Rare PHOTO of Shahenshah Bahadur Shah Zafar-last king of Hindustan

this moving and sad picture shows a sick and defeated Shahenshah in prison in forced exile.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

Thus a noble dynasty was ended. And with it the end of the glorious banner of Muslim rule over India

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/bahadurshah.jpg

[This message has been edited by Asif (edited October 03, 2001).]

Jab Thaqt chala jata hai to kia halat ho jati hai..

Zamane kay Andaz Badle Gay
Naya Raag hai, Saaz Badle Gaye

Here is a painting of Bahadur Shah Zafar in Moghul Glory

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/zafar.jpg

I think they got what they deserved. They considered themselves Gods.
Anyways I feel pity on that old man above.

“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”

The first picture is of Shah Jehan?

Abdali bhai, That is photograph of Bahadur Shah Zafar tken in Rangoon by a British guy. During Shah Jahan's time , photography was not invented.

Originally posted by Tanhaa:
*Abdali bhai, That is photograph of Bahadur Shah Zafar tken in Rangoon by a British guy. During Shah Jahan's time , photography was not invented. *

Are you saying Shah Jehan was alive when this picture was taken??

Shahjahan died in 1658. There is no photograph of his. Photography was not invented in 1658.

The photgraph shown in this thread is of Bahadur Shah Zafar who died in 1866. at that time photography had been invented.

Bahadur Shah was a very accomplished poet as well. One of his famous ghazals end with the line:

Kitna hai badnaseeb Zafar dafan kay liyay
Do(2) Gazz(Yards) zameen bhi na milli koo-e yaar main

Bahadur Shah lies buried in Rangoon. Pardon my roman urdu.

Regards
Mufakkar

**Shahjahan died in 1658. There is no photograph of his. Photography was not invented in 1658.

The photgraph shown in this thread is of Bahadur Shah Zafar who died in 1866. at that time photography had been invented.**

I know what you mean,,,,,,, I forgot my glasses at home.

tanjaa.. these are abdali's attempts at humor. pardon him.

Ohhhhhhhh the

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/clown.gif

speakth… Abdali is on the run

Originally posted by Ali_R:
**I think they got what they deserved. They considered themselves Gods.
Anyways I feel pity on that old man above.

I don't agree. At least what happened to Bahadur Shah Zafar was not fair and he didn't deserve it at all. It's like saying if You have done something wrong then your child should be subjected to bad things only because of your behaviour.

I know there most Mughal emperors should have deserved what they had done to their people but not Alamgir and Bahadur Shah Zafar.

Btw, have you read the story about his life when his family was fleeing and also how he was presented the head of his sons for breakfast and blood for drinking purpose in Rangoon. Yes all in the name of Human Rights.

Khan Sahib, Zafars youngest wife wanted her son to become emperor so she told the British where all the older sons of Zafar were hiding. That is how they were killed .

Bahadurshah, eh? I admire the noble rule of the mogul dynasty in India. It was a glorious time, I am sure; just watch the movie "Pakeeza", it is so elegantly depicted.
With all that's going on now, you won't be seeing movies like that being made in India today...because they are Muslim-oriented, depicting Muslims in a positive light.

Originally posted by moona:
**Bahadurshah, eh? I admire the noble rule of the mogul dynasty in India. It was a glorious time, I am sure; just watch the movie "Pakeeza", it is so elegantly depicted.
With all that's going on now, you won't be seeing movies like that being made in India today...because they are Muslim-oriented, depicting Muslims in a positive light.

Mughal-a-Azam,

A great move never can Bollywood duplicate such movies. Nor there will ever be glorious Mughal Empire.

Has Pakistan produced any movies based on th Moghul period?? Please name some.

I think they made Anar Kali, Noor Jehan played the role of Anar Kali. It was long time ago I could be wrong.

Originally posted by khan_sahib:
** I don't agree. At least what happened to Bahadur Shah Zafar was not fair and he didn't deserve it at all. It's like saying if You have done something wrong then your child should be subjected to bad things only because of your behaviour.

I know there most Mughal emperors should have deserved what they had done to their people but not Alamgir and Bahadur Shah Zafar.

Btw, have you read the story about his life when his family was fleeing and also how he was presented the head of his sons for breakfast and blood for drinking purpose in Rangoon. Yes all in the name of Human Rights. **

Sorry I should say some of them got what they deserved. Sorry for the generalization.

“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”

Asif, aik to meiN teri moghaliayee obsession say bara tang hooN. Koi aur interest nahi soojhta tujhay haiN?