Ramadhan Al Kareem - The Blessed Month

:salam2:

I opened this thread and would like to request u all to please post information, ahadeeths, Dua’s, Faraiz, Roza ki Barkaat, Roza ki fazeelat etc in this thread so we can seek more n more ‘Sawab’ and ‘Ajar’ in this blessed month.

:jazak:

Allah SWT! said:

Literalists refer to some particular night in the calendar, but there is no agreement as to which it it. The 23rd, 25th or 27th night of Ramadhan, as well as other nights have been suggested. See, however, the introduction to this Sura. It is best to take this is the mystic sense, which also accords with verse below, which says that the Night of Power (Ref. ‘A’) is better than a thousand Months. It transcends Time: for it is God’s Power dispelling the Darkness of Ignorance, by His Revelation, in every kind of affairs.

“A Thousad” must be taken in an idefinite sense, as denoting a very long period of times. (Ref. ‘B’ ‘C’ and ‘D’). This does not refer to our ideas of time, but to “timeless Time”. One moment of enlightenment under God’s Light is better then thousands of months or years of animal life, and such a moment converts the night of darkness into a period of spiritual glory.

The Spirit: usually understood to be the angel Gabriel, the Spirit of Inspiration. But names are hardly necessary in the mystic world. (Ref ‘E’).

When the Night of spiritual darkness is dissipated by the glory of God, a wonderful Peace and a sense of Security arise in the soul. And this lasts on until this life closes, and the glorious Day of the new spiritual world dawns, when everything will be on a different plance, and the chequered nights and days of this world will be even less than a dream.

(Ref ‘A’)
Allah SWT said: **Indeed, We sent it down during a blessed night. Indeed, We were to warn [mankind]." **

**کہ ہم نے اس کو مبارک رات میں نازل فرمایا ہم تو رستہ دکھانے والے ہیں **
[Surat Ad-Dukhan 44:3]

Usually taken to be a night in Ramadhan, say the 23rd, 25th or 27th night of that month. It is referred to as the Night of Power. But perhaps we need not fix it literally by calendar. The night that a Message descends from God is indeed a blessed night, like aday of rain for a parched land.

(Ref ‘B’)
Allah SWT said: It is Allah who created the heavens and the earth and whatever is between them in six days; then He established Himself above the Throne. You have not besides Him any protector or any intercessor; so will you not be reminded?"

**خدا ہی تو ہے جس نے آسمانوں اور زمین کو اور جو چیزیں ان دونوں میں ہیں سب کو چھ دن میں پیدا کیا پھر عرش پر جا ٹھہرا۔ اس کے سوا نہ تمہارا کوئی دوست ہے اور نہ سفارش کرنے والا۔ کیا تم نصیحت نہیں پکڑتے؟ **
[Surat As-Sajdah 32:4]

Six days also mentioned in Surat Al A’araf. The “Day” doesnot mean a day as well reckon it, viz., one apparent course of the sun round the earth, for it refers to conditions which began before the earth and the sun were created. In Verses 5 of same Surah, a Day is compared to a thousand years of our reckoning, These figures “as we reckon” have no relation to “timeless Time”, and must be taken to mean very long periods or econs.

(Ref ‘C’) [same surah & ayat]
God created the World as we see it in six great Stages. But afte the initial creation, He is still in authority and directs and controls all affairs. He has not delegated His power to others, and Himself retired.

(Ref ‘D’)
Allah SWT! said: **“**The angels and the Spirit will ascend to Him during a Day the extent of which is fifty thousand years.”

جس کی طرف روح (الامین) اور فرشتے پڑھتے ہیں (اور) اس روز (نازل ہوگا) جس کا اندازہ پچاس ہزار برس کا ہوگا [Surat Al-Ma’arij 70:4]

Ruh: “The Spirit.” Man is gifted with Spirit of God. In the spiritual kingdom we are all raised to the light of the Countenance og God, and His Glory Transorms us. But such glorious transformation is not to be attained without the highest spiritual exertion, and if we measure time as we measure it on the plane of this life, it may take thousands of years. In the spiritual plance it may be just a day or a moment.

