Rashid Lateef problem solver

Rashid Lateef was instrumental in bringing Inzam-ul Haq back from oblivion post world cup debacle, his academy has given Pakistan many young players such as Yunus Khan, Kaneria and Sami. Now his latest mediation between Inzi and Shoaib Akhter is just another example of his sincerity. This man has demonstrated a talent which needs to be honored and rewarded which can benefit Pakistani cricket. Why not make him part of the cricket team management?

http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/index.html

Shoaib, Inzamam agree to settle differences

*By our correspondent

*KARACHI: Pakistan’s former Test captain and wicket-keeper Rashid Latif has played the role of a mediator to remove the well-documented differences between Inzamam-ul-Haq and fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar.

According to the details, Rashid managed to convince Inzamam when both were in Jeddah last month to put things behind him (Inzamam) and thrash out a proper working relationship with Shoaib in the long-term interest of Pakistan cricket.

“Rashid had a long discussion with Inzamam in which after hearing out the complaints the Pakistan captain had against his maverick fast bowler, he told him (Inzamam) that if both worked together it would be beneficial for the team and Pakistan cricket,” a source, aware of these developments, said.

“Rashid told Inzamam that despite his attitude problems Shoaib was a top-class bowler who could do a lot of good for the team —specially in the coming series against England and India if he was handled properly,” the source added.

According to him Inzamam agreed on Rashid’s insistence to have a one-to-one with Shoaib when he met him during the Afro-Asia matches in South Africa this month. “Rashid then flew back to England and spoke to Shoaib and also told him to create a better working relationship with his captain which would be in his own best interest and that of the team,” it added.

“Shoaib had a lot of complaints to make about how he had been treated unfairly in the past few months. But Rashid told him that he should not forget that until he played regularly for Pakistan and performed, he would never be able to enjoy the status of senior player nor earn the respect of the people.”

“Rashid told him that no matter how well he played for Worcestershire or other teams, his main thrust to fame and fortune was through performing for the Pakistan team,” the source stated.

The source added that Shoaib then promised to have a candid discussion with Inzamam in South Africa to sort out the misunderstandings with him, which had steadily become more serious and public after last year’s home-series loss to India.

Inzamam and coach Bob Woolmer have minced no words in stating that while they wanted Shoaib in the team he had to decide about his fitness and commitment, as they would like to see him bowl in both innings of a Test match.

The maverick fast bowler, who has a lot of regard for Rashid, has not played for Pakistan since he had to return home from Australia early this year due to fitness problems. Subsequently, he also missed a tour to India earlier this year and was then not considered for the tour to the West Indies in May-June.

Re: Rashid Lateef problem solver

Chalo jee, haatha paaee phir shuroo.

Rashid Latif :k:

i hope there r no frictions in the team when they play england… UNITY will take them far..

:hehe: but I hope that they sort out their differences in the end :slight_smile:

Well done Rashid :k:

Rashid Latif playing a good role. :k:

Now, if Inzy fails to sort out HIS problems with Shoaib Akhter, the best bowler on this planet, then Inzy must be left out of the squad against England and India, to balance what he has done against Shoaib.

^ are you out of your mind? Pakistan can't lose Inzi at this point. He is the heart and soul of our otherwise fragile batting line up.

^ Without Inzy, our batting line-up may collapse but without Shoaib, we don't have enough bowling attack to restrict any team(even Holland) to a score less than 250 in ODIs.

we need both of them...

On the same token, under Inzi team finds a new spirit and gives a tight fight. With Shoaib around…you know very well…watching him leaving the field on a crucial time. :k:

We need both btw.

Yes we need both of them as well as all other players.

I can also never forget Inzy leaving the crease with scores like 0, 4, 6 in every game in the last "World cup".

how abt his consistency lately .... our middle-order would be soo mediocre without him..
i can't forget that WC either, i m sure inzy can't either... but lets move on yar... he is like the "dad" of the team now ... he is been a key factor for our successful cricket lately..

Either you have a very small or no brain or you just like Inzi bashing.

He was facing a bad phase, performance wise in WC03. He was kicked out of the team for six month and was able to make a come back after regaining form in domestic matches and with the help of Latif. He deserved that punishment/rest as it happens in any other team (take an example of Aus). While shoiab was not only terribly unfit since Feb 04’ but also damaged wining-spirit on multiple occasions by walking out of the field after bowling a few overs.

^ Hmmm, if Inzy fails continuously for 2-3 years then he is just facing bad phase, and if Shoaib is injured for 2-3 games then he is creating a drama. This is just biased.

Inzy along with Ijaz and Malik had a long history of failing for no reason; they were ACTIVE part of the famous Akram "gang", who always wished to flop to prove Waqar as a bad captain and as a bad player. The same is true for Shoaib, whenever he will play; Inzy will flop (unless he has to prove himself). The first match of Asia-Africa is a good example.

As of Australia,
Inzy scored 1 run in 2 innings of the Test at an average of 0.50, while Shoaib took 11 wickets in 3 Tests at average of 30.56 (The best average from Pak, and just Kaneria was ahead of him in wickets). Akhter also scored 42 runs in 6 innings at an average of 7.0 (much better than Inzy). But then, Inzy was facing a bad phase.

Negative attitudes must be discouraged from our team.

oh yar khuda ka khauf karo tum log. Inzi had personal grudges against shoiab but I hope both of them will act maturely and will do what is best for Pakistan cricket. Regardless of the role inzi played in shoiab's exclusion, no one can doubt that he has been the back bone of our team in the batting department. He has been in the form of his life and we all should pray that he will continue the form in the coming season. Inshallah shoaib will also be included in the side and there is no doubt that shoaib is a match winner just like inzi.
You guys talk about team unity but on the other hand the way you guys are talking it sounds like inzi and shoaib are players from two different teams.Shoaib and inzi are both pakistani cricketers and none is above Pakistan cricket. Not only both of them but also the fans should keep this thing in their minds.

How freakin' ironic. The biggest politician in Pakistan cricket's history is playing peacemaker. Cute. Really.

Shabash Rashid bhai ! now lets hope ppl forget about your “fancy” allegations :smiley:

Game, You got it all right :k:

Rashid Latif must concentrate on his academy. He is doing a good work there and must put his best in to get the best out of it. He must not waste his time in solving the "Nazuk maamlaat" like this one. We have a board to decide about cricket and players, whether good or bad.

Both Inzy and Shoaib are the best of the lot and it is an ideal situation for PCB to construct a team that involves both of these superstars (real and imaginary). If we can not have such a team, then we must support whatever team is playing on the pitch.

And we have all seen how successful our board is in these matters…
Kudos to Rashid on his efforts to resolve this problem, it’s not as if he stands to gain anything from it.

Yes our board is quite successful in so many things.

Rashid Latif is a former player, and at least former players must be treated as national heroes. He just tried to play his role that was not required but must be appreciated if he had tried to play it. It was always better if he had limited himself to his current activities.