Rant about New Look (Nu Look) Salon

I wanted to post this earlier but never got around to doing it. I just wanted to let people know what a horrible experience I had at new look salon in Hicksville, Long Island. I had booked her for my wedding and valima day makeup (even though I was not too satisfied with her work)…She gave me a whole bridal package (facial, threading, makeup etc). The owner is a bengali woman and she was giving me a slight attitude from the beginning but I thought thats just to impress customers into thinking she’s ‘all that’…

Anyways, on the day of my mehendi, I’m getting my facial done (which was mediocre at best) but then the woman during my facial puts the mask on my face and tells me to WAIT OUTSIDE while she takes another customer for a facial! I was pissed but I did not want to create a scene. So I patiently waited outside and after ages the woman comes back and tells me to go wash my face off myself in their bathroom. and thats it…no moisturizer or nothing. I have had facials from both desi and non-desi salons so I know they always use a moisturizer on you after the mask. Plus it was pretty rude the way they were treating a bride.

I did not want to complain in the salon while the rest of the customers were there so I left and called the owner from my cell phone…I told her my concern over the facial in a very polite way…and the woman starts SCREAMING at me! I couldnt believe it…I havent had anyone scream at me like this…she’s telling me dont you tell me how to do a facial" and goes on and on…she’s like “oh we are not supposed to put moisturizer after a facial because there is pollution outside and it sticks to your face” ???umm what? hello lady…I have had facials before and they always use a moisturizer to calm the face after a facial.

then the best part was her racist comment “im not some stupid pakistani with a two-bit salon” (something like that). I was so furious …I hung up on her and never went for my makeup with her despite the fact that I had given her a deposit of $350. Deposits are nonrefundable and I did not want to face such a horrible and nasty woman again. I ended up emailing Saima from NJ to do my makeup (who did a fantastic job by the way…I guess it was all for the best…when I compare the two, New Look’s makeup was pretty bad)

And then another friend recently went there for a cut+blowdry and the same owner was supposed to do her hair…so she first makes the girl wait hours before she sees her and then just gives her a cut and says she’s too tired to blowdry!

I just wanted to share…save your money and time and dont go to this nasty woman. Her services are substandard and worse, her attitude is horrible to her customers.

Re: Rant about New Look (Nu Look) Salon

uffff cant believe that...ppl can go to such an extent!!!!!!!!!!! i mean y they get rude..we are paying for everything they offer..itna bharam kiya...anywaz u looked pretty mashAllah. and the best part is tht u were satisfied with Saima's makeup. to hell wd New Look...and tht stpd lady.

SD Congratulations!!!!!!! and sorry abt ur bad expereince...but the good thing is that everything work out for the best.
dont forget to share ur pictures:)

Wow, she sounds nasty. Good for you for sharing your review. Post it in Bazaar Talk too! I would even look into other on line review sites.

omg so glad u never got ur make up done there otherwise God knows what she would of done on ur special day, and making you wait outside the cheek of her

You should have screamed at her and gotten ur damn money back. Lazy racist witch.

nyahhh it was the day of my mehendi. didnt want to deal with anything like that. her loss...she'll lose more customers due to the bad publicity than she made off me.

if nu look has a facebook profile u should post it there!

Thanks so much!

Is this salon lady Indian or Pakistani?

The owner was Bengali.

What idiot asks a customer to go outside with the face mask on?? I would have demanded my money back, she sounds like an absolute nightmare.

horrible nd thank God i read this
i was actully telling my frend abt them cuz i saw them at Dulhan Expo

This woman is quite the racisit! She should be reported to the Better Buiness Beauru.

What a terrible experience, thankyou for sharing ..........

Sorry sweetdreamz for ur experience. I hav been to her salon and she is full of herself so haven't gone back I have seen her and her daughter at several desi melas and I am not sure what the attitude is about. This is a service oriented business with a lot of competition so tu nahin aur sahib, aur nahin aur sahi!

im sorry bout ure experience but oh man congrats shweets!! i had no idea you were all grown up and getting married :D congrats!!! hope ure wedding was amazing!

Oh gosh! That has to be the worst salon story I've heard so far on here! I don't understand what it is that makes these people think they can behave like this. I think that it's good that girls come on here and share their bad experiences because it helps us become more aware of the horrible vendors out there.

That's so horrible! You should definitely make sure that your bad experience is made more public so girls can avoid this dreadful racist salon!

Thank you for the review. I will make sure I stay away from her. How did everything go with Saima. I would love to see sum pix.