Allah SWT! said: **“The month of Ramadhan [is that] in which was revealed the Qur’an, a guidance for the people and clear proofs of guidance and criterion. So whoever sights [the new moon of] the month, let him fast it; and whoever is ill or on a journey - then an equal number of other days. Allah intends for you ease and does not intend for you hardship and [wants] for you to complete the period and to glorify Allah for that [to] which He has guided you; and perhaps you will be grateful.” **

**(روزوں کا مہینہ) رمضان کا مہینہ (ہے) جس میں قرآن (اول اول) نازل ہوا جو لوگوں کا رہنما ہے اور (جس میں) ہدایت کی کھلی نشانیاں ہیں اور (جو حق و باطل کو) الگ الگ کرنے والا ہے تو جو کوئی تم میں سے اس مہینے میں موجود ہو چاہیئے کہ پورے مہینے کے روزے رکھے اور جو بیمار ہو یا سفر میں ہو تو دوسرے دنوں میں (رکھ کر) ان کا شمار پورا کرلے۔ خدا تمہارے حق میں آسانی چاہتا ہے اور سختی نہیں چاہتا اور (یہ آسانی کا حکم) اس لئے (دیا گیا ہے) کہ تم روزوں کا شمار پورا کرلو اور اس احسان کے بدلے کہ خدا نے تم کو ہدایت بخشی ہے تم اس کو بزرگی سے یاد کر واور اس کا شکر کرو **
[Surat Al-BAqarah 2:185]

Judgment (between right and wrong): Furqan = the criterion or standard by which we judge between right and wrong.

The regulations are again and again coupled with an insistence on two things (a) the facilities and concessions given, and (b) the spiritual significance of the fast, without which it is like and emply shell without a kernel. If we realise this we shall look upon Ramadhan, not as a burden, but as a blessing, and shall be duly grateful for the lead given to us in this matter.

Re: Ramadhan Al Kareem - The Blessed Month

JazakAllah.

We fast in this month as thanksgiving for Allah for Quran.

for Quran :konfused:

@Fbi786: u knw :wink: just leave it Bro :k:

** ^^ Thanx ^^ ** I shall.

Just one thing for your consideration ''only'' I like to investigate :@: .. but my objective isnt to cause trouble its more to do with being prepared when objections and funny lol statements arise or your questioned and your not ready .. plus am in such a field that ppl ask questions .. as an imam of the mosque ..ppl pop outa no where esp these days the youngsters .. cos they cant communicate with elders cos they speak urdu .. or are shy to ask and mainly .. the elder scholars / imams arnt as much aware of the modern day issues .

:aliyish:

I hope you studied Islam.

2:185 It was the month of Ramadan in which the Qur’an was bestowed from on high as a guidance unto man and a self-evident proof of that guidance, and as the standard by which to discern the true from the false. **So, whoever of you lives to see this month shall fast throughout it.

**The Quran told the reason that because Quran is revealed at once in this month on worldly sky, we should fast as thanksgiving in it.

In other place of Quran it’s mentioned that Muslims should celebrate the revealing of Quran (I forgot the reference).

^ The ayat already posted above.

Ramadhan is one of the Five Pillars of Islam and it is framework of the Muslim life. They are the testimony of faith, prayer, giving zakat (support of the needy), fasting during the month of Ramadan, and the pilgrimage to Makkah once in a lifetime for those who are able.

Every year in the month of Ramadan, all Muslims fast from dawn until sundown, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations. Although the fast is beneficial to health, it is regarded principally as a method of spiritual self-purification. By cutting oneself off from worldly comforts, even for a short time, a fasting person gains true sympathy with those who go hungry, as well as growth in his or her spiritual life.

The reason for fasting has been described in the Holy Qur’an, for self restraint. And the Psychologists, they tell us today, that if you can control your hunger, you can control almost all your desires. That is what Qur’an says, that… ‘Ramadan has been prescribed to you, so that you may learn self restrain, you may control your desire. If you can control your hunger, you can control almost all your desires. And there are various benefits, that if a person can abstain from having alcohol, from sunrise to sunset, he can very well abstain from having alcohol, from the cradle to the grave. If he can abstain from smoking from sunrise to sunset, he can very well abstain from smoking, from the cradle to the grave.

It gives an opportunity to improve ourself. We can say it the over hauling -like how our machine requires servicing…like we service our car every three months, every four months… our motor cycle every five month, etc. it also improve, increases the intestinal absorption when we fast, it increases our intestinal absorption. Ramadhan is a servicing of the human body -one lunar month, every lunar year… servicing. There are several medical benefits even of the Salaah.

Prophet :saw2: said these are the pillars of Islam, these are the principles of Islam. This does not constitute the complete Islam. Many people have a misunderstanding that if they do these 5 things they become very good Muslims. These are only the 5 pillars, and any engineer will tell you, that if the pillar is strong, then hopefully the structure will be strong. If the foundation is strong, then the structure will be strong, so if we follow these 5 pillars correctly, then InshaAllah the structure will be correct.

JazakAllah kharian.

Brother, I know why fasting is made compulsory and why "ONLY" in Ramadan, it's obligatory to fast and in other months it's optional (nafal) to fast.

Fasting is prescribed so we learn how to control our desires even the natural and halal ones like eating and drinking.

In Ramadan, it has been made compulsory as thanks giving of Quran as mention in the ayah.

I agree k ‘Ramadhan is ‘Farz’ (compulsory) on us’. Why u keep saying this → thanks giving of Quran. :konfused:

Because that is why Ramadan is singled out out of all months for obligatory fasts.

:hmmm: no more question and i’ll stick to the subject :rule: (Post S#1)

P.S. :aliyish:

Bro TLK ..Thank you yaar i forgot to say earlier but your doing great job on informing Us and sharing with us the knowledge in regards to the coming of Ramadhan Kareem So we can all be prepared.

btw, whats that thanksgiving that the non muslims celebrate ?? whats it for??

from what I can gather from S Js posts that we do thanksgiving for qur’aan is that if it wasnt for qur’aan we wudnt be celebrating Ramadhan Kareem …but this wudnt be right ..cos the Qur’‘an was already revealed from Allah Almighty to the ‘lau he Mahfooz’’ and from lau he mahfooz to the Prophet SAW over a 23 yr period and Fasting was made obligatory After…:hmmm:

The following acts will break the fast:

• Deliberate eating or drinking during fasting hours.
  • If anything enters the body through the nose or mouth; this includes smoking or sniffing any powdered substance.
  • Having any conjugal relations during fasting hours.
  • Unintentional eating or drinking due to forgetfulness or rinsing out the mouth or bathing do not make the fast invalid.
  • A Muslim is expected to remain away from all bad actions during his fast. He should not tell a lie, break a promise or do any deceitful act.
  • Fasting is not allowed during menstruation of women. They are required to make up the days lost during this period at some other time.

During Ramadhan:

• Muslims are also expected to put more effort into teachings of Islam
  • Must refrain from violence, anger, envy, greed, lust, harsh language, gossip
  • Must try to get along with each other better than normal.
  • In addition, all obscene and irreligious sights and sounds are to be avoided.

Purpose of Fasting:

• Is to make a Muslim able to control his passions,
  • Should becomes a person of good deeds and intentions.
  • Anger – a common human weakness–can also be brought under control by fasting.

Iftar (break)

• Many Muslims break their fast with a dates because it is claimed Muhammed :saw2: broke his fast with a dates. as was the recorded practice (Sunnah) of Muhammad :saw2:.
  • In addition to the compulsory fasting in Ramadan, a Muslim may fast during other times of the year. These facts will be treated as Sunnah.

Fasting prohibited:

• A Muslim must not fast On the day of Idul Fitr and On the day of Idul Adha.

Other Information:

• The Qur’an was revealed in the month of Ramadan. There is a night in the month which is “better than a thousand months”
  • The night is called Lailatul Qadr (Night of Power). According to Hadith, this night occurs during the last ten days of Ramadan (most probably the odd numbered nights). It is a night of great importance; we should worship as much as we can on this night.

An Additional Prayers:

• known as Tarawih (20 rakah or 8 rakah).
  • Offered during Ramadan after Isha.
  • This is a sunnah prayer in which efforts are made to recite as much of the Qur’an as possible.
  • In many Masjids, the whole Qur’an is recited in Tarawih prayer.
  • This prayer is generally offered in congregation.

:k: wow thanx 4 da post:)

u r :welcome: to share what u know about the holy month of Ramadhan :slight_smile:

All Praise is due to Allah SWT, the lord of the worlds and may the Peace and blessing of Allah SWT be upon his noblest Prophet and Messenger Muhammad :saw2: and upon all his family members and righteous companions.

• The purpose of fasting is to learn self-restraint and to purify the soul and train it in good deeds.
  • The fasting person must be on guard against any act that may cause him to lose the benefits of his fast.
  • Fasting is not just refraining from eating and drinking but it is also refraining from everything else that Allah has forbidden.
  • The reality of fasting is a secret between and individual Muslim and his/her creator and no once can know whois really fasting except Allah.
  • Most importantly fasting is an important act of worship the fasting person abstains from food, drink water and sexual/intercourse forthe sake of Allah or to please Allah (in obediencetothe command of Allah).

The Virtues of the Month of Ramadhan:

1. The devils are chained.
  2. The gates to paradise are opened and the gates to hellfire are locked.
  3. The Angels seek Allah’s forgiveness for the fasting person until he/she breaks their fast.
  4. The (bad) breath of the one who is fasting is better in the sight of Allah on the day of Resurrection than the smell of musk.
  5. There is a night during this month which is better than a thousand months (The night of power of Qadr).
  6. Allah forgives many people during this month who were condemned to hell fire due to their previous grave sins and this act of forgiveness is repeated during each nigh of Ramadhan.

Those who are Exempted from Fasting:

1. The ill person and the traveler.
  2. Menstruating women and women having the post child birth bleeding.
  3. The preganant and the breast feeding women if they fear for her child.
  4. The elderly and infirm.

Actions that void the Fast:

1. Intentional eating or drinking.
  2. Internatinal vomiting.
  3. The menses and post child birth bleeding.
  4. Sexual intercourse.

Asalam Wilakum to you all here on this post.....I love the information you have ginven here. Please remember that not all who are now followers of Islam were always followers of Islam, meaning that some of us are in need of more information than others.... :o

Therefore, please forgive the questions I may have. If there is another post that would be more appropriate for a quesiton I would be happy to move my questions there.....

Questions:
1)How do we know this blessed night that is better than a thousand months falls on only an odd numbered day?

2) You mention that smoking break a person's fast, and then in another post it mentions only food and water that are intentionally eaten or drank by the person, which is correct?

3)If a person breaks their fast, (wehther intentionally or by mistake, is that for the duration of the month or just that night? In other words, can their fasting beginning again the next day with more effort? (Although I realize we should give all our effort to Allah and praise of him from the beginning...)

4)uring your time of fasting are you partaking in your normal every day routine other than the faasting? I realize that we should be spending the whole nights in prayer and praise of Allah during these last 10 nights, in anticipation of the thousand night blessed night, but other than those nights, the ones leading up to them, are you working, and waking , and praying an associating with people as usual?

OK< I will leave the questions for now....and see if you feel I should take these questions elsewhere before I go on.

Allah's Blessings to you all for your patience and teaching......:)

Asalam Wilakum to you all here on this post…I love the information you have ginven here. Please remember that not all who are now followers of Islam were always followers of Islam, meaning that some of us are in need of more information than others… :o

:wsalam:

Allah SWT hum sb ko hidayat ata kary 'Ameen". I’ll try my best to answer your questions. Please note that the information could be vary :slight_smile:

Therefore, please forgive the questions I may have. If there is another post that would be more appropriate for a quesiton I would be happy to move my questions there…

No problem. you are on right place on right time :k:

Questions:
1)How do we know this blessed night that is better than a thousand months falls on only an odd numbered day?

**The Night of Power (Qadr): **The night of power is the most virtuous night of the year. Allah SWT! said in the Qur’an: “We revealed it on the night of power. What will tell you what the night of power is? it is better than a thousand months.”

Any action therein e.g. reciting the Qur’an, making remembrance of Allah SWT. etc. is better than acting for one thousand months which do not contain the night of power (Qadr). Whoever is engaged in act or worship during this night seeking Allah’s reward, will have all his previous sins forgiven. The Prophet Muhammad :saw2: said : “We should seek this night in the last ten days of Ramadan especially the odd nights”.

Abu Hurairah reported that the Prophet Muhammad :saw2: said: “Whoever prays during the night of power with faith and hoping for its reward with have all his previous sins forgiven” (Imam Bukhari, Muslim).

In the light of above we should struggle more in the nights of last ten days
(odd days night) to seek forgiveness of our sins and to better place in heaven.

2) You mention that smoking break a person’s fast, and then in another post it mentions only food and water that are intentionally eaten or drank by the person, which is correct?

My dear! the both statement is correct. let me tell you actually what happen. When i post my comments, I hav few hours/days to edit it and after that I, by myself can’t edit it. I’m trying to collect materials about the month of Ramadhan to post more and more information/details here, you will see most information will be reapeated twice or more than that b’coz i can’t merge/update it with previous. I hope this will be not a big issue. Moreover i hav collected few more material which i will post later and maybe it will also contains similar things which i already posted earlier. :slight_smile:

3)If a person breaks their fast, (wehther intentionally or by mistake, is that for the duration of the month or just that night? In other words, can their fasting beginning again the next day with more effort? (Although I realize we should give all our effort to Allah and praise of him from the beginning…)

I will post/update later on more details and i hope answer of your question will be there :slight_smile:

4)uring your time of fasting are you partaking in your normal every day routine other than the faasting? I realize that we should be spending the whole nights in prayer and praise of Allah during these last 10 nights, in anticipation of the thousand night blessed night, but other than those nights, the ones leading up to them, are you working, and waking , and praying an associating with people as usual?

Our life is in this world like an expartriate. So who works hard (gain more good deeds) will have higher place in heaven. like said ‘As much you pour sugar in water, the wate will taste more sweets’. I have seen many pplz while on duty or in any place they r keep reciting Qur’an oraly in their hearts or reading difference types of Tasbeeh or Dua’s or ‘Astaghfar’ etc. These are very soft on our tongue but heavy on ‘weight machine’. Rest i agree with u. :slight_smile:

OK< I will leave the questions for now…and see if you feel I should take these questions elsewhere before I go on.

Allah’s Blessings to you all for your patience and teaching…:slight_smile:

^ameen.

:salam2:

Some more details about ‘Fasting’. This is information may vary. Purpose of these informations is we achieve more n more blessings in this holy month of ‘Ramadhan’ :slight_smile:

Types of Fasting:
**(i) Obligatory Fasting: **

1. Fast of Ramadan
  2. Fast of fulfilling a Vow.
  3. FAst of Expiation.

**(ii) Prohibited Fast (Forbidden Days to Fast): **

1. Fasting on the day of Eid Ul Fitr or Eid Ul Adha.
  2. Fasting on the days of Tashreeq i.e. the three days following Eid Ul Adha.
  3. It is not allowed for a women to fast (voluntary fast) while her husband is present at his residence (i.e. not traveling) except with his permission.

(iii) Recommended (Voluntary) Fasts:

1. Fasting six days of the month of Shawwal.
  2. Fasting the first ten days of Dhul Hajjah.
  3. Fasting the days of Arafah for those who are not performing the pilgrimage.
  4. Fasting the month of the Muharram especially the day of Ashurah ( 10th of Muharram) and the day immediately preceding the following it.
  5. Fasting three days of each month on the days of the full moon i.e. the 13th, 14th, 15th, days of the lunar month.
  6. Fasting on Mondays and Thursdays.

Disliked Fasting:

1. It is disliked to fast every day of teh year (prepetual fast).
  2. It is disliked to fast consecutive days without eating at all (Al-Wisal)
  3. It is disliked to single out Friday as a day of fasting.

The Manners of Fasting:

1. Make effort to read, study and recite the holy Qur’an.
  2. Be generous and charitable to the needy and the poor.
  3. Keep good ties with kinsmen or relatives.
  4. Avoid all actions that will reduce the reward for fasting such as backbiting, spreading evil rumors or slander, lying, cheating and quarrelling.
  5. Delay the predawn meal (Sehri)
  6. Eat dates for the predawn meal.
  7. Hasten in breaking the fast after Sunset.
  8. Break the fast with ripe dates, dry dates or water.