raksha bandhan (raakhi)

Well friends there are many festivals in india and most of them are ofcourse hindu festivals .iam not in favor of all those festivals cause some of them are really loud and some are voilent and can be a nuisance at times
but among all those festivals my fav festival is no doubt “raksha bandhan”
its a day when a sister shows her love for her brother and she ties the ceremonial rakhi on the brothers hand and the brother gifts the sister sweets or money or any gift
in a age where there is so much westernisation with valentines days and friendship days .i think raksha bandhan stands appart and its unique festival
though iam a muslim and i know many of my muslim brothers wouldnt approve it but i have a rakhi sister who is a hindu she is the wife of my friend she has been tying rakhi on my hand for last 5 years and iam anywhere in the world i make it a point to visit my rakhi sister on raksha bandhan day.

It is a great tradition Kabir! Lekin I was asked the other day from my dost she is like Ali why dont you have such traditions in Islam.

My answer was simple! We dont need traditions to show our affections to our sisters! Everyday is Rakhshabandhan for us!

I agree ,Kabir ,it is indeed a neutral festivity like Devali ,with more cultural than a religous conontations in particular .

For me ,i studied for sometime in India in College & it was Co -ed. It was a day i didnt look forward to b/c both hindu & muslim friends just wished that ,that the cutest of the girl never tied rashksha to them.I was spared for i dont think i could carry on the responsibility of a brother .I didnt want to be brother it was the worst thing at that age ! But i like the ceremony anywayze .

I have three real sisters & i didnt need more stress defending every rakhi sisters honour too.

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

Originally posted by AliBeta:

My answer was simple! We dont need traditions to show our affections to our sisters! Everyday is Rakhshabandhan for us!**

The Game Announces To All The Girls(Including the few goodlooking ones) On Gupshup:

I assume you don't know,but Alibeta is your brother.From now on,all of you can call him "bhai" without any hesitation,as Everyday is Rakhshabandhan for him.People,That Is All.

THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS CROREPATI,MILLIONAIRE,AND TRUE PAKI.I ASSUME ALL OF YOU RECOGNIZE THESE GREAT PERSONALITIES...

I agree Raskha bandhan is the cutes festivals in Indian culture. Even though you know your brother and love him, sometimes it’s nice to actually ‘tell’ him that, this festival must provide an excallent opportunity to remind him, plus you get gift

We’ve adopted so much from each other’s cultures I wouldn’t have minded one bit if someone had taken this festival as well.

Kabir I don’t think that any Muslim can have anything against your Hindu sister

Btw, once you tie a rakhi on someone, does it count forever, that is if he’s not your real brother?

FYI, Devali is religious festival no?
I was told that families make mithai and those hampg rassi for diya’s together, so it’s a huge family event, and it’s religious.

There’s another festival kind of thing where you pray for qalam dawaat or something right? I mean ilm ki pooja kinds?

Sabah,

Yes divali is also very near Kali Puja .Its funny b/c kali puja is Bengal& devali is more north & western India.

It also means finacial new year for marwari ,so it is relatd with "diwala’ meaming banckrupt.Gambling relates to money too.

AS children many earthenwrae pottery & hathi ghora etc are also made & sold at time.it is nothing like puja & bright lights is just lights.

Qalam dawat ,is Saraswati puja ,yes i never did what other guys in college would do .They would place there books at the alter of this saraswati on alter. .A diety much less hideous than Kali .Its mainly in Bengal ,shanti niketan,Rabindra nath b/c poetry ,painting ,art singing ,musical instrument kala all go to saraswati dept .so to say .
“We’ve adopted so much from each other’s cultures I wouldn’t have minded one bit if someone had taken this festival as well.”

Sabah,aisehi culture kya kam hai .Eid ramadan ,muharram,shabebarart ,milad nabi ,shaadi mangni akika khatna ,I dont have problem celebrating joining if i amthere ,but i think we are over loaded muslim,hindu ,christian,ethnic punjabi ,gujrati ,shia sunni ,layer pe layr hota ja raha hai haloween,4th july ,thanks giving.I know i also like it but like you cant buy everything on sale in mall ,you are limited by constraint of time.

P.s. Sabah ,behen,i have not yet ,done your assignment .Where you would put ,if i wrote somthing for general information..P.M. me if you have idea .

[This message has been edited by FYI (edited August 08, 2001).]

you know,
after seeing naik's thread in img gallery,
and after hearing many other stories of friends of mine tying rakhis ,
i admit,
i feel a bit left out.
cuz i've never tied a rakee on anyone.
and i think it's quite a concept.

i have a q: do you ask someone to tie it on you,
or do you wait till you are offered ?

