Raja Tridiv Roy - plz help!

i don’t normally open threads in this Forum (unless i am in a mood to argue :smiley: ). This is important for me, i would appreciate any possible help. Raja Tridiv Roy was a former member of the Provincial Assembly of East Pakistan, or the East Pakistan State Legislature, a member of the Pakistan delegation to the United Nations General Assembly in 1965. He also served as Chief of the Chakma Tribe of Buddhists in the Chittagong Hill Tracts (a district of then East Pakistan) and in this capacity he officially represented the entire Buddhist population of Pakistan.

Now, he’s written some articles for Dawn over the years (maybe other publications as well, dunno)… i believe one Dawn article was just recently published on 17 August 2003. He was also appointed by the current PM — as a Federal minister without portfolio (i THINK).

Now a very weird question - does anyone know what’s the procedure for contacting people like him? Is there like a website of govt’l. officials - of course i tried http://www.pak.gov.pk Sent them an e-mail, no response as of yet. A lot of you guys seem to know the inner workings of the government hierarchical structure; what’s the most effective way to pester someone who might be able to give me an e-mail address? i know it’s a heckuva weird thread, but if someone could be kind enough to help me out - it would be deeply appreciated.

Dear Nadia: This maybe of interest, I think the writer can be contacted by e mail, but I am not sure if he did find the man’s contact information

Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk in E-7 the other day, I stumbled upon a gate plaque that brought memories of a long gone time flooding back. The small and quite unpretentious plaque announced “Chakma House” with a coat-of-arms, and the legend ‘Chakma Raj’ written upon it. Obviously the house of Raja Tridev Roy, Chief of the Chakma tribe of the Chittagong Hill Tracts, former member of our National Assembly, minister for tourism in Zulfikar Ali Bhutto’s first government, and long-time ambassador of Pakistan to Argentina. I could barely control my emotions when I recalled meeting the great man himself these many years ago; when I compared the courtesy with which that Prince received my friend (who was then the lowest form of life in the ministry), and I (a piddling Major in the army) with what one experiences now when meeting the chhota logs (small people) in government service.

The die having been cast so to say, I got the Raja’s home telephone number from enquiries and with my heart in my mouth, dialled it – it was something like 5 PM on a winter’s evening. Somebody with a highly cultured voice answered. “May I please speak to Raja Tridev Roy,” I stammered. “Speaking; what can I do for you,” the voice answered. Great God Almighty, what was he doing answering the telephone himself? Didn’t even give me a breather! I quickly collected my wits and said that Saeed and I, his friend, wanted to call on him. “I shall be going to Karachi tomorrow for a few days; can you come now,” he said. Luckily we were at the Islamabad Club at the time, I don’t remember why, were lucky to find a taxi, and drove to the Raja’s official house on the Margallah Road in F-6.

We had the taxi wait outside, went in and rang the bell, and were admitted by a smartly turned out servant. An extremely well-dressed Raja Tridev Roy, hand outstretched and with a friendly smile on his handsome face received us in the hall and took us into the drawing room. Tea and sandwiches followed soon after, and having made us at ease, he asked what he could do for us. Saeed and I quickly explained the matter.

The Raja made a note and told Saeed he would hear from him within the week. We took our leave, were most courteously seen off at the door by himself, and our hearts full of gratitude, drove to 'Pindi to celebrate with friends at the then quite delightful Rawalpindi Club (about the rape of which another time). Sure enough, inside of the week, those same Babus who were giving poor Saeed the run around were looking for him all over Rawalpindi, appointment letter in hand!

So there you have it – the manners, the courtesy, the plain goodness of a highly born Raja, a Ruler in his own right, who at the time that I write about was not only a full federal minister, he was also Zulfikar Ali Bhutto’s best buddy. And therefore a very powerful man indeed. Kindly compare his conduct with that of even very junior Sahibs that we all come across in daily life in the present Land of the Pure. By God, the arrogance we see every single day! Why, let alone a CSP/DMG officer, even a lowly Deputy Superintendent of Police wouldn’t give you the time of day.

I do know that he was retired from the Foreign Service some years ago and wonder where Raja Sahib is now. I would be indebted if any reader would tell me, for I should like to thank him one more time.

And now, from the sublime to the ridiculous. For what do the men of straw of today have to do with the likes of the Raja of the Chakmas? Mansur Hamid, formerly of the Army Heritage something-or-other which has taken over Topi (Ayub) Park, now the closest advisor to Mr Jamali, is getting himself written about quite a lot these days. Many

Zakk… i just knew that if i posted in this Forum, somehow or the other you would be able to offer some assistance. Thanks, yaar :flower1: You go out of your way to help others. i’ll drop him an e-mail; even if that doesn’t go anywhere concrete, i really appreciate your help.

Thanks.

E7 in Islamabad is a great place to meet all the big shots!

Re: Raja Tridiv Roy - plz help!

Hey guys. Raja Tridiv Roy would be delighted if you wish to contact him; you can email him at [email protected]