Rasm-e Henna/Mehndi

I’ve been against it uptill now but recently heard it was introduced in the Subcontinent by Muslims, now me thinks it’s okay and might allow them to have one at mine.

I still think the yellow clothes and those saffron flowers smells a bit fishy and unoriginal, is that a Hindu tradition?

What about when they plait/unplait the girls hair, is that Hindu too?

I don’t like the red bridal outfit neither, I’ve seen some brides wear silver-green or gold SK and Garaara, that’s so much more cultured and Muslim and original. :snooty:

Re: Rasm-e Henna/Mehndi

u r too snooty to be a guy…cultured and original, ahem ahem…:snooty:

Where did you hear that? Did you investigate to find out if that indeed is the truth?

Yes, It is.

Yes.

all the rasms including mehdi, mayooN etc except nikkah and valima are adopted from indian culture.

Yeah and those are the ones tha tmake a wedding fun. :nuch:

Grrrr.

If we were Indians I wouldn’t mind but we’re Pakistanis and I feel the need to have a Paki culture of our own. :frowning:

I like the proper Urdu culture brought by the elite Mohajirs from northern India, I hope it dies down in India then we can claim it all as our own but even then except me all the other Punjabis and Pathans sound like JAAHIL mofos with their accents and tones… And we’ve unneccesarily over Arabised our Urdu. :mad:

^ ranjhan yaar..that is the beauty of culture..it changes over time, influences and gets influenced. I have been to a few weddings of muslim friends..those that have the whole dancing/party atmosphere to the most dry and drab ones. being south asian as I am ..i lean towards the party one..it is in our DNA. :nuch:

its not that bad really.. its all in the name of fun n halla gulla. i think they are the JAAN of the wedding ceremonies.
whats a wedding without ur cousins doing luddi, the mithai and peendiyaaN :p
at my nikkah we partied till 5 in the morning! i enjoyed every bit of it.

oh ranjhan..mera pyara bhai in Islam ( i didnt mean to sound cheesy..i meant it)..there is nothing muslim about wearing a green gharara as opposed to a red one. women who got married in the Prophet's swt days..wore an assortment of colors...(back then the arabs didnt always wear white ya know..my persian side wears white too now) and i don't understand why you want to separate culture so much..it doesn't even matter..culture is sooooo unimportant..its pretty much in the same boat as nationalism when you break it down. ( yuck..right?) i agree with you that the hindu traditions like rasam as you said..or other traditions..that's wrong..cuz the way i see it..these traditions have some religious backing to them (which are not islamic)..but wearing red..i highly doubt it..cuz even in India..brides these days wear tons of other colors..so..i dunno. i think true pakistanis (cuz pakistan does claim to be islamic in nature)..shud not worry about culture...not try so much to develop their culture( just let the pre existing hindu culture fade out)..cuz..essentially..culture is like setting urself up to go down some tubes..within Islam. wow..i really get into this..cuz i always worry about culture being an importance to Muslims..when thats just sooo dangerous.

not really because mehndi had been done in the Middle East for ages

wear what you like. I’m gonna wear white

yeah mendhis are cool..i dunno about you guys..but we just sit around apply mendhi (duh..)..talk..laugh..order pizza and stay up all night..i think with you guys..its more of a formal event.

man that sounds like soo much fun and less hassel. I don’t like the idea of a huge mendi at a hall and dressing all up. Anyhow, at my mendhi all I know is I’m going to wear a green dress with silver jewelry a yemeni thing :slight_smile:

ohh thats awesome. mashAllah. i'll prolly wear silver too..iA..cuz i dunno show off any gold ya know? and plus u gotta pay all that zakat on everything..im gonna try to aavoid gold and diamonds and rubies, and silk. so ur yemeni or ur marrying a yemeni? is it anytime soon?

everyone has his own version to describe mehndi....:)

we as a family just gather ....all close relatives only ....no groom's relatives etc.....we chat n sing (no music) n apply mehndi ....n much on anything edible available .....no peel;ay joRay for us ....its just a family gathering .....everyone gathers to make it a memorble time for bride before her wedding ....no dances ...no fancy lights etc.....

n trust me we love it that way .....i don't think anyone in my family will want it otherwise :)

hehe..nicee. sounds like how we do it..its just family time for us.

I’m yemeni gonna marry a kashmiri

Reza actually many Muslim Imams have said that if a woman wears any of her gold at least once a year she does not have to pay zakat for it. However, if it is all packed away in the bank like coins and all than you have to pay zakat for it.

that sounds like soo much fun.