Rajput Tilak, Maratha Tilak

Was reading ‘Kabir Bani’ and there he mentioned in one of his poems about the different tilaks in different Hindu castes.

I know that its consider an honor for a guest to have a tilak on his / her head and thats how Rajput Maharajas used to welcome Mughal kings. In case of Akbar, when he adapted it in his court, it created a controversy (mainly his religious views and Deen e Ilahi concepts). I was not aware that there are different types of tilaks for different castes.

So, is this different tilak thing still followed? Is is due to cultural regional differences or some Pundits spelled it out, how it should be in different castes even in same regions?

Re: Rajput Tilak, Maratha Tilak

i've seen/known of ONLY one kid of tilak [a religious one] that men put on their foreheads or is put on by others. shaadi ke waqt tilak lagaayaa jaataa hai...mandiroN meN aanewaaloN ke lagaayaa jaataa hai. etc.

But as far as I know, you don’t have so much interaction with Hindus :snooty:

Lets hear from @queer @Southie @the_kaur

true…yeah, let’s see what they have to say. :slight_smile:

Four south Indians to the best of knowledge, married ladies wear sindoor or pottu. The sindoor also goes on the parting of the hair.
For males, tilak may be a North Indian custom. I don't know what each case wears. In the South, if you are a Shaivite - follower of Shiva, your vibhhothi (ashes) is 3 horizontal lines on for head from one temple to the other. Vaishnavited do wear something resembling a tilak. A U. With a vertical line at center.

Humein itna hi pata hai.

^ this reminds me of MeHmood in movie Padosan: :cb:

Hum hasath jaathi
Tum marath jaath

Even though I like that movie, in general I didn't care for the caricature of South Indians in Hindi movies. Pretty ignorant. And backward. If not racist.

Everyone has some reservations from Hindi movies.

no tilaks in kerala, its a north indian thing. we do a mini-horizontal thing made of fresh sandalwood paste handed out at temple during the fire-worship (deep-aradhana) ceremony. sometimes it is ash, sometimes it is turmeric paste, and i think devi/goddess temples give sindoor along with the sandalwood paste.

And all surds are fools who are always made fool by Madrasis :)

Interesting. So, Hindu scriptures don’t mention importance of Tilak and its just a northern cultural thing that bugged those who were against Akbar.

But then why Kabir mentions that different Hindu castes got different tilak. Was this caste system only prevailed in North India?

Rajput Tilak is like Mashal, strong at the base and thinning in the end

Vaisnav have Tilak marked as U, while Shaivaites have have three layers of horizontal 'l'

Am quite sure surd jokes didn't originate in Madras. Another shameful caricature - this time of Sikhs.

Funny you used "Madrasis".

Vaisnav and Shaivaites? Who are they?

Actually I always found them funny rather than abusive.

How one can be proud or shameful about accident of Birth is beyond me

Vaishnav worship Vishnu, the god of operations of worlds
And shiva is the destroyer :)

This!

You can feel whatever you want about carricatures. I don't care for them. And find them to be not just of poor taste.

Depiction of a whole community in a derogatory manner is not funny. That doesn't meet the community so depicted is either "proud or shameful about accident of Birth" . Such depictions may be funny to some. Not to me.

The hindi movies in late 60 and early 70s were notorious for their terrible depiction of certain communities. Nothing wrong in criticizing that style of film making.

Those who find such depictions are entitled to their opinion.

Things are better now. Not too long ago there was a spate of films focusing on the "terrorism" coming from our neighbor to the west. With thinly veiled jabs at the associated religion. Am against such carricatures also.

chalen ji bollywood ko chhoRen, here is an article, which says ‘Bindi’ is also ‘Tilaka’. Interesting. Now, Bindi has been famous even in Muslims of Bengladesh and some parts of Pakistan.

Tilak Forehead Mark - Hindu Symbols - ReligionFacts

The tilak (Sanskrit tilaka, “mark”) is a mark made on a Hindu’s forehead. On a man, the tilak takes the form of a line or lines and usually indicates his sectarian affiliation. On women, a tilak usually takes the form of a bindi dot, which has its own symbolism