Ramadhan approaching: Wuts in your prep list?

Its that time of the year. Alhamdulillah, we are def the blessed ones if we’ve got Ramadhan this year. With one week to go from today, how are you preparing for it? And its not about religious stuff cuz thats very personal for everyone, its more like are you going to shop for the entire month’s grocery? Any other steps?

I heard in Pakistan a lot many people do Eid shopping or post-eid shadi events shopping already before the start of this month.

For me, I know one thing. I’m a coffee addict so while fasting it gives me a serious headache. So to avoid it I’ve stopped taking it already like since few days back. Hopefully I stick to it :slight_smile:

Re: Ramadhan approaching: Wuts in your prep list?

My biggest concern is my 13 1/2 years old fasting during her regular school days. She has been fasting all rozay for two years now, alhamdulillah. Both years, fasting was not obligatory on her but she did cause she loves to. This year, it's obligatory, but this is the first year where first four rozas will fall on regular school days. This means that she has to get up at 7 am, as oppose to sleep in till noon as she did last year.

Our isha is at 11 pm, fajr at 3 and maghrib at 9. My only thought is to send her to bed right after iftar and maghrib, around 9:30. Then wake her up at 2:15. She can do Isha (farz and witar), come down and eat sehri, do fajr, and back to bed by 3:15 am, and then wake up by 7:15 for school. School starts at 7:55 and only 5 minutes drive.

I know I may sound crazy, but I am more stressed out about next year when half of Ramadan will be during regular school days.

wow mashallah.

ALLAH uskay Abba ko bhi sudharne ki taufeeq de... Aameen! ;)

TLK.. That will be crazy schedule.

I will pray 5 time, and keep this opportunity to follow all life long. Insha Allah.
Eid - No plan so far.
I am planning to purchase dates and distribute among friends, so I could get the reward of braking fast at Maghrib. :hmmm:

@TLK Sir ji, itni kam umra mai mahine bhar fast! health pe asar ni padega?

Aoozo billahi min ash shaitanir rajeem - sid kee taraf mounh ker ke phoonkoing, making him disappear*

Yes it is. Kya ker saktay hain

It’s not lack of food, but lack of sleep that is a major struggle. Even then, I know what you are saying. I am not crazy religious and even told my daughter that she can make the missed rozas up in December when the days are short, but she is very enthusiastic about Ramadan. We’ll see how it goes

The only preparation I’m making for now is getting ready to catch up on ibadaat that I’ve been falling short with, and trying to be more particular about making all my salaats in the masjid. Anything else is secondary, though I do have a number of kids to do Eid shopping for. The good part with that is that some are old enough so I can just give them gift cards and they’ll just pick out their own things. Also, on the topic of Eid gifts, I’ve been buying gifts that I think would be appropriate much before Eid and Ramadan even. Also, we will :insh: give our zakaat at the beginning of Ramadan.