidings and as warners, and revealed therewith the Scripture with the truth that it might judge between mankind concerning that wherein they differed. And only those unto whom (the Scripture) was given differed concerning it, after clear proofs had come unto them, through hatred one of another. And Allah by His Will guided those who believe unto the truth of that concerning which they differed. Allah guideth whom He will unto a straight path.

Khalifa[2:213] The people used to be one community when GOD sent the prophets as bearers of good news, as well as warners. He sent down with them the scripture, bearing the truth, to judge among the people in their disputes. Ironically, those who received the scripture were the ones who rejected any new scripture, despite clear proofs given to them. This is due to jealousy on their part. GOD guides those who believe to the truth that is disputed by all others, in accordance with His will. GOD guides whoever wills in a straight path.

Shakir2:213 people are a single nation; so Allah raised prophets as bearers of good news and as warners, and He revealed with them the Book** with truth**, that it might judge between people in that in which they differed; and none but the very people who were given it differed about it after clear arguments had come to them, revolting among themselves; so Allah has guided by His will those who believe to the truth about which they differed and Allah guides whom He pleases to the right path.

Sher Ali[2:213] Mankind were one community, then they differed among themselves, so ALLAH raised Prophets as bearers of good tidings and as warners, and sent down with them the book containing the truth that HE might judge between the people wherein they differed. But then they began to differ about the Book, and none differed about it except those to whom it was given, after clear Signs had come to them, out of envy towards one another. Now has ALLAH, by HIS command, guided the believers to the truth in regard to which they (the unbelievers) differed; and ALLAH guides whomsoever HE pleases to the right path.
Peace
submitmj

Oh lol I mixed em up, sorry bout that.