Rana Naveeds humbleness.

Re: Rana Naveeds humbleness.

^^No not realy, in ODIs, even the likes of Tendulkar and Ganguly can pick up five fors.....The fact that Rana was persisted with in the ODIs, at least somewhat was expected of him. And he did get his chance in the tests in this series, but unfortunately he was not effective at all....

^^but not everyone can have SR (bowling) better than Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Imran Khan etc.

the reason why he was picked for man of the series is cuz he took wkts on a flat batting track and he still was able to swing the bowl early on with the new ball.

hats off to Rana saab

I like the guy since he took 3 crucial wickets in very first ODI in Karach when India toured Pak last year. Despite of his horrible no-balls haul in the first spell, he came back as a true warrior and managed to take wickets. Since then he has gone into trouble many times and have bounced back to demolish the opponents. This is some really tough-nerve abilities that he posses. May he shines in his career, he came into the team at the right time.

However, it will be a tough decision to have in test in Shabbir, Gul and Akhtar presence. Only because we rarely play with 4 fasties in test. Only if Razzaq sits aside from tests and we play another authentic batsman in his place. Than Rana will fill in for Razzaq perfectly. Also Gul's come back will be under microscope after the unfortunate injury.

BUT, with Akhtar playing test, it would mean Rana will get to play in every second test anyways due to Akhtar's injury routine. :D And I mean it, he is 30 and has some serious fitness issues, so we can't count him to play a whole 3 tests in a series.

Humbleness will only get one so far. The real important thing is to perform on the field. So I will focus on his perfomance.

Rana sahab is a bowler with limited abilities. He can not bowl very fast. As yet, he does not have a lot of variety either. But what really works for him is to know what his limits are and bowl accordingly. He learns fast and understands the importance of bowling with the right and consistent line and length over-after-over. That chokes up the batsmen and forces them to make mistakes. This gets wickets. And that is why Rana is so successful. He can swing the bowl well and with right LnL can be an effective seamer, especially on wickets and climates that support seam bowling.

Sami on the other hand is a classic case of under achievement. The dude has a lot of promise, and he is practically a work horse out there. I have never seen a fast bowler, who can ball for so long and with so much speed, as Sami does. He sometimes bowl one of those completely unplayable deliveriecs (like the one he bowled to Dravid in 5th ODI) that you will salute him for his abilities. He is truly an asset for his captain and the team. However, and this is a big problem, he is way too inconsistent even after so many years in international cricket. He bowls an erratic line and length. In a typical Sami over, you will have two short-pitched balls going either way of the stumps, one over-pitched, a full toss, one wide and may be one good length delivery. Very rarely he will find that yorker length that is so essential to get the tail out. Another problem is that he often provides easy balls with such frequency that the batsmen do not really need to take any risks against him. And to add insult to serious injury, he'd single-handedly bowl as many no-balls in one fifty over ODI, as some other teams will bowl in an entire season. His 17-ball over is a poster-child of undisciplined bowling. My feeling is that he tries to do too many things too quickly. He should learn to understand the conditions and bowl according to a plan. Control the LnL so batsmen do not get easy pickings. With his talent, he can definitely be a permanent part of the Pakistan squad, but at this point, he should not take anything forgranted.

why are we so obsessed with English? so our players cannot speak well. Look at other international stars, such as Ronaldo, Maradona, and Zidane, not one speaks English...let the performance speak for itself, I think Pakistani players should insist on speaking in Urdu and let the TV producers find translators.

Well said! completely agree man.. indians think that english is their first language.. its frustrating!!

McGrath has these exact same ‘abilities’. He doesn’t bowl fast, has consistent line and length, but is still the leading fast bowler in the world.

And you couldn’t be more wrong about Rana. He’s got very decent pace (can go up to 145-148 kph range), while your average bowler is around 130-135. Rana has got variety too. He’s got a very good slower ball, can swing the ball both ways, and also can reverse-swing. He didn’t get any wicket in Tests in India, but he played only one Test.

Rana very rarely goes over 140. He relies more on correct line and length and not on tearaway speed. This is his strength. Bowling an occasional 140 mph doesn't make anyone a fast bowler. Else Afridi will be called a medium pacer.

Anyway, Rana is a hardworking person who is willing to learn. Hopefully with time and experience he will increase his repertoire of weapons and be even more effective.

