Rashid Latif VS Moin Khan

Now a days PCB is having some trouble deciding the best wicket keeper for the world cup, there are four wicket keepers who were competing for the job. In which there were two new Kamran Akmal and Hamayun Farhat but because of lack of experience they are no more contenders for title. So now there are only two wicket Keepers Rashid Latif and Moin Khan. Who do you think deserve to be in the next world cup? and why?

Margayi Maut magar Gaam nahin bhoola mujhko.
Jaan SAhib Na Kabhi Dil say yeh Kanta nikla.

Kuch Din to Baso Meri Ankhon main, Phir Khwab agar ho jao to Kiya.

I would go for Rashid latif, he is technically a much better wicketkeeper than Moin khan but Moin is a better batsman

Rashid Latif has so much improved in his batting..he is becoming more of a defensive batsman..Last time I checked his average in the last 10-15 matches was around 30.00
which is good!

Whoever gets the job is gonna make sure to be immpressive.The competition is so intense and I'm sure there wont be any lacklustre performance by any of the Wicketkeeper, they just can't afford it..

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 20, 2002).]

Rashid Latif over Moin Khan anyday, no doubt Moin is a good wicketkeeper but Rashid is just better and his batting is getting better every match, no doubt a wc keeper.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

Rashid is a better wicket keeper but Moin Khan is a much better batsmen. Moin is also a very competent wicketkeeper and therefore my vote goes to Moin because while he is not as good a wicket keeper as Rashid his batting in ODI's has been very good. Who can forget his fireworks against Australia in the last world cup premliminary round match where Pakistan scored 150 in the last ten overs mainly due to Moin. There are many other examples. Better still take them both and play one of them according to the dictates of the match.

I would go for Rashif Latif. Excellent keeper, batting is getting better and can perform when needed. There are few examples in situations he has performed when required.

My vote will go for Rashid Latif . He is inarguably the best wicket keaper in Pakistan.

I know Moin is arguably better batsmen than Rashid but a catch droped or a stump missed of a class batsmen like Gilcrist, 10Dulkar, Lara or evan byes and lbyes can cost more than what he can make!

If you can smile when things go wrong, you have someone in mind to blame.

Must I remind you who was the man behind our 92 semi final win? It was Moin!!! Moin was a fit hitter of the ball, and could loft the score in a matter of a few balls!!! We need him in the world cup... Rashid Latif may be a good keeper, but hes not suited to the world cup!!! Moin has plenty of experience as a captain too!!! He was a very vocal keeper and we need him for the world cup...

Rashid is more reliable in batting and wicket keeping than Moin overall.

That makes the difference.

Play with Rashid since he has been gaining valuable experience. We dont want major changes b4 the wc.

i for one have a different opinion. NONE.

yeah theyre good but theyve been in the game too long. give some others some experience too. i like the fact that new players appear in batting and bowling. a lil chance should be given to other wickeys too. rashid and moin have pretty much dominated the wicket keeper scene.

Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transistion thats troublesome -Isaac Asimov

Originally posted by ehsan:
Rashid is a better wicket keeper but Moin Khan is a much better batsmen. Moin is also a very competent wicketkeeper and therefore my vote goes to Moin because while he is not as good a wicket keeper as Rashid his batting in ODI's has been very good. Who can forget his fireworks against Australia in the last world cup premliminary round match where Pakistan scored 150 in the last ten overs mainly due to Moin. There are many other examples. Better still take them both and play one of them according to the dictates of the match.

To me the selection criteria for a WC is to be his keeping.It is of no use if a keeper makes 40 runs in 25 deleiveries n then drops two easy catches or gave away byes.

If the two are equivalnet in keeping then other things like batting , attitude towards the game n team performance is to be considered.

Also i think pakistan already had many Mr. Fires .. n I think we need some Mr. Ice too.

One more thing which I dont like in moin khan is his constant shouting n giving ( rather forcing) suggestions to the bowlers from behind the wicket.I have seen some times even saqlain getting frustrated by his remarks.