So if a girl ties a guy a raakhi, who in fact, is not her real brother, does that remove any chance of them ever getting married? Or is it merely symbolic?

Akif Bhai, Though it is symbolic, but yet it is used to politely convey to the other person that nothing beyond brother sister relationship is possible or probable.

Aphrodite jee, No one has to be ask or be asked. Its all very informal

If a girl wants to convey to a suitor that she doesnt want that kind of a relationship, she can nicely say

Bhaiya .. Kul ko Rakhi bundwaane zaroor aana. Nahi to mitha-ee nahi milegi. Its customary for sistesr to feed their brother his favorite mitha-ee. And the Brother is supposed to bring her a gift.

If a guy wants to convey that he is not interested ina romantic reltionship, he can show up on Rakhi day and say,

Kyo-n Rani, or Aiesha, whatever, Ajj rakhi nahi bandhni..? Koi baat nahi lekin Bhai ko is din mitha-ee to khila do...

I remember in my high school and college days in India , guys would stay far away from the girls around Rakhi day, just to avoid getting a rakhi and putting a lid on their aspirations...

[This message has been edited by Tanhaa (edited August 11, 2001).]

Salams all,
Yeah its a cute festival…and like all beautiful things…Its DECEIVING.!!!
GUyz..we have to know..that our Prophet (s.a.w) said: “Do NOT be like the kuffar”.
So if we follow them…its a step by step thing..and we may fall into wrong things.

So be careful on what we celebrate. And for u girls out there…I heard that if we wear a “bindiya” on our forehead…that place will burn in the fire of hell!!! Why? Cos we were following and immatating the kuffar.!

ciao.
Concerned sister.

I would say that yes it is a nice festival. I have a Indian friend and he has these rakhis on his arm. This sounds a good ceremony. But I wouldn't celibrate it myself as in Islam you all are brothers and sisters until and unless a wedding bunthon is been made. But I wouldn't go against it either.

Cosmic Girl, Kafirs eat drink, wear clothes, kiss, love, hate, travel, get married, have children, sing, dance, act, see movies, dramas, play, read, write, etc etc etc...

Please dont do any of these things. This is a very slippery slope. One you strt slipping you might one day become a Kafir , even if you ar not one now...

Zara soocho!!!!!

So be careful on what we celebrate. And for u girls out there...I heard that if we wear a "bindiya" on our forehead...that place will burn in the fire of hell!!! Why? Cos we were following and immatating the kuffar.!

This is so funny..God must be very busy burning people and watching who is following what. Who will take care of all those glaxies. God hates Kaffirs and still we call this entity full of hate God..This is sooo funny.

Originally posted by Rani:
***So be careful on what we celebrate. And for u girls out there...I heard that if we wear a "bindiya" on our forehead...that place will burn in the fire of hell!!! Why? Cos we were following and immatating the kuffar.!*

This is so funny..God must be very busy burning people and watching who is following what. Who will take care of all those glaxies. God hates Kaffirs and still we call this entity full of hate God..This is sooo funny.

Or maybe the muslims are the only ones pre-disposed to sins and hell-fire.

Sorry to say but it is true. Let me give you an example: People who are sinner or Kafir then are and will be burn in hell. Now applying that in Hindu people, you burn dead body for a start.

[This message has been edited by mbmagsi (edited August 15, 2001).]

Originally posted by Infoman:
** Or maybe the muslims are the only ones pre-disposed to sins and hell-fire.**

Infoman ! It is sad that people like you and Rani are narrow minded and can't take the truth. Very Sad, very sad.

Originally posted by mbmagsi:
** Infoman ! It is sad that people like you and Rani are narrow minded and can't take the truth. Very Sad, very sad.

What is more sad is that arrogance by which you claim it is "the truth". Fortunately, 5/6th of Humanity could care less and such talk of hell fire becomes quite laughable. Do you get it,now?

Infoman ! It is sad that people like you and Rani are narrow minded and can't take the truth. Very Sad, very sad.

Oh another Joke of the day..we are narrow minded because we don't follow your version of the truth. Just think who is narrow minded and who is imposing their version of truth on others..u may find the answer.

well i dont know anything about kaffar and stuff
but i would prefer to be among good kaffirs than bad muslims
i have seen muslims with long beards commit grave sins and tyranny
and some hindus who are such good human beings
so the priority should be good or bad human and not religion

Wah Wah Kabir Bhai, bari soochne wali baat keh dee aap ne ..