^ You couldn't be more wrong about Rana. He bowls just a shade slower than Sami, and much faster than any Indian on display. His average speed is in the mid 80's mph. If you hold Akhtar or Sami as a standard for speed, then yes there are not many fast bowlers in world cricket but a lot of medium pacers. Rana has more variety than any other bowler on display this series. How else has he got so many wickets? He swings it both ways off a placid track, extracts more bounce to boot. I think that's called ability.

http://in.sports.yahoo.com/050418/32/2ktpn.html

Sidekick to star, modest Rana moves on

BEFORE RANA Naved-ul Hasan set out for Australia with the Pakistan team, many doubted his ability to succeed, let alone become his country’s strike bowler. A medium-pacer, his aim, he himself admits, was “to succeed as a support bowler”.

A couple of series later however, he has been dubbed a star performer and one who’s carried on his good work from Australia to India quite successfully. The man of the series in the one-dayers, Rana, a God-fearing man, is now a proven match-winner. “A tour of Australia, and then of India, is the best thing to have happened to me. The adjustment from those bouncy tracks to the slower ones here has been an experience,” he says.

“I try to give my best whenever I play. I have to work hard to complement the big names in my team,” says Rana, speaking of the sheer guts that has carried an average bowler in him to these dizzy heights.

An Aaquib Javed prot and #233;g and #233;, Rana, who traces his roots to Jalandhar, learned his stock ball — the outswinger — from the World Cup winner. “Aaquib helped me work a lot on his major weapon, the outswing. He taught me how to use the swing to good effect.” Quick to learn, he found after the first few matches, that bowling here was vastly different from bowling in Australia.

“I thought pace helped when I was the highest wicket-taker in the one-dayers in Australia. Here though, I found that the faster you bowl, the more easily you get clobbered. So, the best thing was to keep a wicket-to-wicket line, the right length and then, exploit swing and seam against such a tough batting side. A helpful wicket, like the one in Jamshedpur, acted as a bonus.”

His adaptability was something that made him catch the selectors’ eye regularly over the last two years at the domestic level. And it was also good enough to make him the highest wicket-taker in the one-dayers here too. “I still price Rahul Dravid’s wicket very high. It was difficult to break through him.”

He, of course, is one of the new crop in Pakistan, who rate Bob Woolmer very high. “He treats everyone equally — the seniors and juniors alike. That encourages us.” Injuries are something that you’d discuss with every Pakistani bowler. “I know, they are all injured. But we’ve got this Academy at the Gaddafi (PCB headquarters in Lahore), where we are made to work very hard on fitness. It’s slowly changing and we are improving on that count.”

Ofcourse, he has ability. Thats why he is playing for Pakistan team, after all. But give the guy a break. He has played a grand total of 3 test matches and 28 ODI’s. He has taken 7 test wickets at an avg of 58 and 48 ODI wickets at an average of 26. He still has ways to go. He will learn a lot in coming series and will be a much more polished bowler with experience.

Rana will make me proud

is hi wajah sey rashid latif aur ab rana bhi mujhey aik haqeeqi Pakistani nazar aaatey hein :p

*Rashid was the biggest scammer and hypocrite Pakistan cricket has ever seen. Please don’t compare this shareef guy with him. *

Rana is The bomb !! Rana is Rambo !! Rana is all that is good about Pakistan !!!

I love the man, may he continue to lead us successfully on many more fronts !!

Long Live Pakistan !!

rana is a very nice , humble, motivated guy...its guys like him that have lifted our team's spirit

Rana has jumped from 42nd place to 12th in ICC’s bowlers ranking just after India’s tour. :eek:

This is an achievement indeed. :k: May he continues with his form and play for Pakistan with his big heart. Ameen.

------------x---------------
Such ^ are the sentiments that change like two W’s Woman & Weather.
Aj yeh haqeeqi hain, baqi sab dungar hain aur kal ko kuch aur ho jaye ga,

Good luck to Rana bro, I hope he goes many a mile more into his career. Otherwise there is a danger that he might be discarded as a forgotten bowler who once dazzled the Indians in their backyard.
I already feel for Rana he’s wayy too humble for such backlash in future,:elmo:

He is a great player and will be a ODI fixture for many years. Still I suspect that in Tests he wont be favoured. His lack of pace makes him slightly less dangerous than some of the other bowlers available to us in Test matches.
Test matches favour bowlers who can penetrate