So for me Rashid latif

Life is like a piano, What u get out of it depends on how u play it.

Originally posted by cHEeGUm:
**i for one have a different opinion. NONE.

yeah theyre good but theyve been in the game too long. give some others some experience too. i like the fact that new players appear in batting and bowling. a lil chance should be given to other wickeys too. rashid and moin have pretty much dominated the wicket keeper scene.

Maybe after the world cup for now on Rashid Latif zindabad and have Moin for standby because Rashid Latif is more of weaker of the 2, he gets dehydrated very quickly, it has happend on more than 2 occasions, twice in England and one against Nz in Lahore.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?

I would vote for a person who would be a mixture of both Rashid Latif and Moin Khan

No seriously I would go for Moin Khan his runs always helped Pak in past.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Originally posted by Spock:
*Must I remind you who was the man behind our 92 semi final win? It was Moin!!! Moin was a fit hitter of the ball, and could loft the score in a matter of a few balls!!! We need him in the world cup... Rashid Latif may be a good keeper, but hes not suited to the world cup!!! Moin has plenty of experience as a captain too!!! He was a very vocal keeper and we need him for the world cup... *

exactly...he played an important role in wcup '99 too.

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Has anyone noticed Rashid’s keeping in last five one dayers???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

It was anything but good. He has taken few good catches YES but has given alot of byes as well. Who ever said None I agree with him but as world cup is approaching I would go for Moin. After that its None. We need a new one.

Well said

Well said MoonStar, we are looking for a keeper not a batsman we already have someone like Akram who can score 40 runs of 20 balls.

Fanta if you are talking about byes than you should seenhow high shoaib's boucers were even if Moin Khan would have stood on Rashid Latif's shoulder, he still wouldn't be able to catch. we just have too fast bowlers and its almost impossible sometimes to to catch them.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**Well said MoonStar, we are looking for a keeper not a batsman we already have someone like Akram who can score 40 runs of 20 balls.

I might not agree here..Keepers are suppose to bat and we do need a keeper who can bat pretty consistently..If rashid performs terrible with the bat but not with the gloves then I have to go with Moin khan..He might not be the best keeper but he can bat and when it comes to keeping there is not much difference between each other both of them are world class gifted wicket keepers..

Guys, moin khans constant shouting and appealing will actually help keep the morale up and pressurize the umpires... It helps... As for Rashid, his sad expression can make our bowlers cry...

While on Wicketkeeping and wicketkeepers, Here is an intresting article :-
http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/JUN/019963_CI_20JUN2002.html

"At present, unlike England and India, Pakistan has at least four good wicket-keepers including the better known Rashid Latif and Moin Khan. The two are ferociously contesting for the one single prestigious spot in the Pakistan team. Both very well know the victor takes all and the vanquished disappears into anonymity. And frankly, ‘demotion’ to play first-class cricket in Pakistan is a boring chore if one cannot make the Test team.

The two contenders have their own ‘godfathers’ in the current set up and both, selectors and administrators are divided right down the middle. Even the team members have their own opinion but are not making it known yet.

The Pakistan cricket management decision to include Rashid Latif in the squad has been willy-nilly accepted by the Pakistan team. It’s no secret that Rashid Latif has been selected as a matter of expediency in the backdrop of gambling, match-fixing allegations and whistle blowing. The Pakistan cricket team’s position is rather unique in the sense that no other team except South Africa has the accuser and the accused playing in the same team.

The team has its own mercurial and unpredictable nature which is not the mathematical sum of the individual member characters. A cricketer of immense proven talent does not automatically find a place in the squad. The selectors are not all-powerful and at times, even in tandem with the Chairman, do not have the last word. A cricketer of proven talent must get a ‘nod of approval’ from the indispensable members of the team and with passage of time, the cricketers come to know which players form this ‘core’.

