Ras Malai

HI all

I make ras malai with dried mild powder (1 cup), 1 egg, and a little baking powder( little less than half a TSP), the problem is they either end of all hard, or too soft and break, anyone got the correct quantitys please.

Re: Ras Malai

Nops…i dnt know…but u can relish me that one:yummy:

This is a recipe I use clothesmad. It turns out pretty good.

Ras Malai - Recipes

The balls can go hard if you don't put them in to the hot milk quick enough. I usually make the balls/ovals as quick as possible and then get them in to the milk asap. This prevents them from hardening.

Also I use oil in my recipe - only a little bit, but it doesn't seem that you use any?

thanks masimuseebtay

No i dont use oil in my recipe, maybe thats were im going wrong:bummer: cause i don’t waste any time in dropping them in the milk, i never leave it out for any length of time

clothesmad... I just rida aftab's recipe for ras malai and she used only the egg white...and 1 cup dried milk powder about 1/2 tspn baking powder and she didn't use any oil in the dough but she applied it on her hands when making the balls... I'm gonna try her recipe soon inshAllah... will share how it turns out ...

I have been using the recipe by masi museebatay. It turns out great

I always find it trial and error when making rasmalai from milk powder - too much baking powder and the balls disintegrate in the milk and too little baking powder makes the balls hard.

I make mine with paneer now and it always turns out perfect. To make the paneer I bring some milk up to the boil, add a couple of spoons of vinegar/lemon juice and strain the mixture. The curds left are then kneaded until silky smooth and shaped into balls and put into milk etc.

I am glad it works well for you jalpari, it is actually Lusi's recipe, if I remember right. Mine didn't turn out well too until I tried her recipe, never had a bad ras malai day since then :)

Brit chick I want to try the paneer one too someday..do share your recipe.

i use cheese. its sooooooooooo good.

iv tried this too ( many a disaster ras malai's from my kitchen, hubby has banned me from making any more cause he's sick of eating "gone wrong ras malai")

I Found that the balls were a little harder with this recipe, and also they were a little tasteless as they didnt suck up the sugar in the milk too well, then i tried adding sugar to the curd whilst making the balls, but it seems to long winded.

I use ricotta cheese....sooooo yummy!!

chalo phir jin ki acih bunti hain ras malaiyan..koi to share kro recipe ko yaar..!!!!
i want from ricotta cheese or paneer!!!

I had a few 'hard' rasmallai incidents too but then I realised that I was poaching the balls in the milk for far too long. Now I just drop them into the simmering milk, put the lid on and turn the heat off.

**Girls this recipe by MM is perfect. Just be cautious that:

You use only nido.

Your baking powder has not expired

You don't knead the dough.

You sift together the dry ingredients 3-4 times.

This id the key, don't just break an egg and put it in. Beat it and keep it aside. Then add gradually, till it looks like crumble. Then make your balls.

I make rasmalai using ricotta cheese as well ras gullay. They turn out very good. Ill share the recipe if someone wants.**

^pls share..

Ras malai (using ricotta cheese) - Recipes

Ooops..just checked the original is alishaht's recipe not Lusi's.. got mixed up..sorry