So Ramzan is coming up, inshaAllah. And I was thinking of making the best out of it for diet too, apart from the extra sawab ofcourse! Any one of you thinking of such plans? Its pretty hard not to eat parathas during the sehri or fried stuff in the aftaar but I am gonna try to discipline my self. Maybe making steamed roast for me every three four days and eat it for aftari. Still confused as to what a good healthy and not at all fattening sehri would be
. Will appreciate any input or better, any one thinking along the same lines!
Re: Ramzan’s Routine
My Ramzan routine
Sehri: Cereal with milk and brown bread with either chocolate spread/cheese/egg, loads of water
Iftari: Has become unhealthy for the last couple of years due to younger siblings demands, but this year I’m thinking no extra item, just regular dinner and during weekend we can have something special along dinner.
Cutting on paratha dahi and lassi for sehri is a big no no for me lol but having a healthy iftaar and no samosay/pakoray is possible. Steamed veggies, salad without any sauce , desi food cooked in olive oil, water instead of soft drinks makes a big difference. Fruit chaat without cream/extra sugar, eating in small plates might help too ![]()
I cannot eat parathas first of all. And i can’t roti salan early morning. So i’ll take whole wheat bread with cereal and chai. For iftari..as i mentioned somewhere here is..to have dates and fruit chaat mostly. And..ya throw couple of pakorays here there. But that’s it.
My husband never liked paratha’s in Sehri. So I think making a whole wheat Chapati will be a right way if counting calories.
My Sehri will be inshallah: Whole Wheat Roti/Chapati. Milk Tea, Yogurt and daily cook Salan.
Iftar: Dinner. No Pakora’s, Samosa. Fruit Chat daily without Sugar.
Neither me nor anyone else in my family can cut down on iftari. iftari is a special affair at our place but sehri is a lighter fare.
my sehri goes with these items
2 toasted slice with scrambled egg
one glass of skimmed milk
2 tbls of yogurt
2-3 glasses of water
sometimes for a change i have cornflakes and fruit salad instead of egg and slice.
Same routine
I cannot eat parathas and no to roti in sehri. I will take Cereal like I did last year, survived for 16 hours on cereal,lol. No to fizzy drinks as I have stopped them already. No to fried food, will eat more fruits n salads.
^han yar…it was difficult in the beginning even last year..but i think it gets better as ramadan go by..
jab maiN roze rakhtaa thaa tab seHrii meN bread with butter and tea liyaa karta thaa…Iftar khajoor aur paanii se…dinner meN daal roTii khaayaa kartaa thaa…bas! ![]()
if you are eating cereal, go with oatmeal. It is healthy and fulling.
For me sehris last year were cheese omelettes and bread/parathas with it. They were yum and I am still trying to shed the wait I put on last year. So a big no no this time! Hmm cereal I’ll try this time. I guess after a few rozas aadat hojayegi. For aftari, I am gonna make myself some nice stuff. Like steamed roast, steamed kababs. Sometimes a bologna brown bread sandwich. I’ll have time too as in Pakistan offices close around 4 whereas the aftaari is around 7ish!
my sehri would be whole wheat chapati + low fat yougurt and sugar free low fat tea. and inshaAllah in iFtar m planning to stay away from fried stuff (zindagi mein pehli baar pakoron k baghair ramazan
) and sugary drinks like sinkanjabeen and roh afza etc.. instead i’ll have lemon and honey water (chilled) and lots of water inshaAllah. and dinner would be healthy too.. since we’ll be low on exercise side in ramazan, keeping weight under controll shall only be by way of diet..
wow, you guys have such elaborate items :).
for me, sehri is usually a banana, milk or tea, lots of water and maybe a cake rusk or biscuit.
iftari is usually fruit chaat without sugar and whatever else is available (pakoray, samosay, salan/roti, rice, etc)
Nabz don’t you feel hungry all day lol! Cake rusk is nooothing. If i don’t eat well I get headaches. I am going to go shopping for my oatmeal and honey cereals etc for sehris. Hopefully I’ll be able to loose SOME weight.
Qeemay ka paratha and lassi.
for me sehri is usually weetabix and a glass of water.
iftaar is usually fruit chaat (NO HORRIBLE SPICES - just fresh fruit like kiwi banana pineapples grapes strawberries pears and apples cut up in a bowl THAT’S IT!) and then whatever’s made for dinner.
You don’t actually need to eat extra during ramadan, because the extra food will only help you for a couple of hours and then you’ll still feel hungry/thirsty again. So just eat normal at breakfast and dinner that’s what I find is best.
Sehri
Me: Dates/milk/ water/ cereal
Children: (something from the following) .. Water, milk, oatmeal, weetabix , waffles, egg n’ toast..
Iftari
Fruit chaat , every other day (no Desi spices, ) or cut up fruit: melon, oranges, bananas, pears, cherries for children
Lentil soup is a must
Regular light dinner
Children requested that I make them spring rolls so have almost 400 spring rolls in freezer .. That is the only fried item we may occasionally make during Ramadan. This year I will make these more often for my children as they pleaded for these. If I see their regular food remains uneaten, then no more spring rolls. My hubby and I will have just the occasional one..
If fruit chaat has no desi spices, it is not a chaat, it is just fruit salad. Chaat is always chat patti.
Qeemay ka paratha and namkeen lassi.
okay I don’t know what else to call it - then just fruit salad. That’s how I like it - nooooo desi spices on fresh fruit please, it already has a lovely flavour why ruin it?! :nono: