So the guy doesn’t eat the same thing in two days which makes my life a bit difficult so I was jotting a list down all the sehri and Iftar items that I can rotate on a weekly basis.
Sehri
Things with Parathay/Roti/Kulchay/Sheermal:
Eggs
Keema
Aloo Bhaji
Chanay
Shami Kabab
Pancakes
Cereal
Waffles
French Toast
Oatmeal
Milk
Fruit
Iftar Snacks
Samosay
Somaosay Chaat
Dahi Barhay
Dahi Polki
Chanay ki chaat
Kalay Chanay ki chaat
Shami Kabab
Chicken Patties
Keema Patties
Egg Rolls
Egg Sandwiches
Fruit Chat
Papri Chaat
Bun Kabab
Pakoray (allo, spinach, mirch, egg, pyaz)
Kachori
Club Sandwiches
Hummus with Roti
Drinks
Rooh Afza
Rooh Afza with Milk
Lassi
Mango Lassi
Shezan
Banana Milkshake (any kind of milkshake)
i love your posts! i wish i could eat at your place for Ramadan...Every Ramadan that i can rem...for sehri, i've always had a paratha with chai
and for iftar...we have diff snacks (mostly the ones you've mentioned) but a must is chicken samosay.
I think there is enough variety on your menu! the guy should count himself lucky. I plan on serving my hubby tea n toast for both sehri and iftar next Ramadan inshAllah :p
Click on the link above and you’ll find a website that contains the recipe for almond milk, chutney lassi, falooda drink, anaar slushy, lemon and banana lassi, and MANY more refreshing beverages.
*Also refer to Ashfa’s recent “cocktails” thread and you’ll find a slew of refreshing mocktail recipes.
how about lassi ? i usually take equal parts of dahi and milk, blend and add sugar and blend again u can add mangoes to it aswell
dip cauliflower and potatoes in a maida paste (add namak, mirch and water to make paste) and fry them - theyre really filling add a little chaat masala -
"Shorba" or soup with meat and oats is a must in our house..
1 onion chopped
1 medium carrot chopped
1 small zucchini
6-7 small pieces of lamb
3 fresh tomatoes
salt, pepper, cinnamon powder
1/2 cup oats
1/2 litre water
U put everything into a pressure cooker and cook till the meat is tender (reserve the oats) Remove the pieces of meat and blend the soup.. and put it back into the pot and heat again.. add u're oats and cook till they're done.
To reduce weight and gain something worhwhile from Ramadan:
Iftar:
Dates 2
Grape fruit Juice freshly squeezed 1 Glass
Chick peas or black channa or red kidney beans (without any oil) with green salad (kheera, gajar, lettuce etc) - one cup
Furit chat without sugar - one cup
cheese omelet
boiled egg sandwich (mix with butter and mayo)
diff salaans with roti
yogurt with sugar
pancake with syrup (maple mixed with lil honey, pineapple tidbits, apples, raisins and walnuts)
Iftari
chicken pakora
chicken patties (the ones stuffed with potatoes, green onions, dhaniya etc etc)
Diff types of egg rolls (shrimp, chicken)
potato salad
pasta salad
egg salad sandwiches
chicken sandwiches (with homemade mayo)
egg and tomato sandwiches
fruit yogurt
cream chaat
tacos and burritos
meat loaf
chicken stuffed with mushrooms and lightly fried
chicken kebab with hara masala (spring onions, jalapenos, methi, garlic powder, coriander)
gyros
hummus
stir fry
roasted vegetables and grilled chicken
keema or chicken skewers on rice
steak sandwiches
when we get bored of the "typical iftari" then we have a date and pakora and have some of the above meals instead.
Because iftar is so late this time, hubby wants to do dinner and iftar at once. So I'll probably make a nice dinner, with maybe one side that's typical of iftar (samosas, pakoras, chaat, etc). I'll make sure he gets lots of drinks the rest of the evening. And maybe fruit and light dessert afterwards.
mostar u r absolutely right...aur bulkay i am thinking to skip iftari all over bcz fried items make ur dil dik dik afterwards:-/ i am myself planning to break the fast with a glass of water(i am allergic to dates) and have some fruit chaat and then namaz and afetr soemtime a nice dinner ...bcz in dubai 7 bjaye to mughrib hoarai hai...iftari k baad woi 8-8:30 bjaye to normal time ajata hai hamaray dinner ka...!