The team captain should wield great power in selection matters but often he himself is on knife-edge, fighting for a place. The ‘nod of approval’ is not directly or necessarily related to player power. It is a balancing act performed by the core who know the game and its associated politics inside out. This very core can delay the inclusion of a Shoaib Akhtar and can delay the exclusion of a Saleem Malik. More recently, It did not let young 'keeper/batsman Kamran Akmal make his debut. So important is the ‘nod of approval’ from the senior players.

Rashid Latif had been brought into the fold for the sake of peace and harmony but two young wicket-keepers were ignored, possibly due to unsound judgment or some cogent political considerations.

The case of Rashid Latif and Moin Khan is complicated. Both are not young and have been around a long time but they know what this game is about. As things stand, both are not good enough to set the house on fire in the World Cup. Since the selection choice is ostensibly between them, a candid comparison of abilities and usefulness to the team would not be inappropriate.

Rashid Latif is well into his 33rd year, an age at which a wicket-keeper has lots of experience behind him. He has consciously eliminated all unnecessary body movements to conserve energy and remain fit. However, he has slowed down some and is a bit more lethargic now. His concentration lapses are becoming noticeable due to his inconsistent collection. Diving to the left and right, once his hallmark, has been reduced to an ordinary slide and push on the knees. Rashid has never been a ‘great’ wicket-keeper when spinners are on. One doesn’t often see him cheer on the bowlers and fielders. Could this be because rallying shouts are an outcome of youthfulness, camaraderie, and unity with other players?

Unfortunately Rashid is also prone to neck injuries and had a difficult time in South Africa when excruciating pain stopped him from playing two Test matches in 1999 when he was the captain. At one stage, he insisted on having an operation but luckily, Dan Keisel, then the Pakistan physio, came to his rescue and put him right with just a neck collar and exercises. It is a recurring problem said ‘Dr Dan’.

Since only one wicket keeper is selected for a series or tournament, one cannot but help have the ‘all eggs in one basket’ feeling. He is an improved batsman now but only against medium pace or ordinary spin but is dependable when batting at number 7 or 8. Any attempt by the captain or team management to turn him into an instant pure middle order batsman may end in disaster despite his straight bat technique. In a difficult situation as a batsman, he can steady the ship but to play a winning knock is not his forte.

On the plus side, there is a kind of a beauty about his 'keeping, the ball still lodges gently and nicely into his gloves. He is enjoying his selection and the fame that goes with it. He does not have many friends in the team and he doesn’t care about that either.

Moin Khan has a lot of confidence in his ability as a wicket-keeper/batsman. He does not have the same natural talent as Rashid Latif but is very effective when in form. What he lacks in natural ability he makes up with practice and hard work and is one of the most physically fit cricketers in Pakistan. He is a good batsman who sometimes astonishes connoisseurs with improvised strokes that are kind of sweeps and cuts and what not. At present he is also out of form as he showed during the recent National One-Day Championship that his team won. He is struggling hard to regain the lost form and a place in the side but without any success. The present senior members of the Pakistan team strongly prefer Moin to veteran Rashid and this feeling may surface at an opportune time.

To end the controversy, the administrators once wanted to play both, one as a middle order batsman and the other as wicket-keeper. It was later agreed neither was good enough to make the side as a pure batsman. Clearly, their batting abilities can only be appreciated when combined with 'keeping skills. "

AK

Originally posted by sherrybaba:
** I might not agree here..Keepers are suppose to bat and we do need a keeper who can bat pretty consistently..If rashid performs terrible with the bat but not with the gloves then I have to go with Moin khan..He might not be the best keeper but he can bat and when it comes to keeping there is not much difference between each other both of them are world class gifted wicket keepers..

When you look for a wicket keeper who can wicket keep first and then knows how to bat, look at the past great wicket keepers, Dujon, Marsh, Wasim Raja, they all were known for their great wicket keeping then scoring runs.
As for Moin Khan, he is a powerful hitter but most of the times he fails and lets his team down, its not like he wins matches for his team constantly, someone like Gilchrist maybe an example, he is an average wicket keeper but a great batsman.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?